R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2013, 06:08 PM   #10906
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slow_jun View Post
Again...top notch service...more than a step above the rest...

Thanks again Angelo and Team...
Thank you for your kind words .This is my job and even though we are small compared to others i want us to have the best product but alse be the best in tech support and after sales service.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 07:26 AM   #10907
Tech Regular
 
Holmenkollen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 425
Default

Im having a bit of problem with my V3. Running a SP4.5t with some boost and turbo on a pretty big track. This weekend I got smoked on the straight by people running Reventon Pros and SP 4.5t. They had massive power out on the straight, I really lost some ground there. My motor temps are low (57C) but the ESC reads out +115C. And the power isnt that great, so something is off. The ambient temps were only 15C...
__________________
Serpent - Hobbywing - Graupner
Holmenkollen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 11:51 AM   #10908
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,074
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Gear up.
Your ESC is switching like mad and therefore becomes hot.
Your motor hasn't have to do anything and that is why it is still cold.
Gear up 2 teeth on pinion and go out again.
Check motor and ESC temps after 2/3 minutes and work your way from there.

Regards Roy
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 12:13 PM   #10909
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Do you guys know the differences between the Hobbywing XERUN Stock Spec ESC and the XERUN V3.1? I know that one is 100amp vs 120 amp, but is there anything else?

Thanks
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 12:37 PM   #10910
Tech Master
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,600
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Exclamation Blinky mode for 17.5

Hey guys,
New to Hobbywing ESC's. I just got a XERUN 120A Version 2.1. Does this ESC have a blinky mode and if it doesn't can I download an update that will allow me to have blinky mode? Any suggestions on gearing for 17.5. Right now geared at 3.8 with a Reedy Sonic.
Thanks in advance!
Max
__________________
Tamiya Track Local. 10,000 Watts of power! ($5 donations for gas appreciated)
Proud Father of GT-1 Past Champion!"Hey, I got to go to Japan too!
FF03,TA-05V2 ,EXO-6,TA-07,TRF419,EVO-6
"Tamiya Racer to Infinity and Beyond!"
maxepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 02:21 PM   #10911
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxepower View Post
Hey guys,
New to Hobbywing ESC's. I just got a XERUN 120A Version 2.1. Does this ESC have a blinky mode and if it doesn't can I download an update that will allow me to have blinky mode? Any suggestions on gearing for 17.5. Right now geared at 3.8 with a Reedy Sonic.
Thanks in advance!
Max
Yes, you will need to get an LCD programming box (~$30US). Then download the Hobby Wing USB Link software from their site.

Up date your LCD Box then update the firmware on your speedo to V3_508 no timing. This sets your speedo into blinky only operation.

Your gearing will be the same as with any other blinky speedo so run 3.8 as a start.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 03:35 PM   #10912
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 83
Default

Hello. I've downloaded V3.3, database version 130513, but it's still showing up as database version 130511. Is that right or have I done something wrong. It's for a V3 which has the latest 129 firmware installed onto it.

Thanks
RSCosworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 03:52 PM   #10913
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holmenkollen View Post
Im having a bit of problem with my V3. Running a SP4.5t with some boost and turbo on a pretty big track. This weekend I got smoked on the straight by people running Reventon Pros and SP 4.5t. They had massive power out on the straight, I really lost some ground there. My motor temps are low (57C) but the ESC reads out +115C. And the power isnt that great, so something is off. The ambient temps were only 15C...
Send me your setup including your pinion gear and spur ratio.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 03:54 PM   #10914
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RSCosworth View Post
Hello. I've downloaded V3.3, database version 130513, but it's still showing up as database version 130511. Is that right or have I done something wrong. It's for a V3 which has the latest 129 firmware installed onto it.

Thanks
Its correct ive just added a control file that allows the user to update software from speed passion old version which users have had problems switching back to HW software.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 04:00 PM   #10915
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
Do you guys know the differences between the Hobbywing XERUN Stock Spec ESC and the XERUN V3.1? I know that one is 100amp vs 120 amp, but is there anything else?

Thanks
Cnc case top and bottom and 20 more amps continues current rating thats all is the difference between the two.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:25 PM   #10916
Tech Fanatic
 
Madulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 982
Default

Isn't the Stock Spec half the weight of the V3.1?
__________________
Hobbywing North America Team Driver
hobbywingdirect.com

CARCAR VP carcar.ca
Madulla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 12:09 AM   #10917
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madulla View Post
Isn't the Stock Spec half the weight of the V3.1?

No its lighter but not half the weight has also smaller footprint than the cnc 120 amp 3.1
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 07:05 AM   #10918
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AUSTRIA
Posts: 232
Send a message via ICQ to vitomon Send a message via Skype™ to vitomon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Send me your setup including your pinion gear and spur ratio.
would be interested in the outcome as well. as i have similar troubles with a thunderpower 4.5T geared 1:8,0.
punch 10-12
boost 15 (15000 - 60000)
turbo 0.1s delay (20 deg)
__________________
Yokomo BD7 -- Hobbywing v3 -- Sanwa M11x
May the grip be with you ... always!
vitomon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 08:22 AM   #10919
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,171
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitomon View Post
would be interested in the outcome as well. as i have similar troubles with a thunderpower 4.5T geared 1:8,0.
punch 10-12
boost 15 (15000 - 60000)
turbo 0.1s delay (20 deg)
I would strongly suggest dropping the boost end RPM, to closer to 30,000, and adding more of it. 60,000 you'll only ever get close too at the end of the rev range, by which time it's doing diddly squat, as the turbo would have taken over by then (very very very unlikely you'll hit 60,000rpm without getting full throttle basically).

As a good baseline, have a look at the worlds settings from Andy Moore (here) that are up on the Hobbywing site. Very good reference points to use, and what I base my settings on, although need to be a little different due to the rather grunty ProAmps motor's I'm using.

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 10:27 AM   #10920
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
No its lighter but not half the weight has also smaller footprint than the cnc 120 amp 3.1
Are there any performance differences or is it mostly hardware related?
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:22 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0