R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-03-2013, 04:17 AM   #10636
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 63
Default

I have the HW 120A Xerun V2.1 running 528MOD. I'm running a Durango DEX410,5.5T Reedy Sonic, track is a high grip medium size outdoor astro turf circuit. Could someone please give me some base line settings for the speedo to get me up and running, throttle, brake, punch, turbo, timing, delay etc etc many thanks
kosmickid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:52 AM   #10637
Tech Elite
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,072
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByteStream View Post
v1.1_120511_beta

I was told the latest has been submitted for ROAR approval .. but don't know a timeframe.
Any news on roar approval (good or bad) ?
One week left till the indoor carpet nats.
Hate to move on but the new software fixes the small
issues I had when running 17.5 stock.
__________________
F1
Roche usa
R.I.P. Jon Williams
j.d.roost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 01:34 AM   #10638
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 246
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Can someone explain DDRS setting , most setups seem to use level 9 but occasionally someone will say that the higher level just causes heat, im currently using 21.5 motor
thefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 01:44 AM   #10639
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,193
Default

DDRS can be seen as "launch power", it is the amount of power you have, from 0 kmh, until your Boost start RPM (if you are running boosted)
If you chose your Boost start RPM very low (1000-2000) it might be possible that both DDRS and Boost "overlap".
In this case a lower DDRS or Higher Boost start RPM is better.
The DDRS and Boost start RPM should follow up each other.
If the is a "gap" between DDRS and Boost start RPM, you can feel this, because the car feels "flat" in between.....

This is how I always try to explain it to people.
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:38 AM   #10640
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByteStream View Post
v1.1_120511_beta

I was told the latest has been submitted for ROAR approval .. but don't know a timeframe.
For now only the latest has been submitted 129 and i will know thursday if its approved.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:21 AM   #10641
Tech Elite
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,072
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
For now only the latest has been submitted 129 and i will know thursday if its approved.
This is potentially good.
Please let us know either way and thanks.
__________________
F1
Roche usa
R.I.P. Jon Williams
j.d.roost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 02:18 PM   #10642
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default brake fade...

Hi guys,

I'm running a v2.1 120amp Xerun in 17.5 blinky with the 508 software from the v3.2 usb link package. I'm stuggling abit with the brakes and wondering if anyone can offer some advice.

If i hit the brakes from full speed they initially feel quite sharp but if i'm slowing into a hairpin they feel like they are fading and there just isnt enough braking force making it very easy to run wide. I'm running with 100% braking force and reverse force on the speedo at the moment.

Any advice to help reduce the 'fade' would be greatfully received (even if its something on the transmitter settings!

Thank
Dan
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 02:30 PM   #10643
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 170
Default

Crashmaster have u tried setting your brakes lower as u may be locking brakes causing to feel like no brakes try 80% I have had this problem

Also could be ur servo if it has a high power draw it might cause the receiver to lose signal from voltage drop when on lock and braking ur can get receiver power caps that helps with this
__________________
if you have control your not pushing hard
all or nothing
tcboy1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 02:35 PM   #10644
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

Thanks for the reply!

I was running them at 80% originally however had the same feeling. Even if yoi rev the car off the ground and then hit the brakes it doesnt 'snap' stopped it gently stops.

Could be power drop though i'm guessing that wouldnt happen when the car is held off the ground?

Dan

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcboy1983 View Post
Crashmaster have u tried setting your brakes lower as u may be locking brakes causing to feel like no brakes try 80% I have had this problem

Also could be ur servo if it has a high power draw it might cause the receiver to lose signal from voltage drop when on lock and braking ur can get receiver power caps that helps with this
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:53 PM   #10645
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SE Melbourne
Posts: 317
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Probably won't happen when the car is off the ground as there is no load. Easy fix to test brown out issues is to plug a cap into the receiver's battery port.
__________________
SERCCC - The world's best RC track ;)

SERCCC, www.serccc.com
Space for rent!
luda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 02:04 AM   #10646
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashmaster View Post
Thanks for the reply!

I was running them at 80% originally however had the same feeling. Even if yoi rev the car off the ground and then hit the brakes it doesnt 'snap' stopped it gently stops.

Could be power drop though i'm guessing that wouldnt happen when the car is held off the ground?

Dan
That's odd because now that I have the latest blinky software on my car I do get that "snap" when braking on the bench that I never had with the earlier blinky softwares. Are you sure that you have downloaded the 508 from the 121204 database? The filename of the latest 508 is virtually identical to the previous one but the software on the 121204 database is different.

I've been running the latest 508 for a couple of months now but haven't had the chance to really test the brakes - outdoor season starts at the end of the month, and indoors doesn't need much brakes in comparison - so it will be interesting to see whether the brakes still have a softness on the track despite the sharpness on the bench.

I know that the v2.1 boosted brakes feel soft at 100% even though they are sharp on the bench, which I think is related to the hardware struggling under the load, because they work fine at 75%. Perhaps that is the case with the updated blinky brakes too?
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:07 AM   #10647
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AUSTRIA
Posts: 232
Send a message via ICQ to vitomon Send a message via Skype™ to vitomon
Default

hi guys,
just had my first outdoor race for this year and having little troubles with esc temperature in modified. we raced in approx 20c conditions so not that hot. track had a long straigt. i used a thunderpower 4.5T with timing set at 15 on the motor (20 standard).

boost was set to 5 (10000 - 60000 rpms) and turbo to 25 (instant on full th). fdR was 7.7 (touring car). with fdr at 8.3 it did not shut off but was slow on the straight. i enabled overheat protection on the esc for 125. after approx. 4min it just shut off.

never had that problem before. any setups that are maybe faster and still produce less esc and motor temp? need top speed on straight mainly. motor never coming off hotter than 80c.

thx for the help
__________________
Yokomo BD7 -- Hobbywing v3 -- Sanwa M11x
May the grip be with you ... always!
vitomon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 01:04 PM   #10648
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 20
Default HW V3 software ok on SP Reventon Pro ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
yes you can .same unit
Quote is 3 years old, but does this still comply ?
(Can use Speed Passion LCD-unit on HW, and vice versa.)

And does Hobbywing V3 software comply on SP Reventon Pro ,
and vice versa ?

Just got a Reventon Pro, to use in TC 13.5T-blinky.
But I would like to have 2 modes to interchange between on my LCD-unit:
One of course Blinky,
second mode to change into most possible boost - mode, when want to speed it up.
Possible, what to do, and what choose ?

Thanx!
anderfa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 01:06 PM   #10649
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anderfa View Post
Quote is 3 years old, but does this still comply ?
(Can use Speed Passion LCD-unit on HW, and vice versa.)

And does Hobbywing V3 software comply on SP Reventon Pro ,
and vice versa ?

Just got a Reventon Pro, to use in TC 13.5T-blinky.
But I would like to have 2 modes to interchange between on my LCD-unit:
One of course Blinky,
second mode to change into most possible boost - mode, when want to speed it up.
Possible, what to do, and what choose ?

Thanx!

Simple answer is no.
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:33 PM   #10650
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,234
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitomon View Post
hi guys,
just had my first outdoor race for this year and having little troubles with esc temperature in modified. we raced in approx 20c conditions so not that hot. track had a long straigt. i used a thunderpower 4.5T with timing set at 15 on the motor (20 standard).

boost was set to 5 (10000 - 60000 rpms) and turbo to 25 (instant on full th). fdR was 7.7 (touring car). with fdr at 8.3 it did not shut off but was slow on the straight. i enabled overheat protection on the esc for 125. after approx. 4min it just shut off.

never had that problem before. any setups that are maybe faster and still produce less esc and motor temp? need top speed on straight mainly. motor never coming off hotter than 80c.

thx for the help
If you've got a long straight, I think the level of turbo your using is too high. Mod motors are quite sensitive to small adjustments in the boost and turbo, so even only dropping 2 steps or so can make a big difference.

Looking over the settings, I would go with more boost, and less turbo.
Try the following... which is not dissimilar to what Andy Moore uses (last time I asked anyway!)

FDR 8.0ish
Punch - 12/15, linear
Brake - 20/20 linear, 67.5%, 8% drag
Boost - 24steps, 12,500 - 27,500 rpm, linear
Turbo - 18steps, Delay 0.15s, 12/s Engage, 18/s Disengage

If you need more straight line, up the turbo to 20. Also, running a fan on the motor and esc is a must!

Hope it helps.
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:19 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net