R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2013, 04:17 PM   #10441
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,023
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 314ck5h33p View Post
very interesting.
using the endbell to 20 (average motor current) which would be the rpm band, tested it?
The important thing (is difficult) is to what extent gains in performace, and find out what that point is to lose performance.

Nice job!
In all honesty, that experiment was only to figure out what is the effective timing the ESC makes. Performance still depends on setup time at the track!
__________________
/Adrian.

RC FB Pages Subscribed:
facebook.com/EPBuggy
facebook.com/AllStarChampionship
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:23 PM   #10442
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idbdoug View Post
i have Xerun 120A 1S model. What is correct voltage cutoff for 1cell lipo's????? Will be used in 13.5 WGT
Thanks
idbdoug
My experience in 12th scale 1S/13.5T boosted, is that on 3.2V or lower, the cut-off stops the car, but on 3.4V, it first starts running slow, so you can find a save spot for your car. this is after approx 11-12 minutes on 6400mAh.
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:40 PM   #10443
Tech Fanatic
 
Madulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 982
Default

Tried the new 508 no timing on Friday. Wow what a difference. My car would actually lock up going into the corner if I was too hard on the brakes. Never felt that with the Esc before. Good job.
__________________
Hobbywing North America Team Driver
hobbywingdirect.com

CARCAR VP carcar.ca
Madulla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:45 PM   #10444
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 98
Default

How to get the v3 in blinky? I know its in the esc as #2 setup. But how to get it there?
Huskerfan1212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:05 PM   #10445
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idbdoug View Post
i have Xerun 120A 1S model. What is correct voltage cutoff for 1cell lipo's????? Will be used in 13.5 WGT
Thanks
idbdoug
I have mine disabled but 3.0, 3.2 is a safe bet. If your always racing 5min or 6min in WGT you'll never hit it.

If you practice for like 15min -20min then you might .. but at that point the battery has faded and your not getting much out of your practice run in the late stages.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23rd 2017 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:21 PM   #10446
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Default Hobbywing V3.1 Guess this is the king of the hill now?

I guess that this is the most advanced esc right now. Is here anything that compares?

But what I really need to know, and you guys seem the most knowledgeable; is how are the bullet connectors attached to the ESC board and the Motor Boards to attach wires, is it a special connector with a pin in the end to fit into the hole on the board or are they regular bullet connectors that are soldered on with any (special) type of solder?

Thanks a lot,
R1
Rockit1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:32 AM   #10447
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockit1 View Post
I guess that this is the most advanced esc right now. Is here anything that compares?

But what I really need to know, and you guys seem the most knowledgeable; is how are the bullet connectors attached to the ESC board and the Motor Boards to attach wires, is it a special connector with a pin in the end to fit into the hole on the board or are they regular bullet connectors that are soldered on with any (special) type of solder?

Thanks a lot,
R1
Hi there, they are a bullet connector with a pin underneath them to seat into the speedo. They're soldered on to the board, with space for you to solder your wires to instead of having to try and get wires through the board.
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:38 AM   #10448
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Huskerfan1212 View Post
How to get the v3 in blinky? I know its in the esc as #2 setup. But how to get it there?
There's two ways

1: Plug the speedo into a computer and use the PC Software to change modes (on the first tab when you connect the speedo)

2: Using a 2-in-1 programming box, connect the speedo and switch it on. Once it's gone to the first item, press the R/P button. This will show you which mode you are in. From there, press the value button to change between stored modes. Don't forget to press ok
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 01:51 AM   #10449
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Is it bad to be running cool? I've been running the xerun 60a 8.5t combo for a couple days & can't seem to get any temp gains. Maybe slightly warm, but barely noticeable by touch. I've geared up & down to no effect on temps on motor/esc

Timing is maxed, punch is at 1.
UberPare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:05 AM   #10450
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UberPare View Post
Is it bad to be running cool? I've been running the xerun 60a 8.5t combo for a couple days & can't seem to get any temp gains. Maybe slightly warm, but barely noticeable by touch. I've geared up & down to no effect on temps on motor/esc

Timing is maxed, punch is at 1.
Are you happy with the speed of the car ?
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:10 AM   #10451
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
Are you happy with the speed of the car ?
It's ok I feel like it has more to give. Or it's not up to its full potential.
UberPare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:29 AM   #10452
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UberPare View Post
It's ok I feel like it has more to give. Or it's not up to its full potential.

what is your boost start RPM set at?
And the timing ACC?

Those 2 values have a lot of influence....
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:37 AM   #10453
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UberPare View Post
Is it bad to be running cool? I've been running the xerun 60a 8.5t combo for a couple days & can't seem to get any temp gains. Maybe slightly warm, but barely noticeable by touch. I've geared up & down to no effect on temps on motor/esc

Timing is maxed, punch is at 1.
Punch at 1 is very low. I've never run below 7 myself. I have a feeling that someone, somewhere mentioned that the ESC needs to be at quite a high punch level for the timing to actually engage (never tested myself).
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:37 AM   #10454
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn68z View Post
Interesting approach. But I would also call the 22Krpm a match as well, which means .5deg per step.

Along time ago, Micheal, and Angelo came on here and posted (basicly when I complained really loudly), that the HW was now using steps instead of the "true" degrees. The old FW used degrees (I believe 1224 was one of the last that used "true" degrees.)

I am sure they had their reasons, but Micheal gave a quick formula to calculate between the two, and it worked out to ~=.6 deg/per step, and max 38 degs timing.

I think your approach was very original. Bravo!

Cheers,
Shawn.
Good memory spot on with the .6 degree per step
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:27 AM   #10455
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
Hi there, they are a bullet connector with a pin underneath them to seat into the speedo. They're soldered on to the board, with space for you to solder your wires to instead of having to try and get wires through the board.

Thanks a lot, been trying to track them down, closest I can find is called a Solder Cup Terminal Pin. I know this forum seems to be all about setting up the speedo's, but the knowledge is here. Any idea on where to purchase these?

And is the V3.1 the best speedo ever made? Anything expect the (HW) branded ones like Orion or Hpi Flux pro, this good?

Thanks.
Rockit1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:54 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0