R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2013, 06:03 AM   #10381
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benzaah View Post
Get an Orion R10. No more brake issue...
Also not in the low rpm blinky classes?

If so, strange, considering that the software is made by the same person.....
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 06:12 AM   #10382
Tech Master
 
Benzaah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,964
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M7H View Post
Also not in the low rpm blinky classes?

If so, strange, considering that the software is made by the same person.....
I have tested 17.5 blinky with low 4fdrs, double tap the brakes and she stops on a dime. THe Orion is 160 amps with better fets. Don't kid yourself into thinking they are equal.
__________________
AERCCC - ARCR - RRCSA

Adelaide RC

Walter Rc Hobby
Benzaah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 06:46 AM   #10383
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

I don't know if people are talking about 2S lipo blinky TC classes, or 1S lipo 12th scale, because that makes a huge difference.
But I run the 120A 1S in 12th scale 13.5 boosted, and also have plenty of brakes, so I don't exactly know the problem.
Also I really don't think the FET's are the problem....
And I never mentioned they are the same, I was only saying that the software is made by the same person!.... please read carefully before making assumptions.....

Edit:
I've read some pages back (679/680), and as I mentioned, it's NOT hardware related....
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:41 AM   #10384
Tech Regular
 
cliffhanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 440
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Wow i had Chance to look at the 3.2 software it looks great new UI nicely done hobbywing!
Also wondering will this software version fix brake issue? Im using software 1.8 i rhink when brake applied you can hear sounds coming from the motor :-(
__________________
DESC210R ● DEX210 ● DEST210R

Team Durango ● Team Hobbywing NA ● Team DE Racing ● Team Panther
cliffhanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:50 AM   #10385
Tech Regular
 
Barry_Hughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ipswich, England
Posts: 417
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottyTC4NZ View Post
What turbo rpm start should I use?
As Losiho says the setting doesn't matter as the turbo is set to come at full throttle.

The value in turbo rpm start is only relevant if use turbo activation by thr & rpm or by rpm.

Personally I found turbo activation by throttle gave the best feel.

Good luck
__________________
Built it !
Raced it !
Wrecked it !

Last edited by Barry_Hughes; 01-09-2013 at 09:51 AM. Reason: spelling
Barry_Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:12 AM   #10386
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=M7H;11652984But I run the 120A 1S in 12th scale 13.5 boosted, and also have plenty of brakes, so I don't exactly know the problem.
Also I really don't think the FET's are the problem....
And I never mentioned they are the same, I was only saying that the software is made by the same person!.... please read carefully before making assumptions.....

Edit:
I've read some pages back (679/680), and as I mentioned, it's NOT hardware related....[/QUOTE]

Normally I run 17.5 and 13.5 boosted in 1/12, and WGT. The 930STOCK brakes work fine.

Its the 508NoTIMING software has brake issues (requiring a "Double Tap" on the brakes to make them work), if you dont Double Tab, you have no brakes at all. Also the Low Voltage cutoff doesnt work for 1 cell. (But works in the boost/turbo software).


Does anyone know if the JuSTock has the same issues? With manditory blinky coming next year, theres no point in running the 120A 1S. Might as well save the weight.

Shawn
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 11:15 AM   #10387
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

A Juststock 1S would be awesome. I have raced the Justock vs. a Tekin RS Pro (each with the new Novak booster) and week to week I turned identical lap times with either speedo.

If anything I think the Juststock had better starts/punch off the line during the mains. Both felt smooth throttle wise. The new Tekin firmware made the throttle feel better.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 11:17 AM   #10388
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,601
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I thought the new firmware fixed the brakes issue with the 508 No Timing software? (the V3 version not the V1) ?
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 11:21 AM   #10389
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashmaster View Post
Hi guys,

I posted in the setup only thread but seems pretty quiet!

I'm just returning to racing after a break for a few years and turbo/ boost has appeared! I'm going to be running 13.5 open and was wondering if anyone can give me some guidance on setup for a V2.1 Xerun in this spec.

I've bought the 2 in 1 programming box and updated it to the V3.2 software so think I have everything to start! To begin with I'm intending to run without boost and then I'll dial that in as I get upto speed!

Thanks for the help

Dan
I called CRC and got some great info. This is for 1/12th 13.5 but if you lifted the start RPM to 4-6K and changed the Turbo Open time to around 12 deg/.1 sec it would work for 2S in a sedan.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Boosted 13.5.pdf (182.4 KB, 326 views)
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 11:36 AM   #10390
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benzaah View Post
Get an Orion R10. No more brake issue...
I do not need ORION R10 ... I have the XERUN V3, no problem with the brakes

Only I also use my other ESC V2 and Xtreme, with these the firmware NO timing has brakes sufficient but not powerful
__________________
Team GMV / RC electric AS Laurenziana
Hot Bodies TCXX - HW Xerun - IP - Spec-R
AGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 03:02 PM   #10391
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn68z View Post
Normally I run 17.5 and 13.5 boosted in 1/12, and WGT. The 930STOCK brakes work fine.

Its the 508NoTIMING software has brake issues (requiring a "Double Tap" on the brakes to make them work), if you dont Double Tab, you have no brakes at all. Also the Low Voltage cutoff doesnt work for 1 cell. (But works in the boost/turbo software).


Does anyone know if the JuSTock has the same issues? With manditory blinky coming next year, theres no point in running the 120A 1S. Might as well save the weight.

Shawn
Have you tried the new software .. V3.2_121204?

Improvements/Bug-Fix were made to the brakes for 508.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23rd 2017 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 04:14 PM   #10392
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByteStream View Post
Have you tried the new software .. V3.2_121204?

Improvements/Bug-Fix were made to the brakes for 508.

Not yet. I will try the latest/greatest for a club night in mid-jan. I neveer change the FW just before a big race! Got bitten by that once already... I read the update info for the new version, and it makes no mention of FW upgrades for the V2.1 speedos. All the updates were for the V3




Shawn

Last edited by Shawn68z; 01-09-2013 at 04:28 PM.
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:13 PM   #10393
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 132
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Looking for some pointers on boost settings on my oval car. I have the exrun 120a esc with Tekin redline 13.5 motor. 150' oval run line. I just don't know what boost settings do what and need some suggestions on what settings to run
dragginyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:36 PM   #10394
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hudson Falls NY
Posts: 183
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Also looking for some settings for the 120a 1s speedo. 17.5 D3 motor, 1s lipo, And about 150ft oval runline. Thanks
brettweir78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:45 PM   #10395
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Hi Guys

Today i have some news for you it is about protecting yourselves against counterfeits as we have just received some bad news out of china two companies have copied the v3 esc i will post the photos as soon as i recieve them i dont know what the extent is but according to my partners its serious .Good thing is we do have a patent but some can sneak into the market .

The two companies i will release their names monday morning just waiting on legal advice .

thank you for your time and your support for hobbywing
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0