R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-04-2012, 08:05 AM   #9976
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,335
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcdrvr2 View Post
So I've been running offroad for a while with the v3 and I like the feel, but I'm thinking of getting back into Touring car again and I've been wondering how the V3 stacks up against the competition in 17.5 spec mode. I ran an RS last year and it was too much of an on/off feel to be smooth, however I've been told the V3 can't keep up with RS. Anyone have experience with this?
What? Blinky speedies have different performance?
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 08:31 AM   #9977
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 88 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
What? Blinky speedies have different performance?
I thought they were all supposed to be equal with the differences being in throttle curves and brake feel but from what I'm hearing the local racers are saying that they've tried HW's, Orion's, LRP's etc. and the tekin outperforms them all. Hence my question. I'd rather the smoother feel as I would think it would yield better laptimes than the on off switch feel of the Tekin.
__________________
Shane W.
Everything for Sale - out of hobby
tcdrvr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 09:52 AM   #9978
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,177
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcdrvr2 View Post
I thought they were all supposed to be equal with the differences being in throttle curves and brake feel but from what I'm hearing the local racers are saying that they've tried HW's, Orion's, LRP's etc. and the tekin outperforms them all. Hence my question. I'd rather the smoother feel as I would think it would yield better laptimes than the on off switch feel of the Tekin.
probably because the tekin has a little dynamic timing in the software , unless there is a way for each esc to be check we will never know if their software absolutely has no timing thats why for blinky class everyone should be with the same esc and motor
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:04 AM   #9979
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

At my club they tested the hobbywing justock with the SP cirtix and there was no difference except the Justock felt a lot smoother. I would highly doubt the tekin will be faster as there has been nothing about it being faster in straight line speed so far. They have a blinky profile and is in agreement with the "blinky"rule.

I call it bs.
__________________
www.rc-lemans.de
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 02:04 PM   #9980
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 616
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

BLANK>>> I figured out my problem. Shheesh

Last edited by MC112b; 10-04-2012 at 02:17 PM.
MC112b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:28 PM   #9981
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

we are working on the brakes issue with the blinky software

should be available next week

regards Angelo
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 12:55 AM   #9982
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,189
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

In the meantime, will upgrading to 508 firmware solve the sensor issues on my Justock? Just want to know since I don't have the programming box but I may give it a shot.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 06:45 AM   #9983
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 626
Default

We have done dyno testing on various esc's and our weapon of choice for 1s is the Hobbywing. Free reving (timing check) there is little difference. Load testing is where the differences show up. This can be tested using a TurboDyno and a standardized motor. Smoothness is a feel item and can only be done by the seat of the pants to the average individual.
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 10:06 AM   #9984
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to RicerX1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
we are working on the brakes issue with the blinky software

should be available next week

regards Angelo
Nice. Hopefully the update will my make justock and xtreme brake as hard as my v3
RicerX1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:53 PM   #9985
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
In the meantime, will upgrading to 508 firmware solve the sensor issues on my Justock? Just want to know since I don't have the programming box but I may give it a shot.
The sensor port had been fixed with the 508 zero timing v3 version a very long time ago which was to sensitive with some motors like the lrp etc .now you might want to have a look at your motor and the sensor board in that motor you might have some damaged hall sensors even one can cause an issue as it will send back a distorted signal back to the esc .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 06:58 PM   #9986
Tech Regular
 
narcotiks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

anyone tried turbo start by full throttle and rpm on the V3?
i felt it was more responsive in the infield and had a better feel when kicking in on the straight
narcotiks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:22 PM   #9987
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: West Covina, CA
Posts: 1,143
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

I just picked up a Hobbywing SCT Pro to put in my SCTE and I can't seem to use the computer or programming card on it at all. I do own 2 other Xerun 120amps, an Orion R10 pro, and even a LT4.... they all work with the programming card + computer at least.

Here's what I've tried (all with a fully charged battery).
Programming Box, RX connector to programming card
Programming Box, RX connector to programming card + computer
Programming Box, sensor connector to programming card
Programming Box, sensor connector to programming card + computer
LT4 USB cable with both connections

Mainly, I really want to set my punch level to 1 for my Tekin 4600.
__________________
"Tinkering with Toy Cars that go around in circles"
OCRC | Club R/C | Mike's Gulf Coast | Kyosho RB6 ZX6 MP9E
Kuya_Kimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 08:05 PM   #9988
Tech Master
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuya_Kimo View Post
I just picked up a Hobbywing SCT Pro to put in my SCTE and I can't seem to use the computer or programming card on it at all. I do own 2 other Xerun 120amps, an Orion R10 pro, and even a LT4.... they all work with the programming card + computer at least.

Here's what I've tried (all with a fully charged battery).
Programming Box, RX connector to programming card
Programming Box, RX connector to programming card + computer
Programming Box, sensor connector to programming card
Programming Box, sensor connector to programming card + computer
LT4 USB cable with both connections

Mainly, I really want to set my punch level to 1 for my Tekin 4600.
thats your problem....you need to unplug the fan and plug into the fan port for the programming card, NOT the RX connector OR sensor wiring(which wouldnt fit anyways)
__________________
1/10 Traxxas Summit Blue
Axial AX10 Scorpion * Viper VSC 240/55t combo * Hitec HS-7954SH
TCCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 09:28 PM   #9989
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,189
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
The sensor port had been fixed with the 508 zero timing v3 version a very long time ago which was to sensitive with some motors like the lrp etc .now you might want to have a look at your motor and the sensor board in that motor you might have some damaged hall sensors even one can cause an issue as it will send back a distorted signal back to the esc .
Thanks Angelo. I upgraded to V3 508 firmware and it is still kicking it into sensorless mode. I did run my car today and I was very impressed with the ESC. Much improved over my Cirtix in terms of brake strength/response. Everywhere else, it is fine once the car is moving. But in the main and a standing start, this will be trouble. Plus I think the car is faster in sensorless mode than sensored?? Is this true or no?

I'm going to try a different brand motor and see if maybe it is just isolated to the Speed Passion V3 Ultra Sportsman motor. I have read of past issues that some people have had this problem, but some haven't. Urgh...
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:28 PM   #9990
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: West Covina, CA
Posts: 1,143
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCCustoms View Post
thats your problem....you need to unplug the fan and plug into the fan port for the programming card, NOT the RX connector OR sensor wiring(which wouldnt fit anyways)
Thanks Travis! Who would think the instructions could tell you how to do it too?

"You must use the 3 pin port between the soldering terminal #A and #B. Normally, this 3 pin port is used to connect cooling fan, when programming the ESC, please unplug the cooling fan connector. Please also make sure that the 3 pin program port of the ESC must be connected with the Program Box through the port marked with “ ” in parallel, the cross connection is not correct"
__________________
"Tinkering with Toy Cars that go around in circles"
OCRC | Club R/C | Mike's Gulf Coast | Kyosho RB6 ZX6 MP9E

Last edited by Kuya_Kimo; 10-06-2012 at 11:46 PM.
Kuya_Kimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:40 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0