R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2012, 04:14 AM   #9841
Tech Champion
 
Radio Active's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,056
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niznai View Post
I think it may be that the servo being digital (and perhaps brushless/coreless) draws more current than you can give it.

It may be a problem with the analog-digital combo too.
I have an old analogue servo I could put in the car. Is it worth a go do you think?
__________________
Reigning NSW 4WD Group 20 Champion
Member: Maitland Radio Car Club (http://www.morcc.com.au)
twitter: @dvcotton
Australian 12th Scale hastag: #EP12AU
Radio Active is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 04:25 AM   #9842
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radio Active View Post
I'm having an issue with a 120A 1S ESC that I am using in 12th. I lose steering well before the pack has reached the end of its useful life. I'm using a 27MHz FM KO radio and receiver, and a Futaba digital servo. If I use a receiver pack the issue goes away. Do I have a fault with the ESC somewhere, or is it that the 27MHz gear needs more power than the ESC was designed for?
Problem is with your battery pack the voltage drop is steep maybe because your digital servo has a large current draw which along with your motor and esc the pack just drops the voltage faster than you might have thought it would so your bec fails.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 04:31 AM   #9843
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
Default

hey guys not sure if im posting in the right place but hope some one can help.

I have a HW 120a V2.1 esc and am trying to put blinky mode in it,
i downloaded the latest software off HW tonight and transfered it across as needed and put the 508-notiming in it.
now when using no accelerator and no brake the red light just stays on (should be blinking) and also at a certain stage in the throttle curve a green light comes on which makes me think its running boost.

can any one Please help asap as i have a comp this weekend, or point me to any step by step instructions with links etc.
__________________
WOT Hobbies Sponsored Rc drifter running Team Magic E4D

Offroad:
B4.1 team worlds stock class
Losi XXX-SCT box stock (soon to be built up)
joey12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 04:34 AM   #9844
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 698
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Updated manual for 110930_MOD

Hi,

Is there an updated manual for 110930_MOD ?

I am interested in this "Turbo Slope" which is set to 24. what does that means ?
ongbenghui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 04:55 AM   #9845
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joey12 View Post
hey guys not sure if im posting in the right place but hope some one can help.

I have a HW 120a V2.1 esc and am trying to put blinky mode in it,
i downloaded the latest software off HW tonight and transfered it across as needed and put the 508-notiming in it.
now when using no accelerator and no brake the red light just stays on (should be blinking) and also at a certain stage in the throttle curve a green light comes on which makes me think its running boost.

can any one Please help asap as i have a comp this weekend, or point me to any step by step instructions with links etc.
Ok updated i re calibrated the controller to esc and it now is blinking in neutral although the green light is still coming on near full throttle and seems like it has a Heap of power! little worried as i dont want to turn up to race and find out i have an illegal car
__________________
WOT Hobbies Sponsored Rc drifter running Team Magic E4D

Offroad:
B4.1 team worlds stock class
Losi XXX-SCT box stock (soon to be built up)
joey12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 05:34 AM   #9846
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,104
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

@Angelo.......I send you a e-mail regarding the heatsink but haven't got any reply back?

regards Roy
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:30 AM   #9847
Tech Elite
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,603
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joey12 View Post
Ok updated i re calibrated the controller to esc and it now is blinking in neutral although the green light is still coming on near full throttle and seems like it has a Heap of power! little worried as i dont want to turn up to race and find out i have an illegal car
Try going back and applying the 508 no timing software twice into your esc.
Sounds a strange thing to do but occasionally when you change the software it doesn't fully change for some reason.
After doing that re calibrate the esc to your radio. Even in 0 timing mode the green light will come on when you pull full throttle on your radio.

Easiest way to make sure you have the correct software loaded is to just plug your esc into your 2 in 1 lcd programing box, connect the battery & switch the esc on. If it displays "508 Zero timing" on the LCD box display, then it will be correctly set.

Cheers
Rob.
__________________
BSR BT-4 / Turnigy / Hobbywing / Savox / Trackstar
Castle Hill Raceway Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/121817254587521/
FatBear RC Videos https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjiAhwa-rk5Vas2rv5IBD4A
ta04evah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:48 AM   #9848
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joey12 View Post
the green light is still coming on near full throttle
That's to double check, so you can see that the ESC reaches 100% throttle. The green light also lights up at full brake.
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 07:02 AM   #9849
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M7H View Post
That's to double check, so you can see that the ESC reaches 100% throttle. The green light also lights up at full brake.
Yup, was just about to say that too. I just double checked on my 1s, and the green light comes on at full throttle. I'm running Blinky 17.5 with the no timing software so I can confirm that it's supposed to do this.
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 05:13 PM   #9850
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
@Angelo.......I send you a e-mail regarding the heatsink but haven't got any reply back?

regards Roy
some emails havent gotten through sorry

please resend

regards Angelo
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 05:41 PM   #9851
Tech Master
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
when the red and green lights up it is a sign of low signal from your rx abnormal signal not a sign of sensorless mode .
so how do you fix this then or whats causing it?
__________________
1/10 Traxxas Summit Blue
Axial AX10 Scorpion * Viper VSC 240/55t combo * Hitec HS-7954SH
TCCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 07:11 PM   #9852
Tech Champion
 
Radio Active's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,056
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Problem is with your battery pack the voltage drop is steep maybe because your digital servo has a large current draw which along with your motor and esc the pack just drops the voltage faster than you might have thought it would so your bec fails.
What do you recommend?

Changing radios is not an option.
__________________
Reigning NSW 4WD Group 20 Champion
Member: Maitland Radio Car Club (http://www.morcc.com.au)
twitter: @dvcotton
Australian 12th Scale hastag: #EP12AU
Radio Active is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 08:01 PM   #9853
Tech Champion
 
Radio Active's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,056
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

You might have seen that I have another thread in the section here on fixed timing. One of the questions that has come up is how hard/expensive would it be for ESC manufacturer's to implement this if required?

So, I thought I'd ask someone who would be able to say for sure.

If fixed timing (like you can adjust on the end bell, not boost) became legal to adjust on the ESC in blinky classes, how difficult would it be for you to implement?
__________________
Reigning NSW 4WD Group 20 Champion
Member: Maitland Radio Car Club (http://www.morcc.com.au)
twitter: @dvcotton
Australian 12th Scale hastag: #EP12AU
Radio Active is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 10:06 AM   #9854
Tech Regular
 
revsinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Perth
Posts: 440
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radio Active View Post
What do you recommend?

Changing radios is not an option.
My 1s had similar problems
i gave up on it
and used a booster , ( with a different esc )
problem fixed
__________________
Full Speed , Half Price
revsinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 03:01 PM   #9855
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,838
Default BAD BRAKES - Felt on the track, proven on the bench

I'm now certain that a software issue is the cause of the bad brakes on the 508_NO_TIMING software.

The question is whether Hobbywing are going to bother addressing this issue now that the V3 is out.

I've been getting nailed under braking all season, last weekend's BRCA Clubman's meeting was the nadir.

So I put the car on the bench and had a play. ESC is an Xtreme Stock. Radio is Futaba and correctly calibrated with no funny settings.

Straight away I noticed that when going from full throttle to full brake, there was a delay in the green (full brake) light illuminating, and a distinct soft sound to the braking.

If I paused at neutral briefly, then pulled full brake, the green light illuminated immediately and the braking was sharp.

Obviously you can't pause at neutral before braking when you are on the track.

I then tried some different softwares. 205MOD lit up the green almost immediately and the braking was sharp. 930STOCK also lit up the green immediately with sharp braking - I also set the boost and turbo to zero to get a closer comparison and the braking remained sharp.

I then dug up the 120A V2.0 that I have in my buggy. This has the quad cap fitted. Switched to the 508_NO_TIMING software, and the soft delay on full brake remained. Tried the quad cap on the Xtreme Stock - no difference.

I've basically lost faith in the HW ESCs now. Which is frustrating for a number of reasons - not least of which is that I have recommended the ESC to a number of other people because of the quality of the hardware and the value it represents. I'd heard a lot of talk trackside about weak brakes and never felt it had been an issue for me - and it wasn't, until I started to do more racing on fast outdoor tracks that need heavy braking.

HW clearly know how to program strong brakes into the ESC - 205MOD has them. So will there be an update soon to the V2.0/V2.1 software, or do I have to sell my ESCs and move to a different brand?
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:55 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net