R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2012, 03:28 AM   #9766
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by puma303 View Post
hello guys
I have a very important question for me:
the function of the EPA on gas radio, must be 100% or can I decrease? Change will cause problems to the ESC?

Epa on the radio for the esc will not affect anything as it is used for a servo not for the esc if you used it on the steering yes it will affect as it will set the end point of the servo so you dont burn the servo .

20% or 50% the esc will still see the input as 100% throttle exactly what m7 has said in the previous post
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 10:52 AM   #9767
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Any updates on when to expect a V3 1S?
Steve S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 04:25 PM   #9768
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post
Any updates on when to expect a V3 1S?
+1
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23rd 2017 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 07:28 AM   #9769
Tech Adept
 
Sir Tamiyalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hobart, TAS
Posts: 199
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The other HW thread looked dead so I will try here.
Hi, looking for help.
Will be running a mbx6 1/8 buggy and want to get a good budget friendly esc. I will be racing it on 4s lipo but would like to bash with 2s lipo. I would get the HW 150a esc but heard it has problems with 2s lipo, so I have been considering the xerun sc pro esc which can handle 4s lipo and works good with 2s.
Any problems racing with the sc esc on 4s compared to the 150a esc?

Thanks.
__________________
OFNA NEXX10, Schumacher CAT SX3, Mugen MBX6 Eco.
GOODWOOD OFF ROAD MODEL CAR CLUB
Sir Tamiyalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 04:14 AM   #9770
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post
Any updates on when to expect a V3 1S?
2 months away
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 04:17 AM   #9771
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Tamiyalot View Post
The other HW thread looked dead so I will try here.
Hi, looking for help.
Will be running a mbx6 1/8 buggy and want to get a good budget friendly esc. I will be racing it on 4s lipo but would like to bash with 2s lipo. I would get the HW 150a esc but heard it has problems with 2s lipo, so I have been considering the xerun sc pro esc which can handle 4s lipo and works good with 2s.
Any problems racing with the sc esc on 4s compared to the 150a esc?

Thanks.
no issue running the sct pro on 4 s lipo .it also works well with 2 s lipo.

I dont recommend the 150 amp esc on a 2s lipo it is a big speed controller and most run 4 s lipos in their 1/8th buggies
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 04:21 AM   #9772
Tech Regular
 
narcotiks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

cobraracing YGPM
narcotiks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 04:56 AM   #9773
Tech Adept
 
Sir Tamiyalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hobart, TAS
Posts: 199
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
no issue running the sct pro on 4 s lipo .it also works well with 2 s lipo.

I dont recommend the 150 amp esc on a 2s lipo it is a big speed controller and most run 4 s lipos in their 1/8th buggies
Is their an advantage racing the 150a esc on 4s over the sc pro esc on 4s?
Thanks
__________________
OFNA NEXX10, Schumacher CAT SX3, Mugen MBX6 Eco.
GOODWOOD OFF ROAD MODEL CAR CLUB
Sir Tamiyalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 05:56 AM   #9774
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Tamiyalot View Post
Is their an advantage racing the 150a esc on 4s over the sc pro esc on 4s?
Thanks
the 150 amp can be run inn1/5th scale cars can handle a larher can and turn motor sonething i really dont think.you will need.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 06:31 AM   #9775
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
2 months away
That is good news .. Is it still the case, that the 1s will not need an external capacitor?
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23rd 2017 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 06:46 AM   #9776
Tech Adept
 
Sir Tamiyalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hobart, TAS
Posts: 199
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
the 150 amp can be run inn1/5th scale cars can handle a larher can and turn motor sonething i really dont think.you will need.
Thanks alot for your help, much appreciated.
__________________
OFNA NEXX10, Schumacher CAT SX3, Mugen MBX6 Eco.
GOODWOOD OFF ROAD MODEL CAR CLUB
Sir Tamiyalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 10:39 AM   #9777
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brazil / SP
Posts: 40
Default Set esc 10,5t

Guys, what an initial configuration to a 10.5t boosted:
Esc V2-60A, motors option: Xerun blue Baslistik or SpeedPassion V3, which better?

Results of my radio telemetry tests:
FDR 8.5 - 61251 rpm / speed 84,3 km/h / motor temp 95C (with cooler)
FDR 8.90 - 63190 rpm / speed 82,93 km/h / motor temp 100C (with cooler)
Set Esc:
Boost 36
Start RPM 2000
Turbo open: 18 / 01sec.
Turbo timming 28
Turbo open delay 0,3
Boost timming ACC 300

My main opponents have top speed the 94km/h.

Races have 8 minuts, environment temperature is +/- 28C and track +/- 45C

Tks for your help.
__________________
!
314ck5h33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 01:44 PM   #9778
Tech Elite
 
PutAwayWet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,296
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So, I have my new HW Xerun 120A 1s installed in my 1/12th. I've got 508 non-timing software onboard, and everything seems to work just fine. But, the "blinky" LED seems to be on the bottom of the ESC and is all but impossible to see. I took it into a dark closet to see if it was actually there. It is, but there's no way to see it in normal light, it's that faint.

Has anyone had trouble teching the Hobbywing in where a visual confirmation of the blinking light is required? Is this the normal thing?
__________________
Todd Mason
Seattle RC Racers

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store.
Stand it like a man, and give some back. --Al Swearengen
PutAwayWet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 01:51 PM   #9779
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,500
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=PutAwayWet;11168145]So, I have my new HW Xerun 120A 1s installed in my 1/12th. I've got 508 non-timing software onboard, and everything seems to work just fine. But, the "blinky" LED seems to be on the bottom of the ESC and is all but impossible to see. I took it into a dark closet to see if it was actually there. It is, but there's no way to see it in normal light, it's that faint.

I thought for sure I can see mine in day light...need to double check gain..

Last edited by OVA; 09-03-2012 at 02:27 PM.
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 03:25 PM   #9780
Tech Addict
 
S.Stew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 642
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PutAwayWet View Post
So, I have my new HW Xerun 120A 1s installed in my 1/12th. I've got 508 non-timing software onboard, and everything seems to work just fine. But, the "blinky" LED seems to be on the bottom of the ESC and is all but impossible to see. I took it into a dark closet to see if it was actually there. It is, but there's no way to see it in normal light, it's that faint.

Has anyone had trouble teching the Hobbywing in where a visual confirmation of the blinking light is required? Is this the normal thing?
Hey Todd!

Mine is miss kinda hard to see too. With my layout the blinky light faces the battery and is in a tight spot to see....especially with the body on. If anyone gives you trouble with tech you can always plug in the programmer and show them the software level.

I've also noticed with the Hw stuff that if the radio neutral point isn't exactly at neutral it won't blink. I've had to set the throttle trim so that its exactly at neutral....or reset the esc end points.
S.Stew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:55 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0