R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-08-2012, 04:31 AM   #9631
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Default

That would interest me too, if you have a program card, then you can simply test
Sascha Feldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 05:19 AM   #9632
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Overunitygreg View Post
Is there any way to install supercharge software into my xerun 150 esc?
No.
When you connect the 150A esc to your PC, the usb link software automatically recognises the hardware version and will only show firmwares compatible with the esc.
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 06:21 AM   #9633
Tech Elite
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,212
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkspeedo View Post
Has anyone tried increasing the cap size on a HW ESC to increase brakes?

I'm using a Justock with V3_508_NO_timing FW in a 17.5 and 13.5 TC and the brakes are horrible. 2 different motor's; 17.5 Thunder Power and the 13.5 Revtech.

I did not have this issue with a Tekin w/223 fw.

I love this ESC but it needs better braking. Any help would be appreciated.
Yep, the stock 'single' cap is a bit rubbish if you need more brakes, I switched to the twin cap that is used on most of the more recent models (and is sold as an option), and it picked up a good amount of brakes over the stock cap.
If you needed more you could also try one of the 4 cap boards around if you have room for it.

Actually other hot tip for the Justock, don't upgrade the firmware, it's slower and has less throttle feel, seriously go back to V1-508, also crank the punch to 9 (if the traction is there), dial reverse to 100% (even if your not using it), and bring the dead stick down to 6, all make for a tight feeling $55 ESC.
I'm racing in a field of people with $200-$300 speed controllers, and doing just fine.
__________________
QRCCRA
www.qrccra.org.au
www.facebook.com/englandparkraceway
www.myrcm.ch/main?pLa=en&hId[1]=org&dId[O]=4331
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 04:29 AM   #9634
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 55
Default

Hi Angelo,

Has the latest firmware update fixed the problem with reverse not working when using Initial Brake = Drag Brake force in Forward/Reverse with Brake mode...the reverse only works if a value is set in Initial Brake Force

V1.64 didn't have this problem but unfortunately there's no going back to V1 firmware once the programmer has V3 firmware installed

If this can't be fixed it would be great to add Custom to Initial Brake Force setting

An android smart phone app would be really cool to be able to program the box at the race

Kev
ManxPlumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 05:23 AM   #9635
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Good morning Angelo,

I sent you a few emails reference payment for the speed control, so I'm trying this medium just encase our emails are having issues communicating.

Thanks
Milton
oaktreevi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:53 AM   #9636
Tech Master
 
xrayaustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Pete
Posts: 1,174
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Send a message via AIM to xrayaustin
Default

hey guys I am a newly converted tekin guy now running the v3 with the latest firmware, and am having great succuess in 17.5 and 13.5 blinky touring car. I am currently running the stock settings that come with profile 2. No complaints at all here. One question I do have is that, I do not know what the throttle and brake rate switch points are, nor, do i know what the first and 2nd stage rates are. If anybody could help me out here and explain a little bit more what these settings are and what they do, or how they affect the car and the speed, that would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Www.superiorhobbies.com

2010 cleveland indoor champs and 2011 snowbird nationals 17.5 stock A main winner
xrayaustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:08 PM   #9637
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayaustin View Post
hey guys I am a newly converted tekin guy now running the v3 with the latest firmware, and am having great succuess in 17.5 and 13.5 blinky touring car. I am currently running the stock settings that come with profile 2. No complaints at all here. One question I do have is that, I do not know what the throttle and brake rate switch points are, nor, do i know what the first and 2nd stage rates are. If anybody could help me out here and explain a little bit more what these settings are and what they do, or how they affect the car and the speed, that would be greatly appreciated.
please send me an email i have a complete explanation pdf file that i can email you .

teamcobraracing@gmail.com
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:16 PM   #9638
Tech Adept
 
banquer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Granada (Spain)
Posts: 110
Default

Dear Cobra.
Can you send me too?
frantoledano@gmail.com
Thank you so much!
__________________
Tamiya 419
Tamiya TRF 101
MuchMore Fleta Pro - Euro - Fleta 10.5-21.5
Sanwa M12 - RX-471
http://www.agaerc.com/
banquer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:17 PM   #9639
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,270
Default

The Caps dont give you what you guys think is more brakes more caps more brakes not true

The cap board only tries to equalise the voltage of the esc never perfect and the battery also controls ripple current that the motor can produce being a alternating device through to the esc causing heat but that can also be reduce by using a fan always use a fan thats why it is provided a cooler esc means more efficiency = more performance,the rest of the board filters glitches and sometimes if your lucky you might blow the cap board when you reverse polarity the battery to esc and not damage the esc but that all depends how quick you are to remove the connectors thats all it does .

Brakes are features of your own car setup ,track conditions,tyres and software adjustment .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:26 PM   #9640
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManxPlumber View Post
Hi Angelo,

Has the latest firmware update fixed the problem with reverse not working when using Initial Brake = Drag Brake force in Forward/Reverse with Brake mode...the reverse only works if a value is set in Initial Brake Force

V1.64 didn't have this problem but unfortunately there's no going back to V1 firmware once the programmer has V3 firmware installed

If this can't be fixed it would be great to add Custom to Initial Brake Force setting

An android smart phone app would be really cool to be able to program the box at the race

Kev
yes it has been fixed please send me an email and i can forward the file to you for instal.

what programmer are you uing hobbywing?Orion?hype? speed passion which one is it ?

Android app we are Discussing now .

we are also inplememnting neutral range for the v3 like the 2.1 has

regards Angelo
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:27 PM   #9641
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oaktreevi View Post
Good morning Angelo,

I sent you a few emails reference payment for the speed control, so I'm trying this medium just encase our emails are having issues communicating.

Thanks
Milton
Dear Milton

Yes i recieved the email and it was passed onto accounts and they should have sent you out an invoice for the repair .

I will chase it up now

regards Angelo
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:31 PM   #9642
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Overunitygreg View Post
Is there any way to install supercharge software into my xerun 150 esc?
No as we tested this feature and because of the large frequency noise of the big 550 can motors way to many errors occured at the sensor port .You will have noticed that no manufacturer uses turbo for 1/8th scale esc's as they would face the same issues.Ive explained why we didnt go that way in this thread a few pages back

regards Angelo
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:44 PM   #9643
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Dear Milton

Yes i recieved the email and it was passed onto accounts and they should have sent you out an invoice for the repair .

I will chase it up now

regards Angelo
Thank you, Angelo.
oaktreevi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 03:47 PM   #9644
Tech Adept
 
banquer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Granada (Spain)
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by banquer View Post
Dear Cobra.
Can you send me too?
frantoledano@gmail.com
Thank you so much!
Another first level support from hobbywing. Only 10 minutes to receive the file.
Angelo, hobbywing has done a forever client on me.
King regards and continue with this great job!
__________________
Tamiya 419
Tamiya TRF 101
MuchMore Fleta Pro - Euro - Fleta 10.5-21.5
Sanwa M12 - RX-471
http://www.agaerc.com/
banquer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 03:54 PM   #9645
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
yes it has been fixed please send me an email and i can forward the file to you for instal.

what programmer are you uing hobbywing?Orion?hype? speed passion which one is it ?

Android app we are Discussing now .

we are also inplememnting neutral range for the v3 like the 2.1 has

regards Angelo
I have a 17.5T hobbywing xtreme stock combo v2.1 with digital programmer and overall I'm super happy with it, I'd say 80% happy. What let's it down is the drag brake with reverse mode but this seems to be fixed.

I'll pm you my email Angelo

Kev
ManxPlumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:45 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net