R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-19-2012, 07:04 PM   #9376
NR
Tech Master
 
NR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,499
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Hi Guys

To get the most out of any hobbywing product i stress that you must read the manual not once but 10 times until you understand it

Many have had issues with brakes,delays and much more and most have been sorted by reading the manual and understanding how the esc functions please dont make guesses that's how many fall into the trap and then its the esc's fault or the manufacturer .
yes please ask questions if you dont understand some parts of the manual but please go through the manual first dont just guess and put the car on the track

Most esc issues are related to radio setups if you dont know an area or option of your radio dont use it simple and wait until you can ask someoen the question about the function say example ABS for brakes etc etc .

I will try and simplify the manual soon o make it as basic as possible

regards Angelo
Sorry Angelo,

I feel this is a blatant attempt at trying to shift the blame to others that are having genuine issues with the ESC's

My personal opinion is their GREAT and I love mine, even though you have needed to get me out of trouble multiple times, I have stuck with it. 50% of the time it has been a technical HW problem and 50% of the time my own doing.

However, I feel the support from HW could improve slightly, every time there is an issue you tell me or whoever it may be to install this software yadda yadda yadda. Surely there can be a system where we can register our email on a database and HW can specifically say what software to use and send out an email, every time something changes, rather than our esc's failing then having to stress about it only to be told try this software now.

I have literally been given 3 different software version in the past 3 weeks, That's one per week and great evidence to suggest the ESC is still having teething issues from the MANUFACTURERS side.

Otherwise your support on here has been brilliant.

Regards
Nathan
NR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:29 PM   #9377
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

One thing I have noticed lately... When I reprogram the esc to the motor, as in setting th neutral/fwd/rev, the motor will tick. It'll move ever so slightly, even though I know it's supposed to stay still. Maybe this will help diagnose the problem.
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 09:21 PM   #9378
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,171
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
I haven't tried that, no. I'll give it a shot tonight when I get home from work.
Just to check, as you've changed the software many times, and I don't remember reading it, but you have re-calibrated the ESc to the transmitter? correct?
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 09:41 PM   #9379
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Just to check, as you've changed the software many times, and I don't remember reading it, but you have re-calibrated the ESc to the transmitter? correct?
Yea i made sure I always just recalibrated after updating the firmware.
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 10:07 PM   #9380
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NR View Post
Sorry Angelo,

I feel this is a blatant attempt at trying to shift the blame to others that are having genuine issues with the ESC's

My personal opinion is their GREAT and I love mine, even though you have needed to get me out of trouble multiple times, I have stuck with it. 50% of the time it has been a technical HW problem and 50% of the time my own doing.

However, I feel the support from HW could improve slightly, every time there is an issue you tell me or whoever it may be to install this software yadda yadda yadda. Surely there can be a system where we can register our email on a database and HW can specifically say what software to use and send out an email, every time something changes, rather than our esc's failing then having to stress about it only to be told try this software now.

I have literally been given 3 different software version in the past 3 weeks, That's one per week and great evidence to suggest the ESC is still having teething issues from the MANUFACTURERS side.

Otherwise your support on here has been brilliant.

Regards
Nathan
no one is blaming anyone here nathan im just trying to teach customers how the product works and the best way is the manual .I want all our customers including yourself to have knowledge of the products

Tell me this were do you know of a tech guy associated with an rc company that excepts phone calls at 9:30 pm on any given day and someone who sits on skype at 1 am helping customers around the world .I dont know of any but hobbywing .

I want you to be happy with the product and to sent you software 3 different versions which are upgrades is to help you not cause you problems .

I am glad your sticking with hobbywing and ill try my best to help you even more

regards Angelo
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 10:35 PM   #9381
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Ok.... Really weird here. Update time.

I was bored tonight watching the rangers game. Thought 'damn WHAT IF I just switch rotors ONE MORE TIME???'

Well that fixed it. Before it didn't fix it. Now everything is just fine. Let's hope that everything stays the same now.
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 12:59 AM   #9382
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
Ok.... Really weird here. Update time.

I was bored tonight watching the rangers game. Thought 'damn WHAT IF I just switch rotors ONE MORE TIME???'

Well that fixed it. Before it didn't fix it. Now everything is just fine. Let's hope that everything stays the same now.
Im Glad you found the issue but please monitor the motor and esc for a while and please report back .

It is not always the esc but this has been very good information for everyone as many have learnt alot including us at hobbywing .

keep smiling and happy racing
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 01:20 AM   #9383
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CompactDisk View Post
Thank you for clearing that up.

Guess un-sensored it is.

Any fix on how to reset the programing card?
When you get those white squares on the lcd panel all you do is just update the lcd 2 in 1 software from the usb link that should reset the lcd programmer and you will soon find that the software works it will come up on the screen .You might have to flash it twice
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 04:17 AM   #9384
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AUSTRIA
Posts: 232
Send a message via ICQ to vitomon Send a message via Skype™ to vitomon
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
... and someone who sits on skype at 1 am helping customers around the world .I dont know of any but hobbywing ...
i think thats me
i also find the new programming features a bit more complicated then previous esc's, but after all it gives you more options. once you get your head arround this stuff its not that difficult after all. angelo provided first class support for my problem anyway.

off to the races....
__________________
Yokomo BD7 -- Hobbywing v3 -- Sanwa M11x
May the grip be with you ... always!
vitomon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 10:02 AM   #9385
Tech Apprentice
 
RasCalDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 50
Default V3 17.5T boosted

Is there somebody out there who has a good setup for the V3 and 17.5T boosted?
The track will be a small tight asphalt track and 7 min runs.

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Rasmus T. Callesen - Denmark

Serpent S411 - Serpent.com/2-speed.de
Hobbywing Xerun V3 and Thunder Power Z3R motors - ToniSport
RasCalDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 06:24 PM   #9386
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Update again...................

Ok, so it seems like my problem isn't gone yet. On a fresh battery, it doesn't have the issue. Full throttle engages instantly and it has tons of response.

After about 3-4 mins, the problem will start. On the track, it's even worse than it was. From neutral, the car takes about 1 seconds to start rolling, then takes about another second to get to half throttle, then it finally goes full throttle. I ran three packs through it and it happened every time. Fresh pack, no throttle problems. 3-4 mins in, the problem starts.

I'm gonna try to just turn off the low voltage detection. I dont ever run beflow 3.8v anyway, so I'll be ok there. I had it at 3.4v, so it still shouldn't have engaged, but it doesn't hurt to try.

Edit: Ok, I turned the low voltage detection off. Now with a used battery, the problem is gone again. HOWEVER, instead of being in blinky mode, it starts out in some other mode. The green light isn't blinking. I didn't realize this until now but the same thing was happening at the tracks. At the start, it wouldn't be in blinky, and once the problem started, the green light was flashing. This tells me software issue again.

Last edited by hyujmn; 06-20-2012 at 07:03 PM.
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 10:34 PM   #9387
Tech Apprentice
 
sizheng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
Update again...................

Ok, so it seems like my problem isn't gone yet. On a fresh battery, it doesn't have the issue. Full throttle engages instantly and it has tons of response.

After about 3-4 mins, the problem will start. On the track, it's even worse than it was. From neutral, the car takes about 1 seconds to start rolling, then takes about another second to get to half throttle, then it finally goes full throttle. I ran three packs through it and it happened every time. Fresh pack, no throttle problems. 3-4 mins in, the problem starts.

I'm gonna try to just turn off the low voltage detection. I dont ever run beflow 3.8v anyway, so I'll be ok there. I had it at 3.4v, so it still shouldn't have engaged, but it doesn't hurt to try.

Edit: Ok, I turned the low voltage detection off. Now with a used battery, the problem is gone again. HOWEVER, instead of being in blinky mode, it starts out in some other mode. The green light isn't blinking. I didn't realize this until now but the same thing was happening at the tracks. At the start, it wouldn't be in blinky, and once the problem started, the green light was flashing. This tells me software issue again.
low voltage protection should set to 3.0v/cell if your battery is not good enough. that is the problem reason!

I think your speedo is ok. You need to set your speedo correctly. Please read the manual again.
__________________
TEAMHOBBYWING CHINA
sizheng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 10:41 PM   #9388
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,076
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Silly question........What C rating are your packs?
It sounds like that it is to low.
As you stated freshly charged it works fine but after a few minutes it looks like the packs can't deliver the amps to start up the motor good enough so you get a slower responce.
Had a similar problem with a LRP ESC when driving with a hot motor.
Changed the packs to a higher C rating and problem was gone.

regards Roy


Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
Update again...................

Ok, so it seems like my problem isn't gone yet. On a fresh battery, it doesn't have the issue. Full throttle engages instantly and it has tons of response.

After about 3-4 mins, the problem will start. On the track, it's even worse than it was. From neutral, the car takes about 1 seconds to start rolling, then takes about another second to get to half throttle, then it finally goes full throttle. I ran three packs through it and it happened every time. Fresh pack, no throttle problems. 3-4 mins in, the problem starts.

I'm gonna try to just turn off the low voltage detection. I dont ever run beflow 3.8v anyway, so I'll be ok there. I had it at 3.4v, so it still shouldn't have engaged, but it doesn't hurt to try.

Edit: Ok, I turned the low voltage detection off. Now with a used battery, the problem is gone again. HOWEVER, instead of being in blinky mode, it starts out in some other mode. The green light isn't blinking. I didn't realize this until now but the same thing was happening at the tracks. At the start, it wouldn't be in blinky, and once the problem started, the green light was flashing. This tells me software issue again.
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 10:45 PM   #9389
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, I'm playing around with it right now. I noticed that the manual said if the green LED is flashing, it means the ESC was going into overheat protection mode. I tried to run the ESC today without the fan, and it was getting up to 125f when I pulled it off the tracks after 6 mins. I reattached the fans tonight and also tried loading up the 508_no_timing firmware instead of the mod firmware.

Also, I'm running Gens Ace 5000mah 40c batteries. It also happens with Turnigy 6500mah 65c batteries, so I think I've ruled batteries out.

Either way, tomorrow evening is a club race night, so I'll get another chance to test. We'll see how it goes.
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 10:57 PM   #9390
Tech Apprentice
 
sizheng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 98
Default

I suggest all the players to use the "PRINT SETTING" function in the new USB LINK SOFTWARE V3.1 (this version can deal almost every speedo from Hobbywing now) and paste the detailed settings here , this will greatly help to anwser your questions or problems.

Below is a sample I printed in USB LINK SOFTWARE V3.1 for a V2 speedo.
v2setting.pdf
__________________
TEAMHOBBYWING CHINA
sizheng is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:32 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0