R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-18-2012, 03:36 PM   #9346
Shop Owner
 
nnick's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cheapest prices in Europe ;)
Posts: 1,332
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to nnick Send a message via MSN to nnick Send a message via Yahoo to nnick Send a message via Skype™ to nnick
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sizheng View Post
For the V3 speedo user, we suggest you to try FIRMWARE 0511_BETA, it is faster than the previous version. And the punch for the low end is better.
Latest firmware on the site is V3.1_setup_120612

http://www.hobbywing.com/product_show.asp?id=218

the beta one you suggest is it better?
__________________
Nikolakopoulos Nick
RC RING

The #1 source for all your electric needs www.rcring.eu

Enjoy RCing....
R/C Tech #82
IRT #123

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong
nnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 05:00 PM   #9347
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
Sizheng replied about the voltage 2 posts above you, never seen the motor cut off work for any motors yet tbh. My rpm log was recording reasonable rpms, my 4.5t got 64000 which worked out to be 105 kph if my math was correct. What fdr were you running?
I was running 7.4 with my 10.5 motor, is it possible for a 10.5 to rev that high? how did you calculate speed? Yeah only spotted the voltage post after I posted so I have it disabled and that's why i'm not getting a reading..

Thanks,
Keith
kdempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:21 PM   #9348
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Update on the throttle delay problem:

I just received the program box today. I feel like I just wasted $25. It didn't fix a single thing. That VERY VERY noticeable delay is still there. On the bench, it's bad. On the track, it's even worse. The car is incredibly slow to get to full throttle.

Like I said earlier, it wasn't doing this before. Only after I changed motors did this problem occur. Now it happens no matter what motor is attached to it. I'm getting rather frustrated as the "fix" didn't really do a damn thing except make me spend 25 useless dollars.

Cobra, what other fixes can we try? I'm not too keen on having a $100 paperweight sitting on my desk for reasons that I have no control over.

Edit: I've also tried adding a glitch buster cap, just in case that was the problem. Didn't make a difference.
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:33 PM   #9349
Tech Addict
 
Johnny-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 676
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Does running (not running) capacitors have any effect on brakes?
__________________
Products I run
| Hobbywing | Nano-Tech | Tenshock | Savox | Airtronics | Team Associated | AKA |
www.modestorc.com
Johnny-RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 11:01 PM   #9350
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


Here's a video of the problem I'm having. I've tried every firmware available. Nothing works.
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 11:04 PM   #9351
Tech Apprentice
 
sizheng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 98
Default

FOR SOME QUESTIONS:

*0511_BETA firmware is in the newest USB LINK SOFTWARE (612)

*thunder power and Reedy motors have no temp.sensor , so you can't read out the motor temp. in the data log.

*max. rpm in data log is just a reference, may not be useful if you "fly to the air" on the straight which make your motor gets higher rpm than normal.
__________________
TEAMHOBBYWING CHINA
sizheng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 12:07 AM   #9352
Tech Regular
 
tmomedrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: caloocan
Posts: 317
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


Here's a video of the problem I'm having. I've tried every firmware available. Nothing works.
isnt that just normal? i still use the v2.1 it has a slight delay when pushing the throttle like that because it bases its turbo timing and boost timing engaging on rpm not on throttle position. i mean you wont get to 3000rpm from 0rpm in as fast as you can queeze the throttle..
__________________
[ Team Maxx Traxx ] http://iloveporrc.blogspot.com/ * http://timmedrano.com
tmomedrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 12:11 AM   #9353
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmomedrano View Post
isnt that just normal? i still use the v2.1 it has a slight delay when pushing the throttle like that because it bases its turbo timing and boost timing engaging on rpm not on throttle position. i mean you wont get to 3000rpm from 0rpm in as fast as you can queeze the throttle..
I'm in blinky mode, though. Not using boost. I've tried all of the firmwares, such as the MOD, STOCK, NO TIMING, etc... Every single one of them have this problem.

And like I said, before I switched motors, it was not having this delay. It had excellent response. I switched, then it started doing it. Now it does it with ANY motor, old or new, that I attach to it.

It's pretty frustrating. I've tried everything that I can to keep using the Hobbywing because I liked it a lot.

And like what mulepic was saying, it's much worse on the tracks. Coming out of any corner, there is a huge delay when going to full throttle.

Last edited by hyujmn; 06-19-2012 at 12:23 AM.
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 12:42 AM   #9354
Tech Regular
 
tmomedrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: caloocan
Posts: 317
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
I'm in blinky mode, though. Not using boost. I've tried all of the firmwares, such as the MOD, STOCK, NO TIMING, etc... Every single one of them have this problem.

And like I said, before I switched motors, it was not having this delay. It had excellent response. I switched, then it started doing it. Now it does it with ANY motor, old or new, that I attach to it.

It's pretty frustrating. I've tried everything that I can to keep using the Hobbywing because I liked it a lot.

And like what mulepic was saying, it's much worse on the tracks. Coming out of any corner, there is a huge delay when going to full throttle.
have you tried changing sensor wires? or recalibrating everything to your radio? it used to do this when i changed motors... then i just set everything back... no problem so far... hope it helps..
__________________
[ Team Maxx Traxx ] http://iloveporrc.blogspot.com/ * http://timmedrano.com
tmomedrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 01:52 AM   #9355
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
Update on the throttle delay problem:
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmomedrano View Post
have you tried changing sensor wires?
+1
I think you need to look there.
Last time on the track somebody had the same problem, I gave him a new sensor cable, problem solved, by the looks, his sensor cable looked in perfect shape, but still it was broken....
If it isn't the sensor wire, please check if maybe a pin of the sensor connection is bend on the ESC....

Have you tried putting a boost firmware in?, and see if boost timing engages, because if not, it's definitely a sensor problem....
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 02:20 AM   #9356
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,173
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


Here's a video of the problem I'm having. I've tried every firmware available. Nothing works.
Have you checked the throttle pots on your transmitter? Possible it's a problem with the transmitter rather than the esc, and it's just co-incidence its happened with the change of esc.
I've personally had this issue before, where for some reason I had a bad throttle potentiometer, and cause the throttle range to vary. Made the throttle feel very very weird.

The other thing... Check the motors tabs for any possible short (same on the esc). Just a small bridge could cause an issue.

EDIT - going on the above, check the sensor port on the esc... Quite possible it's not engaging properly as some have said.

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 03:07 AM   #9357
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

most who have had the problem of a delay during throttle response was found to be either a faulty radio or a incorrect setting of the radio.re calibrate is the best way to find out.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 04:07 AM   #9358
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

Hi Guys

To get the most out of any hobbywing product i stress that you must read the manual not once but 10 times until you understand it

Many have had issues with brakes,delays and much more and most have been sorted by reading the manual and understanding how the esc functions please dont make guesses that's how many fall into the trap and then its the esc's fault or the manufacturer .
yes please ask questions if you dont understand some parts of the manual but please go through the manual first dont just guess and put the car on the track

Most esc issues are related to radio setups if you dont know an area or option of your radio dont use it simple and wait until you can ask someoen the question about the function say example ABS for brakes etc etc .

I will try and simplify the manual soon o make it as basic as possible

regards Angelo
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 04:08 AM   #9359
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

What gears are you using? If you have to big of a pinion gear, it could cause the motor to load up and thus a delay before it can get the whole thing going?
rc_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 04:54 AM   #9360
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Hey guys, I have been using a xerun 120a sensored motor and esc combo for awhile now and have just installed a belt drive to my chassis replacing the spur witch means i need to reverse
the motor direction but cant find it in the firmware updates.

Is this available or will I have to go un-sensored if I want to run the belt set up?
CompactDisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:38 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0