R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-31-2010, 02:02 AM   #901
Tech Addict
 
warnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 522
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Rod M i had the same thing happened.. turned out to be a faulty sensor cable.. put a new one on and see if it fixes the problem.. did for me.. had no idea what the problem was.. friend suggested replacing the sensor cable and it fixed it.. hope it does for you.

Cheers
__________________
TCX Smokem / F104 wgp
Major Sponsor : Visa Card
TEAM SMA - www.smaracing.org
warnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 02:12 AM   #902
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod M View Post
Hi Guys,

I have a weird problem with my HW120A

rollout 32mm
Nemesis and Duo2 17.5
4PK radio

settings:
1=1
2=1
3=4
4=9
5=4
6=1
7=2
8=1
9=8
10=1
12=7
13=1
14=1
15=4

this ESC has one meet without issue and on its second meet (last night) it is playing up,

on the track it will feel fine, then down the straight (where the turbo would normally kick in) the car looses power/turbo and then runs at approx 50% power.

It does not recover until I cycle the power, it then works fine for a while till it happens again.

this happens without any pattern and at random,

we can replicate this on the bench and there is a click/thud from the motor when it disengages, again totally at random,

note that the motor and ESC are barely getting warm at all,

to try and solve the problem so far we have:

changed motors: 17.5 nemesis and 17.5 duo 2 (both at 0% motor timing)
changed sensor leads
re-binded the radio/receiver
reset the ESC
reset the ESC at 90% throttle
turn down all the settings (as above)
turn off Thermal protection and Lipo cutoff


if anyone can help it would be much appreciated,

Rod M.
Don't know if it will help or not but I experienced this with my original 2 year old 120AMP, it has led a hard life been abused till it screams but never faulted it once. Same thing was happening, turned out using different battery solved the issue, was using a flatish pack of cells maybe your cells are tired or the charger is not charging them correctly but I wouldn't look toward the ESC being the problem on this one. Turbo software needs 'decent' batteries that are able to hold voltage at high drain, Just thought but see if you can borrow another set of cells to see if the effect re occurs.

Cheers

Cherry
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 03:35 AM   #903
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

try reshimming the motor. i have experienced inconsistant performance when the motor had a lot of play/float when you pushed the rotor back and forth.
This effects the sensor board working properly and in some cases makes the esc switch to sensoreless hence no supercharge and slow performance.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod M View Post
Hi Guys,

I have a weird problem with my HW120A

rollout 32mm
Nemesis and Duo2 17.5
4PK radio

settings:
1=1
2=1
3=4
4=9
5=4
6=1
7=2
8=1
9=8
10=1
12=7
13=1
14=1
15=4

this ESC has one meet without issue and on its second meet (last night) it is playing up,

on the track it will feel fine, then down the straight (where the turbo would normally kick in) the car looses power/turbo and then runs at approx 50% power.

It does not recover until I cycle the power, it then works fine for a while till it happens again.

this happens without any pattern and at random,

we can replicate this on the bench and there is a click/thud from the motor when it disengages, again totally at random,

note that the motor and ESC are barely getting warm at all,

to try and solve the problem so far we have:

changed motors: 17.5 nemesis and 17.5 duo 2 (both at 0% motor timing)
changed sensor leads
re-binded the radio/receiver
reset the ESC
reset the ESC at 90% throttle
turn down all the settings (as above)
turn off Thermal protection and Lipo cutoff


if anyone can help it would be much appreciated,

Rod M.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 04:59 AM   #904
Tech Master
 
Rod M's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
try reshimming the motor. i have experienced inconsistant performance when the motor had a lot of play/float when you pushed the rotor back and forth.
This effects the sensor board working properly and in some cases makes the esc switch to sensoreless hence no supercharge and slow performance.
how much play are you talking about, there is less than 0.5mm of movement on both of the motors,

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
Don't know if it will help or not but I experienced this with my original 2 year old 120AMP, it has led a hard life been abused till it screams but never faulted it once. Same thing was happening, turned out using different battery solved the issue, was using a flatish pack of cells maybe your cells are tired or the charger is not charging them correctly but I wouldn't look toward the ESC being the problem on this one. Turbo software needs 'decent' batteries that are able to hold voltage at high drain, Just thought but see if you can borrow another set of cells to see if the effect re occurs.

Cheers

Cherry
Quote:
Originally Posted by warnos View Post
Rod M i had the same thing happened.. turned out to be a faulty sensor cable.. put a new one on and see if it fixes the problem.. did for me.. had no idea what the problem was.. friend suggested replacing the sensor cable and it fixed it.. hope it does for you.

Cheers
ok, just retested with 2 brand new sensor cables and a brand new freshly charged 5200 50C Pack, and it is still doing it,
__________________
TOPRACING.NET.AU Australian Importer of:
T.O.P. Tokyo Hobbies Optional Parts,
Team Trinity , BL Motors and Tyre compound
Team Tekin , ESC's, motors,
Elangears, Chargers,

Last edited by Rod M; 07-31-2010 at 05:12 AM. Reason: update
Rod M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 05:22 AM   #905
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,610
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Rod, thats the exact same intermittent problem i had with the nemisis 17.5 that i brought from you, on a hobbywing or SP or Venom ESC it will go thud and go into sensorless mode (then run slow) on any sensor issue, be it cable, motor or even esc. a Tekin Esc will try switching back and forth real violently.


weird that its doing it for 2 motors tho. could be a rare case that its the esc, try a third motor


Found this out after refusing to give up and learning my self when no one else seemed to know or help.

Thanks for Giving me a new motor tho

Last edited by LOSI123; 07-31-2010 at 05:34 AM.
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 05:22 AM   #906
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Rod

Last thing to try in case you haven't already.

It might be radio wander and you are not getting full throttle on the radio. Do like the Tekin guys. Calibrate the radio set at 90% and then move it back to 100% to avoid losing full throttle setting
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 06:22 AM   #907
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

I noticed that the problem of sensorless mode switch can occur even if the engine has too much mechanical advance, then check that the motor is 0 .
__________________
Team GMV / RC electric AS Laurenziana
Hot Bodies TCXX - HW Xerun - IP - Spec-R
AGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 06:27 AM   #908
Tech Apprentice
 
team minkya trf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: sydney
Posts: 82
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

i am having the same problem with my hobbywing
__________________
speedpassion|trf416we|protoform|lrp|sanwa|m03|f109|hitec|xrayt2|tekin rs
team minkya trf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 06:42 AM   #909
Tech Apprentice
 
team minkya trf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: sydney
Posts: 82
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

i changed the motor now it seems to be beter
__________________
speedpassion|trf416we|protoform|lrp|sanwa|m03|f109|hitec|xrayt2|tekin rs
team minkya trf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 06:44 AM   #910
Tech Master
 
Rod M's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSI123 View Post
Rod, thats the exact same intermittent problem i had with the nemisis 17.5 that i brought from you, on a hobbywing or SP or Venom ESC it will go thud and go into sensorless mode (then run slow) on any sensor issue, be it cable, motor or even esc. a Tekin Esc will try switching back and forth real violently.


weird that its doing it for 2 motors tho. could be a rare case that its the esc, try a third motor


Found this out after refusing to give up and learning my self when no one else seemed to know or help.
yea I was running a brand new nemesis 17.5 when it did it first and then I changed it over to a older duo 2 and it kept on doing it,

I have just thrown in a brand new Keyence 17.5 and I cannot seem to replicate the problem now, I will be out at the track tomorrow to see how it goes.

also the 10.5 Nemesis I was using at the ACT state titles last week worked flawlessly all weekend,
I will try that motor again if the keyence cops out,


Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Rod

Last thing to try in case you haven't already.

It might be radio wander and you are not getting full throttle on the radio. Do like the Tekin guys. Calibrate the radio set at 90% and then move it back to 100% to avoid losing full throttle setting
Peter E was at CH last night and he did this when he was looking at it,

Quote:
Originally Posted by AGNO View Post
I noticed that the problem of sensorless mode switch can occur even if the engine has too much mechanical advance, then check that the motor is 0 .
both the nemesis and duo2 are both motors are at 0 deg,

the keyence I have just put in has no timing adjustment but has 2 deg built in, and does not seem to have a problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by team minkya trf View Post
i am having the same problem with my hobbywing
what motors are you running when it does this?
__________________
TOPRACING.NET.AU Australian Importer of:
T.O.P. Tokyo Hobbies Optional Parts,
Team Trinity , BL Motors and Tyre compound
Team Tekin , ESC's, motors,
Elangears, Chargers,
Rod M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 06:47 AM   #911
Tech Addict
 
Afazli79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 652
Send a message via MSN to Afazli79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod M View Post
Hi Guys,

I have a weird problem with my HW120A

rollout 32mm
Nemesis and Duo2 17.5
4PK radio

settings:
1=1
2=1
3=4
4=9
5=4
6=1
7=2
8=1
9=8
10=1
12=7
13=1
14=1
15=4

this ESC has one meet without issue and on its second meet (last night) it is playing up,

on the track it will feel fine, then down the straight (where the turbo would normally kick in) the car looses power/turbo and then runs at approx 50% power.

It does not recover until I cycle the power, it then works fine for a while till it happens again.

this happens without any pattern and at random,

we can replicate this on the bench and there is a click/thud from the motor when it disengages, again totally at random,

note that the motor and ESC are barely getting warm at all,

to try and solve the problem so far we have:

changed motors: 17.5 nemesis and 17.5 duo 2 (both at 0% motor timing)
changed sensor leads
re-binded the radio/receiver
reset the ESC
reset the ESC at 90% throttle
turn down all the settings (as above)
turn off Thermal protection and Lipo cutoff


if anyone can help it would be much appreciated,

Rod M.
I'm facing this prob b4 and already did what u did including servis back my motor.

Problem occur when only I use HW518 but 422 no prob. Last time 518 still have bug.

Get the new software from Cobra and try again. He's the best around here.

Now I'm using back 518 with no prob but still searching the best setup to fight with Tekin. Shit...

All depend on ur luck. Some people said should calibrate twice but 4 me 1 time also enough but must try first. If got prob stop and calibrate again.

Good luck.
Afazli79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 06:49 AM   #912
Tech Apprentice
 
team minkya trf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: sydney
Posts: 82
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

i was racing at castle hill in stock it was working fine in the first 2 races but in the final it went sensorless and there was nothing wrong with the sensor cable tried an new one and still was running sensorless so i changed the motor and now it seems to be working fine
__________________
speedpassion|trf416we|protoform|lrp|sanwa|m03|f109|hitec|xrayt2|tekin rs
team minkya trf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 06:51 AM   #913
Tech Master
 
Rod M's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by team minkya trf View Post
i was racing at castle hill in stock it was working fine in the first 2 races but in the final it went sensorless and there was nothing wrong with the sensor cable tried an new one and still was running sensorless so i changed the motor and now it seems to be working fine
what brand/model/turn motors were you using when it was and was not working?
__________________
TOPRACING.NET.AU Australian Importer of:
T.O.P. Tokyo Hobbies Optional Parts,
Team Trinity , BL Motors and Tyre compound
Team Tekin , ESC's, motors,
Elangears, Chargers,
Rod M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 06:52 AM   #914
Tech Apprentice
 
team minkya trf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: sydney
Posts: 82
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

speed passion v2 17.5
__________________
speedpassion|trf416we|protoform|lrp|sanwa|m03|f109|hitec|xrayt2|tekin rs
team minkya trf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 08:03 PM   #915
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default Speed Passion Rotor Case and solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by team minkya trf View Post
speed passion v2 17.5
i have been running Brushless Motors since 2003 with Novak.

and the Speed Passion V2 Motor had same problem as the past motor that we know
during that year,

but since the velocity released by novak this case almost never exist!

The case is coming from the Rotor,
as the V2 Rotor is not sintered yet, it slips between the magnets with the shaft.
sometimes after it cools down it griped but after some torque it slips,
and sometimes the shaft slide back or forth the magnets.

my suggestion is try the v3 Rotor, it's been sintered seem like the novak.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:44 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net