R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2012, 10:45 PM   #8956
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yokomo_Ant3 View Post
That fan is no where near is powerful as the normal fan though, and glad my settings work well at SMA
Yep I left the normal fan on... and yep thanks for those settings big guy
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 11:13 PM   #8957
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,094
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I would have preferred to use the normal fan, but when they're spinning that fast, a missing blade makes a bunch of noise.

Are both fan connections battery voltage? I didn't have any luck figuring out what kind of connector that is. It seems to be a miniature version of the 2 pin JST XH. Crimpers are those little pins are like $600, which is kind of mind boggling.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 10:24 PM   #8958
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Got a question for you guys.

I just ordered a Hobbywing 120a 1s v2.1 to use in a 17.5 stock sedan with 2s lipos. I plan on switching out the heatsink and putting the fan on, etc etc... Is there anything else I need to do besides just soldering on the motor to get this working?

Also, I read that the 120a comes with the mod firmware. I don't have an LCD program box to upload the stock firmware, so is there anyway to turn the boost/timings off? I looked at hte manual, and it looks like you can't set the boost to 0. Any help here?


EDIT: Sorry, I'm super new to all this stuff. I noticed that I can set Boost Timing to 0 and Turbo Timing to Off, but the boost RPM will always still be at 15000 RPM. If both of the timings are off, the boost shouldn't kick in right?
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 05:04 AM   #8959
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
Got a question for you guys.

I just ordered a Hobbywing 120a 1s v2.1 to use in a 17.5 stock sedan with 2s lipos. I plan on switching out the heatsink and putting the fan on, etc etc... Is there anything else I need to do besides just soldering on the motor to get this working?

Also, I read that the 120a comes with the mod firmware. I don't have an LCD program box to upload the stock firmware, so is there anyway to turn the boost/timings off? I looked at hte manual, and it looks like you can't set the boost to 0. Any help here?


EDIT: Sorry, I'm super new to all this stuff. I noticed that I can set Boost Timing to 0 and Turbo Timing to Off, but the boost RPM will always still be at 15000 RPM. If both of the timings are off, the boost shouldn't kick in right?
Yes you are correct. However if you want light to blink then you will need the LCD advanced program box to load the blinky firmware. It will be the same as running the mod version with no boost. Just the light won't blink.
Check out hobbypartz.com for the programmer. Only 18$.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:18 AM   #8960
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 671
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I loaded the no timing software but still wont blink???
zzztech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:54 AM   #8961
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zzztech View Post
I loaded the no timing software but still wont blink???
I asked the same question. The answer is in the response number 8488. Basically, it sounds like to me that the blinking light is blinking so fast that the human eye can't see it.

Besides, I have come to the conclusion that "blinky" mode does not need to blink in order to be ROAR legal. The Novak Esc's do not have timing built into them and they do not blink, but according to the ROAR list of approved speed controllers, it is a legal speed controller to run in blinky mode.
rc_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 02:42 PM   #8962
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Excellent! So I'll basically be in blinky mode except it won't blink. That'll be good enough for me and club racing. I basically had the option of a brand new Hobbywing 120a for $89 shipped, or a used tekin rs for 110. I chose the cheaper route hahha
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 04:03 PM   #8963
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

FYI I've got a Hobbywing Justock esc and it doesn't blink, either.
rc_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 04:30 PM   #8964
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
Excellent! So I'll basically be in blinky mode except it won't blink. That'll be good enough for me and club racing. I basically had the option of a brand new Hobbywing 120a for $89 shipped, or a used tekin rs for 110. I chose the cheaper route hahha
Yeah, it is hard to beat the price. And it drives really smooth.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 04:52 AM   #8965
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
Excellent! So I'll basically be in blinky mode except it won't blink. That'll be good enough for me and club racing. I basically had the option of a brand new Hobbywing 120a for $89 shipped, or a used tekin rs for 110. I chose the cheaper route hahha
are you sure you bought a geniune product please send me photo when you receive it
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 06:14 AM   #8966
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 104
Default

correct me if i'm wrong:
low dynamic timing = more torque, less rpm
high dynamic timing = less torque, more rpm

and
low mechanical timing = more torque, less rpm
high mechanical timing = less torque, more rpm
b.wihardja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 04:07 PM   #8967
Tech Addict
 
S.Stew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 642
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.Stew View Post
Can I run 17.5 And 13.5 TC without the fan ? (on the V3)
Never got a reply to this...thoughts? Cobra? Thanks!
S.Stew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 04:13 PM   #8968
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hudson Falls NY
Posts: 183
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

For those of you running blinky software. If the speedo is not blinking then redo the calibration with your radio. The speedo will only blink when it senses that the throttle position is in neutral. after you re calibrate you should see it blink.
brettweir78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 04:29 PM   #8969
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b.wihardja View Post
correct me if i'm wrong:
low dynamic timing = more torque, less rpm
high dynamic timing = less torque, more rpm

and
low mechanical timing = more torque, less rpm
high mechanical timing = less torque, more rpm
Dynamic timing really has no true effect on the motor torque, just the gearing you have to run. So, if you run less dynamic timing, you can gear taller causing you to lose torque and vice versa. As for the machanical end of it, usually with boost its best just to leave it neutral, it gives a good balance, but yes you are correct in saying that
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 04:47 PM   #8970
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston TX (formally Sou CA)
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
Got a question for you guys.

I just ordered a Hobbywing 120a 1s v2.1 to use in a 17.5 stock sedan with 2s lipos. I plan on switching out the heatsink and putting the fan on, etc etc... Is there anything else I need to do besides just soldering on the motor to get this working?

Also, I read that the 120a comes with the mod firmware. I don't have an LCD program box to upload the stock firmware, so is there anyway to turn the boost/timings off? I looked at hte manual, and it looks like you can't set the boost to 0. Any help here?


EDIT: Sorry, I'm super new to all this stuff. I noticed that I can set Boost Timing to 0 and Turbo Timing to Off, but the boost RPM will always still be at 15000 RPM. If both of the timings are off, the boost shouldn't kick in right?
It's ready to go out of the box. You can set your Hobbywing to "Forward/Reverse with NO TIMING" with button pressing but you can't set the "Boost to 0" without the card.

Hope that helps.
__________________
"Tinkering with Toy Cars that go around in circles"
OCRC | Club R/C | Mike's Gulf Coast | Kyosho RB6 ZX6 MP9E
Kuya_Kimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net