R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-10-2012, 03:57 AM   #8941
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ta04evah View Post
+1 The label on my Xtreme stock literally fell off after I picked up and handled it out of the box, I was able to check on the Hobbywing web site to verify that it was a genuine esc though.

Cheers
Rob.
as long as you have the original purchase receipt i cannot see there being a problem
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 04:58 AM   #8942
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blade072 View Post
+1 to that....i know you have helped me out of a pickle on more than a couple of occasions angelo....
thats why i keep coming back....
Hey David,

If HW help you out so much you could at least include them in your signature
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:45 AM   #8943
Tech Addict
 
border r/c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Planet earth
Posts: 533
Default

on Stock now in Europe too


cool ESC
__________________
http://www.the-border.com
Europe's largest 1/8 scale 1/10 rc car warehouse.

3Racing-Ride-BRP-Team Orion-XRAY-HUDY-Serpent-Kyosho-Lrp-Speed Passion-MR33-JG-and many more
border r/c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:24 PM   #8944
Tech Addict
 
S.Stew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 642
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Is there a USB link software for the V3 thats not a Beta version? I downloaded it...was able to communicate with the ESC...but I could not find any way to load no timing software...? There were only 2 options under the firmware upgrade tab...any help? Thanks...
S.Stew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 09:04 PM   #8945
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,046
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

If you just want to run mod with no boost, is there some reason to run something other than blinky mode?

I'm finally running the ESC tonight on the rug with a 5.5, and it's fantastic. Smoothest ESC I've ever run, and the brakes are ridiculous.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 09:05 PM   #8946
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Taiwan Tainan
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.Stew View Post
Is there a USB link software for the V3 thats not a Beta version? I downloaded it...was able to communicate with the ESC...but I could not find any way to load no timing software...? There were only 2 options under the firmware upgrade tab...any help? Thanks...
Just set boost 0 and turbo 0,No need to change firmware...
__________________
___________________________________
Elvis Hsiao
unionjkm@ms14.hinet.net
JoJiAuE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:08 PM   #8947
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,171
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.Stew View Post
Is there a USB link software for the V3 thats not a Beta version? I downloaded it...was able to communicate with the ESC...but I could not find any way to load no timing software...? There were only 2 options under the firmware upgrade tab...any help? Thanks...
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoJiAuE View Post
Just set boost 0 and turbo 0,No need to change firmware...
S.Stew, what JoJiAuE said, just set the boost and turbo to zero, and the speedo will automatically go into "blinky" mode, with the Switch LED flashing... no need for seperate "blinky" software anymore
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 06:09 AM   #8948
Tech Addict
 
S.Stew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 642
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
S.Stew, what JoJiAuE said, just set the boost and turbo to zero, and the speedo will automatically go into "blinky" mode, with the Switch LED flashing... no need for seperate "blinky" software anymore
Awesome, thanks guys !
S.Stew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 07:42 AM   #8949
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: downunder
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.Stew View Post
Is there a USB link software for the V3 thats not a Beta version? I downloaded it...was able to communicate with the ESC...but I could not find any way to load no timing software...? There were only 2 options under the firmware upgrade tab...any help? Thanks...
You can also just plug the LCD box into the speedy and keep pressing the third button until you get to the pre-set profiles.
Then select the blinky profile with the second button to scroll through then confirm with the fourth button when you get to the profile you want.

The third button is also the one that gives you the Temp/RPM/ Voltage min figures.
bjspinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 08:25 AM   #8950
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 915
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
If you just want to run mod with no boost, is there some reason to run something other than blinky mode?

I'm finally running the ESC tonight on the rug with a 5.5, and it's fantastic. Smoothest ESC I've ever run, and the brakes are ridiculous.
Awesome to here do you have a comparison to another ESC. I am trying to decide between the new v3 and the new ORCA vx. I am currently running the ORCA MII and it is smooth, better than anything I have tried, including castle, tekin, lrp, hw, novak xdrive. I was just wondering if you had a comparison. I have not seen any reviews on it yet so I would love to hear some more feedback. If you get a chance that would be much appreciated. Thx
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 11:19 AM   #8951
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,046
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

To me, it felt smoother and had better brakes than the LRP SXX. And by better, I mean stronger and more natural. The throttle response is butter like the Black Diamond. The BD's brakes are nonexistent, however.

The 1% increments on drag brake is really nice.

I threw -20% expo on my throttle and it made mod much, much easier. I tend to like to use a little bit of throttle to roll through corners, and mod was giving me too much. The expo really helped. I don't know if that's radio or ESC, but with this setup, the car feels like a 13.5 in the infield and a missile on the straight. I've tried this in the past when running mod with other ESC's and never liked how it felt. Personally, I think a lot of ESC's lack feel at the very tip of the trigger. It's probably why I've struggled with certain other ESC's popular in boosted racing.

I replaced the fan on the ESC with a "Seis" fan from Side Piece Racing plugged into the receiver. Unfortunately, my Hobbywing fan had a broken blade out of the package, and the lack of balance made it loud as all hell. You'll need some M2.5 screws for that fan. I got some 20mm long from McMaster Carr and cut off 2mm. The Seis fan seems to move more air than the stock one and is much quieter. It won't run of the ESC's fan header, though, due to its 6V limitation.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 04:29 PM   #8952
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Try the fan off your SXX, it plugs straight in and is about half the height of the HW one

+1 to the smoothness and brakes, best speedie I've used by a mile, and I've had them all!
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 06:35 PM   #8953
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 915
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
To me, it felt smoother and had better brakes than the LRP SXX. And by better, I mean stronger and more natural. The throttle response is butter like the Black Diamond. The BD's brakes are nonexistent, however.

The 1% increments on drag brake is really nice.

I threw -20% expo on my throttle and it made mod much, much easier. I tend to like to use a little bit of throttle to roll through corners, and mod was giving me too much. The expo really helped. I don't know if that's radio or ESC, but with this setup, the car feels like a 13.5 in the infield and a missile on the straight. I've tried this in the past when running mod with other ESC's and never liked how it felt. Personally, I think a lot of ESC's lack feel at the very tip of the trigger. It's probably why I've struggled with certain other ESC's popular in boosted racing.

I replaced the fan on the ESC with a "Seis" fan from Side Piece Racing plugged into the receiver. Unfortunately, my Hobbywing fan had a broken blade out of the package, and the lack of balance made it loud as all hell. You'll need some M2.5 screws for that fan. I got some 20mm long from McMaster Carr and cut off 2mm. The Seis fan seems to move more air than the stock one and is much quieter. It won't run of the ESC's fan header, though, due to its 6V limitation.
Thanks, I had pretty much made up my mind, but the extra feedback always helps.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 07:35 PM   #8954
Tech Elite
 
Yokomo_Ant3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,387
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
Try the fan off your SXX, it plugs straight in and is about half the height of the HW one

+1 to the smoothness and brakes, best speedie I've used by a mile, and I've had them all!
That fan is no where near is powerful as the normal fan though, and glad my settings work well at SMA
__________________
Antoni Caretti

Team Schumacher - Team Scorpion - Sweep Racing - Bezerk RC - Adelaide RC
Yokomo_Ant3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 08:31 PM   #8955
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Hey David,

If HW help you out so much you could at least include them in your signature
thanks greg......have just updated it
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800 ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
TEAM XRAY X116 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:55 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0