R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2012, 05:29 AM   #8851
Tech Apprentice
 
XSLR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Are all the Motors you have used thunder power motors even the new ones ?
Yes they are,both brand new 21.5 Thunder Powers.
Thank you for replying.
__________________
VBC Racing Australia.....FUTABA AUSTRALIA.....Volante tires.....WTF Fans.....R.A.B Hobbies....President www.serccc.com.au
XSLR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 05:34 AM   #8852
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pattojnr View Post
any news for 150 amp Turbo ? much longer and ill off load my gear and go to more cells.
We have tested turbo functions on the 150 amp and the amount of frequency noise from the motor causes the esc to go from sensored to sensorless .

Motor noise is a major issue at the moment and to be honest i can't see michael releasing any software that will not work and cause major reliability issues.

To produce turbo even with small settings we feel that the software at the moment has more than enough power .many do tell me we need to tone it down not tone it up .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 05:37 AM   #8853
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
We have tested turbo functions on the 150 amp and the amount of frequency noise from the motor causes the esc to go from sensored to sensorless .

Motor noise is a major issue at the moment and to be honest i can't see michael releasing any software that will not work and cause major reliability issues.

To produce turbo even with small settings we feel that the software at the moment has more than enough power .many do tell me we need to tone it down not tone it up .
again this is for onroad 1/8th ! we need more speed. thats fine, ill off load my HW stuff.
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 05:41 AM   #8854
Tech Apprentice
 
XSLR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XSLR8 View Post
Yes they are,both brand new 21.5 Thunder Powers.
Thank you for replying.
Both motors cogg even with the sensor lead unplugged !
The only way to stop it is to retard the timing on the motor to less than zero.
__________________
VBC Racing Australia.....FUTABA AUSTRALIA.....Volante tires.....WTF Fans.....R.A.B Hobbies....President www.serccc.com.au
XSLR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 05:46 AM   #8855
Tech Regular
 
Craig W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: stoke on trent
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Craig W Send a message via Skype™ to Craig W
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Are all the Motors you have used thunder power motors even the new ones ?The thunder power motors have end bell adjustment from 0 degree to 50 degree .We need your settings before we can help you esc and motor.
thunder power need run 25 on motor
__________________
Orca www.ChubbiesCarShack.co.uk TDX SMC RC Airbrush Fundecal
Craig W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 05:51 AM   #8856
Tech Apprentice
 
XSLR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig W View Post
thunder power need run 25 on motor
Anything over 0 and they cogg badly,settings I have used as a start is the pre-set 17.5 v3 settings with FDR of 6.1
__________________
VBC Racing Australia.....FUTABA AUSTRALIA.....Volante tires.....WTF Fans.....R.A.B Hobbies....President www.serccc.com.au
XSLR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 07:22 AM   #8857
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pattojnr View Post
again this is for onroad 1/8th ! we need more speed. thats fine, ill off load my HW stuff.
Add a bigger gear or more cells. I don't know your situation, but there has never been a time when the larger motors could be boosted. In most cases the loss in efficiency is much greater than the gain in speed. I have been running a T8 motor in electric offroad with a MMP for a couple of seasons, and it has never been wanting for power. I can understand wanting more top end, but boosting does not work well with large sensored motors. Even the tekin guys don't run in sensored only mode for their large scale stuff. Try a higher KV motor to get more RPM. Or adjust your gearing, and add another cell. Another thing to consider is the physical limitation of RPM on the rotor. Most 4 pole motors are not rated over 80K RPM, so if you are running 6S and a 2600KV motor then you are approaching the physical limit of the motor. If you can't get the gearing to give you enough top speed then add a 2 speed transmission, just like you have to do in nitro. Or 3 speed if the track is really big. Electric is cool because for the most part you don't need to do this, but the RPM range is not unlimited. Adding timing on the smaller motors is possible because it actually adds efficiency and can create more power with only a small amount of loss due to heat. The larger the motor, the more efficient it is and the less power you can get our of it by boosting or adding physical timing to the can. In another thread a couple of engineers where explaining why they don't boost larger motors. But the bottom line is that you don't get anything out of it, just heat, and significantly less run time.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 08:47 AM   #8858
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,023
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcdoogle View Post
Hi, what ttpe of track was it on and what settings did you use ?
Track: Asphalt, med speed, 50ft straight
Motor: LRP X12 13.5 0000 timing insert (27.5 deg)
Fdr: 6.44
Boost: 27deg, 8k-15k, linear.
Turbo: 5deg, 20k rpm, Acc 15/0.1, Dec 18/0.1
Temp: 95deg C (Air temp 36 deg C)

More aggressive settings are possible with more power but I'm not too comfy with the temps.
__________________
/Adrian.

RC FB Pages Subscribed:
facebook.com/EPBuggy
facebook.com/AllStarChampionship
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 11:14 AM   #8859
Tech Adept
 
whityboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 169
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If I update my program box to use whit the V3 can I still use it with my xtreme stock
__________________
VBC support team manager EU
whityboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 12:06 PM   #8860
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whityboy View Post
If I update my program box to use whit the V3 can I still use it with my xtreme stock
You will only be able to use it as a link with the HW software. It will not work without the computer. The boxes are cheap enough I am just picking up an extra one.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 12:27 PM   #8861
Tech Regular
 
JRXS_chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M7H View Post


and is your X12 still alive?
Not tried. Don't get much track time due to there being no tracks near me.

It's survived 120c temps before and consistant 100c temps after 5 min runs. It's a tough old blighter!
JRXS_chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 03:46 PM   #8862
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pattojnr View Post
again this is for onroad 1/8th ! we need more speed. thats fine, ill off load my HW stuff.
there is no esc combo on the planet with turbo functions.whatever you buy you will need more speed.run a 6 cell pack.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 03:49 PM   #8863
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XSLR8 View Post
Both motors cogg even with the sensor lead unplugged !
The only way to stop it is to retard the timing on the motor to less than zero.
have you tried a different motor? meaning brand not wind
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 03:51 PM   #8864
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,756
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

did you try different batteries?
LOW ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 05:25 PM   #8865
Tech Apprentice
 
XSLR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOW ET View Post
did you try different batteries?
Batteries I use are Fantom 6500 which are new and work fine in my 13.5 car with the old speedie.
Have not tried other motor yet,but will so I can work out whether it is esc/motor combo or speed control problems.
Cheers.
__________________
VBC Racing Australia.....FUTABA AUSTRALIA.....Volante tires.....WTF Fans.....R.A.B Hobbies....President www.serccc.com.au
XSLR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:14 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net