R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-06-2012, 12:59 AM   #8116
Tech Fanatic
 
ozzy-crawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Forde A.C.T
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
Just let the haters do the hating, seeing this guy on another thread hating on other products with no actual point of argument or evidence leads me to think not to take him for serious. Ofcourse we get what we pay for, what isn't factored in is the markup from the actual cost of manufacturing. Everyone who has purchased a hobbywing or hw based product will know we probably got a sweet deal and got more than what we paid for.
+1

hobbywing is not a cheap esc,but a top esc sold at a more realistic price there being no middle men jacking the price up.
__________________
MST XXXD vip
MST FS-01d
Xray T4
Xray T3
AE Sc10.2 AE SCB
ozzy-crawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 01:55 AM   #8117
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 389
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, I just installed the 120a xerun in my 417 and took it out today for the first time. I'm new to Hobbywing so I'm a bit confused here. My car ran very slow. I run 17.5 no timing and with my LRP/Tekin speedos I was able to put them in blinky mode. How do I do this on the HW?

I read through several pages and it looks like I need the 'stock' software, is this correct? Today I just adjusted the timing down to 0 with the controller box but my car did not have the punch it would with my other speedos. Do I need to change the firmware? I saw the link on HW's website to the software, does the software come with the stock firmware? Please help me get this esc working correctly so I can compete 17.5 no timing.
RC.Jon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 01:59 AM   #8118
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,211
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin660 View Post
In life you get what you pay for. If you want to run a cheap ESC and replace them often or you can pay more and get a quality speed control. Seen way to many Speed Passion's and Hobby Wing products go up in smoke at our local track. I know we like to keep the cost of the hobby low put in my opinion you get what you pay for. If something seem to good to be true it usually is.
No offense, but you only have to look at the recent ETS to get a handle on reliable speedo's.... what happened to the LRP's again?
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 02:02 AM   #8119
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin660 View Post
In life you get what you pay for. If you want to run a cheap ESC and replace them often or you can pay more and get a quality speed control. Seen way to many Speed Passion's and Hobby Wing products go up in smoke at our local track. I know we like to keep the cost of the hobby low put in my opinion you get what you pay for. If something seem to good to be true it usually is.
Absolute nonsense. I've never seen a HW go up in smoke. Mine smelt a bit when I plugged it in backwards by mistake but even that one still works perfectly. I have them in 3 different cars, running on-road, off-road and in the wet.

Seen plenty of Tekins go bang and behave weirdly though, despite them costing 3x what the HW does.

So in this case, no, you don't get what you pay for. The HW is cheap because there are less middle men taking a cut, not because it's cheap quality.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:05 AM   #8120
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,218
Default

.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:42 AM   #8121
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin660 View Post
In life you get what you pay for. If you want to run a cheap ESC and replace them often or you can pay more and get a quality speed control. Seen way to many Speed Passion's and Hobby Wing products go up in smoke at our local track. I know we like to keep the cost of the hobby low put in my opinion you get what you pay for. If something seem to good to be true it usually is.
Just to make you aware we dont make any of the speed passion esc's you are talking about but the 2.1v Gt series which is the current world champion in touring car .I know who make the rest of there product but i will not post any of that info you can ask sp yourself .

thank you for your time and enjoy racing
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 04:00 AM   #8122
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin660 View Post
In life you get what you pay for. If you want to run a cheap ESC and replace them often or you can pay more and get a quality speed control. Seen way to many Speed Passion's and Hobby Wing products go up in smoke at our local track. I know we like to keep the cost of the hobby low put in my opinion you get what you pay for. If something seem to good to be true it usually is.
Just to make you aware we dont make any of the speed passion esc's you are talking about but the 2.1v Gt series which is the current world champion in touring car .I know who make the rest of there product but i will not post any of that info you can ask sp yourself .

thank you for your time and enjoy racing
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 04:01 AM   #8123
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,218
Default

double post
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 04:25 AM   #8124
Tech Elite
 
justpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 2,001
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Talking

I see a lot of people disagreeing with the likely troll's statement that you get what you pay for. Quite honestly the troll is completely right, you get what you pay for. A large part of what you pay for with the big name companies is...the big brand name. This is not anything new, nor specific to esc's, or even electronics or hobbies.

Full disclosure: I have a Tekin RS Pro for my buggy and a Castle Sidewinder SCT for my SC and am looking forward to seeing what the HW v3 has to offer...I live on dirt instead of carpet or pavement.

Stop making me wait already!
__________________
"We do not act rightly because we have virtue or excellence, but we rather have those because we have acted rightly. We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act but a habit." -Aristotle
My wallet supports: TeknoRC.com, NorCalHobbies.com, SMC, Tekin, and several tire/servo companies.
justpoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 04:48 AM   #8125
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KJR View Post
I've noticed a problem with my 1s esc.
I think it has to do with the "traction control setting" in your transmitter, can you put it on "INH", instead of "ACT".....

Edit, I see it's the older Super Exzes, so you have to look at the "throttle speed"...

What you can do, is switch your ESC and steering servo in your receiver, and see how the steering servo reacts on throttle input, or how the ESC reacts on steering input.....
__________________
Serpent

Last edited by M7H; 03-06-2012 at 05:05 AM.
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 07:42 AM   #8126
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC.Jon22 View Post
Hey guys, I just installed the 120a xerun in my 417 and took it out today for the first time. I'm new to Hobbywing so I'm a bit confused here. My car ran very slow. I run 17.5 no timing and with my LRP/Tekin speedos I was able to put them in blinky mode. How do I do this on the HW?

I read through several pages and it looks like I need the 'stock' software, is this correct? Today I just adjusted the timing down to 0 with the controller box but my car did not have the punch it would with my other speedos. Do I need to change the firmware? I saw the link on HW's website to the software, does the software come with the stock firmware? Please help me get this esc working correctly so I can compete 17.5 no timing.
you need to connect the esc to a computer and upgrade the software to the NO TIMING software. once this is done youll be good to go and wont need a computer anymore. They are currently working on a way that you wont need a computer to switch softwares from STOCK or MOD or NO TIMING software, it will store all the softwares on the program box at once. Very good idea IMO!
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 09:35 AM   #8127
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,211
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COLD AS ICE View Post
you need to connect the esc to a computer and upgrade the software to the NO TIMING software. once this is done youll be good to go and wont need a computer anymore. They are currently working on a way that you wont need a computer to switch softwares from STOCK or MOD or NO TIMING software, it will store all the softwares on the program box at once. Very good idea IMO!
Just to be a real PIA... and make all those waiting on the V3 more keen, this is no longer needed for the V3.
Simply set boost and turbo to 0 in the software, and the Power LED (on the top, easy to see) happily blinks away... now that's ease of use!

Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 09:37 AM   #8128
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Just to be a real PIA... and make all those waiting on the V3 more keen, this is no longer needed for the V3.
Simply set boost and turbo to 0 in the software, and the Power LED (on the top, easy to see) happily blinks away... now that's ease of use!

Ed
Thanks Ed now you got me wanting one even more and sooner now as soon as they are available in the us ill be ordering one
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 10:01 AM   #8129
Tech Elite
 
Riketsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,393
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Riketsu
Default

Well, I tried everything. Different radio, motor, sensor cable, battery. I tried setting up the esc's endpoints again. Tried upgrading it a few times again. Nothing.

It still recognizes throttle inputs from my radio from the lights in the ESC. The troubleshoot section in the manual says a possible cause is the switch. Should I buy another switch and give that a try or just send it in for repair?? Can anyone confirm to where I should ship it to so I can compare it to the one I have?
__________________
eBay user id: riketsukirai

Selling all my MTX4 parts, bodies, radio and everything!
Riketsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 10:16 AM   #8130
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: CRC Raceway
Posts: 975
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Are you sure you calibrated the speed control correctly? I just got off the phone with a customer who was having a similiar problem. Turns out he was not pushing the button at each step of calibration. Doing it correctly fixed his problem.

Brian Wynn

Team CRC
__________________
www.teamcrc.com, www.teamscreamracing.com, Outlaw RC Motorsports, KO Propo USA, www.crcraceway.com, Dumper's Speedshop, FB/FX Paint. 38.4mm>38mm, 9 degrees does not = Zero end of story. Vice-President of the F1 Pink Flame Posse
dumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:21 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net