R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2012, 12:14 PM   #7981
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,362
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clparsons123 View Post
has anyone tried this esc in 17.5 boosted ? also what settings are good to start with ?

thanks
depending on your motor's timing But With my revTech set at 0 I did the following


**********************************************ESC Info*********************************************
Controller:CAR_ESC
hardware version:HW427_V1.0
software version:V3.0_110930STOCK

**********************************************Sett ing**********************************************
[Profile/Mode No.]
Mode 1

[Profile Name]
profile1_car1

[Running Mode]
Forward Only with Brake(*)(+) Forward/Reverse with Brake Forward/Reverse Direct

[Drag Brake Force]
0%(*) 5% 10%
15% 20% 25%(+)
30% 100% Custom

[Low Voltage Cut-Off]
Non-Protection(+) 2.6V/Cell 2.8V/Cell
3.0V/Cell(*) 3.2V/Cell 3.4V/Cell
Custom

["DDRS" Start Mode]
Level 1 Level 2 Level 3
Level 4 Level 5 Level 6
Level 7 Level 8 Level 9(*)(+)

[Maximum Brake Force]
12.5% 25% 37.5%
50%(*) 62.5% 75%
87.5% 100%(+)

[Maximum Reverse Force]
25%(*)(+) 50% 75%
100%

[Initial Brake Force]
=Drag Brake Force 0%(*)(+) 20%
40%

[Neutral Range]
6%(Narrow)(*)(+) 9%(Normal) 12%(Wide)

[Turbo Open Time]
3 deg/0.1sec 6 deg/0.1sec 12 deg/0.1sec
18 deg/0.1sec(*) 24 deg/0.1sec Fastest(+)

[Over-Heat Protection]
Enable(*)(+) Disable

[Boost Start RPM]
1000 rpm 2000 rpm 3000 rpm(+)
4000 rpm(*) 5000 rpm 6000 rpm
7000 rpm 8000 rpm 9000 rpm
10000 rpm 11000 rpm 12000 rpm
13000 rpm 14000 rpm 15000 rpm

[Turbo Open Delay]
Off 0.1 sec 0.2 sec(+)
0.3 sec(*) 0.4 sec 0.5 sec
0.6 sec 0.7 sec 0.8 sec
__________________
______________________________________________
Jason Deadman

I race toy cars for fun. If I need to explain, you'll never understand.
jdeadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 06:10 PM   #7982
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robudda723 View Post
Have the HW 120a 2.1. Running 17.5 tc no boost. After about a minute of runtime the motor starts cogging and very little speed. I switched over to my lrp and have no issues. What could be causing the cogging. Settings, something wrong with esc. I bought this to eventually use in 21.5 vintage class we have, and bought a program box to add the 508 firmware. So not sure if I should send it in first to have it checked.

Thanks,
Rob
Five condions will cause cogging

1.lack of battery discharge (most common)
2.High punch level set (also common)
3.damaged sensor wire
4.damaged motor sensor board
5.damaged esc mosfets or voltage regulator (internal in the esc )

thats all that can cause cogging

In saying all this i have also come across alot of motors that have been manufactured with a totally different sensor motor configuration port which on many occasions does not match some esc's .Most chinese motor manufacturers just design anything and most dont work or most do have issues with branded esc's sensor ports
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China

Last edited by COBRARACING; 02-26-2012 at 06:21 PM.
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 06:47 PM   #7983
Tech Fanatic
 
outoforder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 980
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

OK I searched a while back and been reading a lot of pages and can't seem to find my answer. I don't know how to tell if my Turbo kicks in. All I know is I need the latest software and the right gearing. The track I run at is asphalt, I run foams 37shore rear and 35shore front, 10.5 motor xerun. The straight is about 200ft or less turns are tight. My FDR is 6.8 on a tc5, I don't have my settings with me with, will add later. ?'s what settings for esc should I use for this track?
__________________
...BASHERS INC.....
Team
Valadez
Hobbies

Last edited by outoforder; 02-26-2012 at 07:00 PM.
outoforder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 07:02 PM   #7984
Tech Adept
 
Robudda723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 249
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Five condions will cause cogging

1.lack of battery discharge (most common)
2.High punch level set (also common)
3.damaged sensor wire
4.damaged motor sensor board
5.damaged esc mosfets or voltage regulator (internal in the esc )

thats all that can cause cogging

In saying all this i have also come across alot of motors that have been manufactured with a totally different sensor motor configuration port which on many occasions does not match some esc's .Most chinese motor manufacturers just design anything and most dont work or most do have issues with branded esc's sensor ports
Thank you COBRARCING, I will go down the list you provided. I race again on Saturday and will start the trouble shooting. We do not have a permanent carpet track, it gets rolled out one day a week or I would use a test session instead of a race day to trouble shoot.

Rob
Robudda723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 07:30 PM   #7985
Tech Fanatic
 
ozzy-crawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Forde A.C.T
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know the BEC amperage for the xtreme stock, i have seen it at both 2a and 3a

thanks
__________________
MST XXXD vip
MST FS-01d
Xray T4
Xray T3
AE Sc10.2 AE SCB
ozzy-crawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:04 PM   #7986
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 374
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FFred View Post
The best chance you have is to first downgrade from your current HW firmware to another HW formware, but from maybe 2010, to go to an old version where there was no problem to switch between SP and HW.

Then, you try to put a SP version but also an old one, and finish with the last SP version.

Here's a link to a 2010 HW version :
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?2pbp1cge8hc8kpz

And one to an old SP version :
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?188ebg0eevk8a1b

Try first to change ESC firmware, and if it does not see the ESC (it's not always automatic, you have sometimes to click on Devices then ESC), try to change the LCD box firmware and try again on the ESC.
Ok thanks for the help it is all sorted now using both firmwares. Again thanks.
Mike Schroder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:52 PM   #7987
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy-crawl View Post
Does anyone know the BEC amperage for the xtreme stock, i have seen it at both 2a and 3a

thanks
variable from 2- 3amp.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 09:40 PM   #7988
Tech Fanatic
 
ozzy-crawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Forde A.C.T
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
variable from 2- 3amp.
thanks cobra
taking it is not adjustable and 2-3a is the "switch mode"
__________________
MST XXXD vip
MST FS-01d
Xray T4
Xray T3
AE Sc10.2 AE SCB
ozzy-crawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 10:12 PM   #7989
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robudda723 View Post
Thank you COBRARCING, I will go down the list you provided. I race again on Saturday and will start the trouble shooting. We do not have a permanent carpet track, it gets rolled out one day a week or I would use a test session instead of a race day to trouble shoot.

Rob
not a problem that what im here for .Please email me if you have any questions or anymore help

regards Angelo
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 12:33 AM   #7990
Tech Regular
 
Andy63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 319
Default

i ran the HW extreme stock this weekend and it worked great! but much options i needed to test alot to get the right speed :P but a Small race report here:

http://andrefossto.wordpress.com/

enjoy! and thanks HW!
__________________
www.andrefossto.wordpress.com|Team Hobbywing|Team Reservdelsrc.com|
Andy63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 02:23 AM   #7991
Tech Apprentice
 
Miholc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Slovenija, Europe
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Five condions will cause cogging

1.lack of battery discharge (most common)
2.High punch level set (also common)
3.damaged sensor wire
4.damaged motor sensor board
5.damaged esc mosfets or voltage regulator (internal in the esc )

thats all that can cause cogging

In saying all this i have also come across alot of motors that have been manufactured with a totally different sensor motor configuration port which on many occasions does not match some esc's .Most chinese motor manufacturers just design anything and most dont work or most do have issues with branded esc's sensor ports
Also VERY common cogging source:

Poor soldering on wires/connectors
Miholc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 07:36 AM   #7992
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 675
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

So, TITC is over......
Sean B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 12:33 PM   #7993
Tech Adept
 
millbank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 162
Default

How did the v3 go then????
And when can I have one PLEASE
__________________
Xray T2009 / hobbywing v3 120amp /LRP x12 6.5 / wet car
Xray t4'14 / Hobbywing v3 120amp / 13.5/ boost car
Xray t4'15 / Orca Vxx / Orca Rx3 17.5 / blinky car
TEAM DRIVER FOR MMR FLUX
millbank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 01:39 PM   #7994
Tech Addict
 
GasserX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 513
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miholc View Post
Also VERY common cogging source:

Poor soldering on wires/connectors
Also try to re-flash the program up to three times in a row. I had the same problem after one minute where the motor felt flat with no punch. I flashed (or reloaded) the mod profile program three times in a row which fixed the problem.
__________________
LOSI 8E 4.0
LOSI 22-4 V1.5
LOSI 22 3.0 Dirt Laydown
GasserX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 01:42 PM   #7995
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy-crawl View Post
thanks cobra
taking it is not adjustable and 2-3a is the "switch mode"
Yes correct
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:15 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0