R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-15-2010, 05:13 AM   #781
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desert truck 1 View Post
Hey, is there any dfference between hobbywings stock software and speedpassions 528stock software?
528 is for mod but no difference with HW and SP
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 07:46 AM   #782
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,094
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Would really like to see something like 518 stock that has the no timing mode built in. Other companies are making their firmware so you don't have to reflash the ESC to switch between modes. It's becoming common to see both classes offered at the same event.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 08:03 AM   #783
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 134
Default

I bought a couple of things from Team Cobra Racing and i transferred money yesterday and it got send same day Nice and fast
Foodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 10:07 AM   #784
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
cherry is the financial crisiss that bad in the UK? sorry mate i dont watch news .soon we will go back dealing with shells as currency .lol but yes the Aussie is doing well in the currency markets basically bailing out the world .
Oh yes it is hurting like hell over here. Shells....hmmm, now that wouldn't be too fair as the Aussies have all the best (highest value) shells, we just get cockles, winkles and snails. Ho hum seems a fair reflection of our current economic state

Cannon, will be sourcing one from you after the 23rd of this month, so hold one back for me, need to beat it up a bit and see when it screams for mercy.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 02:25 AM   #785
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Would really like to see something like 518 stock that has the no timing mode built in. Other companies are making their firmware so you don't have to reflash the ESC to switch between modes. It's becoming common to see both classes offered at the same event.
we are working on something similar at the moment ill let you know more info soon.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 04:37 AM   #786
Tech Addict
 
warnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 522
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default 120a vs extreme stock

Is there a difference in performance for stock classes with the stock speedie over the 120a or is the difference only weight and size.

Got a 120amp and very happy with it but need another speedie and wondering if there is a performance gain. Also will the future updates still include all esc 120av2 60av2 and extreme stock.

Cheers
__________________
TCX Smokem / F104 wgp
Major Sponsor : Visa Card
TEAM SMA - www.smaracing.org
warnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 12:52 AM   #787
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by warnos View Post
Is there a difference in performance for stock classes with the stock speedie over the 120a or is the difference only weight and size.

Got a 120amp and very happy with it but need another speedie and wondering if there is a performance gain. Also will the future updates still include all esc 120av2 60av2 and extreme stock.

Cheers
Weight and size is the only difference between the 120 amp and the xtreme stock .They both can use the dynamic timing and turbo boost but the only advantage of the xtreme stock is that the timing can be turned off where the 120 you need to change to 508 software with no timing.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 02:01 AM   #788
Tech Adept
 
xrayal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: hertforshire
Posts: 148
Default

a quick post for one of our club racers.............. his blue spirit 120a v.2 wasnt working right with a sp13.5 i had a look and he had mod software on it. when connected to the pc it wouldnt let me put stock software onto it, message saying cannot upgrade? any ideas or reasons why you cant switch between mod/stock. also the performance was the same with or without the sensor lead ( tried 3 leads no difference) but he had a flashing green light. i know that red and green means sensor lead but there is nothing in the manual that we could find about green flashing on its own?
does it look like its got to go back to hw? or would the ebay seller do something? any idea on transit or turn around times.
as usual help comments or abuse welcome.
__________________
associated b5m
team c tm4
sanwa mt4
lrp flow tw
mardave
xrayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 02:37 AM   #789
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hemel Hempstead
Posts: 1
Default

[QUOTE=xrayal;7681489]a quick post for one of our club racers.............. his blue spirit 120a v.2 wasnt working right with a sp13.5 i had a look and he had mod software on it. when connected to the pc it wouldnt let me put stock software onto it, message saying cannot upgrade? any ideas or reasons why you cant switch between mod/stock. also the performance was the same with or without the sensor lead ( tried 3 leads no difference) but he had a flashing green light. i know that red and green means sensor lead but there is nothing in the manual that we could find about green flashing on its own?
does it look like its got to go back to hw? or would the ebay seller do something? any idea on transit or turn around times.
as usual help comments or abuse welcome.
Enerygyxray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 02:51 AM   #790
Tech Rookie
 
Energyxray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hemel Hempstead
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayal View Post
a quick post for one of our club racers.............. his blue spirit 120a v.2 wasnt working right with a sp13.5 i had a look and he had mod software on it. when connected to the pc it wouldnt let me put stock software onto it, message saying cannot upgrade? any ideas or reasons why you cant switch between mod/stock. also the performance was the same with or without the sensor lead ( tried 3 leads no difference) but he had a flashing green light. i know that red and green means sensor lead but there is nothing in the manual that we could find about green flashing on its own?
does it look like its got to go back to hw? or would the ebay seller do something? any idea on transit or turn around times.
as usual help comments or abuse welcome.
Hi it's Jamie,

I have set the software back on to STOCK mode and now i only have the green light at full throttle. But now i have only full throttle with a Ansmann Racing W3.1 - 2.4Ghz F.H.S.S. Im running a 82T Spur and a 18T pinion and it's no faster than before.
Energyxray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 03:09 AM   #791
Tech Adept
 
xrayal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: hertforshire
Posts: 148
Smile

how did you get it back onto stock? maybe the software on the pc at race control needs upgrading? when you say stock wot number ie 518? and what are your speedo settings?
1-1
2-1
3-4 etc
bench running wont give you an indication of how fast/slow it is. at hrcc 84/17 seems to be good.
you need to be aiming for an fdr of around 8.3/8.7
what pulleys have you got 34 or 38 and on the layshaft have you 16 or 20
you should have an internal ratio of either 1.7 or 1.9 that way you know what your fdr is for sure.
i know the motors good, the speedos brand new, what about your lipos? how old are they? are they 5000mah/3800? 30c? ill try your car with my lipo next friday.
i was fiddling all night to get the novak singing, first final awesome!! 2nd final rubbish...... should have left it alone lol!!!!!!!!!!!!
it takes time to find the sweet spot, there is no instant super speed. like me and your dad said "DO SOME READING UP ON YOUR EQUIPMENT!" especially the hw pdf on setting up the speedo. you know what your fdr should be so your half way there. you think it took me nearly 6 meetings to get that info alone! but your lipo/gearing/motor/speedo is different to mine so READ UP and start at the beginning. come see me friday and we try out some bits and bobs.

in case your reading this c2b you have what might be an interesting pm!
__________________
associated b5m
team c tm4
sanwa mt4
lrp flow tw
mardave
xrayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 05:49 AM   #792
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default non advance timing setup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Would really like to see something like 518 stock that has the no timing mode built in. Other companies are making their firmware so you don't have to reflash the ESC to switch between modes. It's becoming common to see both classes offered at the same event.
syndr0me , there is no (no timing) your motor will not run without timing,
but if you meant is non advance timing,
sure it can do that! with sp

simply set yout amts to 0deg for 518mod
or
set your amts to 0deg and supercharge turned off, for 518Stock.

and the only last timing is on your motor (physical fixed timing),
so no need to reflash for non advance timing software.

cheers
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 07:42 AM   #793
Tech Regular
 
zookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: perth wa
Posts: 284
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default X12 running hot

Hi guys I have a question if anyone can help? I have the Hobbywing XeRun 120A V2.1 and am running the 518fw and the motor is getting very hot it is way more hotter than the same settings I run with my duo 2 and X11 (oopps all motors are 17.5T) even when I was just testing the motor when I first got it (bench testing) it was warm with just a few seconds of on power, I was running it in a TRF416WE but removed it after 2 runs and went back to my other 2 motors for fear of frying it. I have now installed it to my T3 done another bench test and it is still the same. I run on a carpet indoor track (ozite I think the material is) considered a low to medium grip, indoors on rubber tyres, does anyone have any sugestions as to my options or are these higher tempertures normal for this motor? shall I turn the settings down/turbo and timing off?
__________________
my cars
TRF415MS,TRF415MSX,TRF416WE,TBEVO4MS,orig CLOD BUSTER,M01 mini,TT01,DB01(X2),DT02(X2), original TERRA SCORCHER, DIRT THRASHER (love my tamiya cars) xrayT1(orig),XRAY T2 008
zookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 07:49 AM   #794
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,338
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zookey View Post
Hi guys I have a question if anyone can help? I have the Hobbywing XeRun 120A V2.1 and am running the 518fw and the motor is getting very hot it is way more hotter than the same settings I run with my duo 2 and X11 (oopps all motors are 17.5T) even when I was just testing the motor when I first got it (bench testing) it was warm with just a few seconds of on power, I was running it in a TRF416WE but removed it after 2 runs and went back to my other 2 motors for fear of frying it. I have now installed it to my T3 done another bench test and it is still the same. I run on a carpet indoor track (ozite I think the material is) considered a low to medium grip, indoors on rubber tyres, does anyone have any sugestions as to my options or are these higher tempertures normal for this motor? shall I turn the settings down/turbo and timing off?
If you go to the x12 thread, you'll find that these motors run hotter than usual and can deal with these high temps.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 07:55 AM   #795
Tech Regular
 
zookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: perth wa
Posts: 284
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
If you go to the x12 thread, you'll find that these motors run hotter than usual and can deal with these high temps.
I noticed that when I was there, also saw that while running the SPX version of speedie they were saying not to use advance timing so just wanted to ask here in case some of the guys using this speedie had found the sweet spot or had recomendations at all?
__________________
my cars
TRF415MS,TRF415MSX,TRF416WE,TBEVO4MS,orig CLOD BUSTER,M01 mini,TT01,DB01(X2),DT02(X2), original TERRA SCORCHER, DIRT THRASHER (love my tamiya cars) xrayT1(orig),XRAY T2 008
zookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:52 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net