R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-18-2012, 09:03 PM   #7816
Tech Fanatic
 
Madulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 982
Default

He means only software for hobbywing products, not for speedpassion. Hobbywing 2.1 will still get updates but it won't work on speedpassion.
__________________
Hobbywing North America Team Driver
hobbywingdirect.com

CARCAR VP carcar.ca
Madulla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 01:45 AM   #7817
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjspinner View Post
Is this just poorly worded or do you state that there will be no more updates for the 2.1 versions.

Previous posts you claim the 2.1s will have continuing support regarding software updates!
2.1 version future software upgrades will only work on hobbywing products.sorry yes poorly worded in the end
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 08:23 AM   #7818
Tech Adept
 
banquer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Granada (Spain)
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Tom, just load up up 930stock or 119stock.. And then tweak the settings down. That way no need to use a seperate program when switching between stock/mod.

Btw, with a 4.5t I have run this successfully before;

Fdr: 7.8
DDRS: 1
Drag brake: 10%
Initial brake: drag
Boost: 20
Turbo slope: 12
Turbo timing: 10
Boost start: 15k
Turbo delay: 0.1
Boost ACC: 200

For lower rev punch, shorter boost ACC, lower boost start, and more boost in general... The above was for medium traction, high traction I was on boost 28, start 10k, and accl at 100! Super punch!

HiH
Ed
Dear Ed.
Thanks for the setup of the speedo.
Today I'd done the absolute record of the track , bringing it down for about 0.3 seconds, don't moved since 2010. I'd ran using a GM Pro Delta 7T, Xerun 2.1 120A with your setups and the great Tamiya 417X.

Thanks a lot!

Cheers
__________________
Tamiya 419
Tamiya TRF 101
MuchMore Fleta Pro - Euro - Fleta 10.5-21.5
Sanwa M12 - RX-471
http://www.agaerc.com/
banquer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 07:39 PM   #7819
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 675
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I apologize for my ignorance, as I have just snapped out of the trance that Tekin had over me, but I was wondering if anyone could comment on what the differences will be between the R10 pro and the new V3 when it comes out.

Thank you!
Sean B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 08:29 PM   #7820
Tech Addict
 
venom54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aspendale
Posts: 576
Default TP13.5 ON 930STOCK

Another race day another play with settings.
This one worked a treat.

TQ and win.

Very smoother with excellent top end and a progressive acceleration. Temps stayed between 70C and 80C depending on how hard the car was driven.
Motor was a TeamPowers 13.7 with ZERO timing on motor. All other parameters were set on ESC.

ESC 120A with 930 Stock software.

Settings are as follows :

1 F/Brake
2 0%
3 3.0v
4 6
5 87.5%
6 100%
7 0%
8 6% on Thunder Tiger Cougar radio.......
9 42 right hand amount
10 12 right hand amount
11 Enable
12 20 right hand amount
13 7000
14 0.2 sec
15 450

Track was big and fast. Low grip asphalt carpark track. Clean flat surface.

Very happy with setup and still room for improvement.

Cheers Ren
__________________
Play hard but be nice to your parents!
VBC RACING|ASSOCIATED|XRAY|TEAM POWERS|THUNDER TIGER|HOBBYWING|HPI|WTF FANS|ORION AND MORE IN STORE.
145 COMO PARADE EAST 3195 PARKDALE VICTORIA AUSTRALIA.
www.rabhobbies.com.au
venom54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:46 PM   #7821
Tech Master
 
justpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 1,958
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean B. View Post
I apologize for my ignorance, as I have just snapped out of the trance that Tekin had over me, but I was wondering if anyone could comment on what the differences will be between the R10 pro and the new V3 when it comes out.

Thank you!
Hopefully one of the HW guys will comment with specifics. But in generalities, it was explained to me like this. HW had 2.0, then 2.1...the Orion is essentially a 2.5...and then HW will be coming out with 3.0. Sorry, I don't know any specifics though...I'm just waiting on more info myself.
__________________
"We do not act rightly because we have virtue or excellence, but we rather have those because we have acted rightly. We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act but a habit." -Aristotle
My wallet supports: TeknoRC.com, NorCalHobbies.com, SMC, Tekin, and several tire/servo companies.
justpoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 10:33 PM   #7822
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by venom54 View Post
9 42 right hand amount
10 12 right hand amount
11 Enable
12 20 right hand amount

Cheers Ren
What does right hand amount mean?
malkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 12:59 AM   #7823
Tech Master
 
Benzaah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,964
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malkie View Post
What does right hand amount mean?
On the setting box setting 42 for boost is actually 41 degrees. I think Ren means he is using the actual figure of 42 boost not the setting number 42. If that makes sense.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean B. View Post
I apologize for my ignorance, as I have just snapped out of the trance that Tekin had over me, but I was wondering if anyone could comment on what the differences will be between the R10 pro and the new V3 when it comes out.

Thank you!
Quote:
Originally Posted by justpoet View Post
Hopefully one of the HW guys will comment with specifics. But in generalities, it was explained to me like this. HW had 2.0, then 2.1...the Orion is essentially a 2.5...and then HW will be coming out with 3.0. Sorry, I don't know any specifics though...I'm just waiting on more info myself.
I ran the HW for nearly 2 years before switching to the Orion. I could not wait any longer for the V3 to come out. I am keen on getting a V3 to check it out but it does have a tough act to follow as the R10 is a top notch product i would happily recommend.

Reason being when you pull apart an R10 it looks night and day compared to a V2.1. The FET's are much larger which gives you phenomenal brakes as i was running 100% on the speedy and about 90 on the transmitter and with the R10 I am running 87.5 on the speedy and 85% on the transmitter. I am also going much faster with the R10/VST combo than with the HW/D3 combo i was running.
__________________
AERCCC - ARCR - RRCSA

Adelaide RC

Walter Rc Hobby
Benzaah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 01:17 AM   #7824
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benzaah View Post
On the setting box setting 42 for boost is actually 41 degrees. I think Ren means he is using the actual figure of 42 boost not the setting number 42. If that makes sense.

I ran the HW for nearly 2 years before switching to the Orion. I could not wait any longer for the V3 to come out. I am keen on getting a V3 to check it out but it does have a tough act to follow as the R10 is a top notch product i would happily recommend.

Reason being when you pull apart an R10 it looks night and day compared to a V2.1. The FET's are much larger which gives you phenomenal brakes as i was running 100% on the speedy and about 90 on the transmitter and with the R10 I am running 87.5 on the speedy and 85% on the transmitter. I am also going much faster with the R10/VST combo than with the HW/D3 combo i was running.
you and me both benzaah.......but im using a speedpassion mmm with phenomenal performance also...also have set my brakes to 75% on the esc and 100% on the radio
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800 ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
TEAM XRAY X116 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 02:04 AM   #7825
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

All we ever heard was 'brakes are fine'.... Always felt weak to me
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 02:33 AM   #7826
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justpoet View Post
Hopefully one of the HW guys will comment with specifics. But in generalities, it was explained to me like this. HW had 2.0, then 2.1...the Orion is essentially a 2.5...and then HW will be coming out with 3.0. Sorry, I don't know any specifics though...I'm just waiting on more info myself.

R10 is a hobbywing 2.1 board with a extra sensor port added to the circuit for programming .

the other difference is the boost settings are all in one area and the turbo in another in the software so they are not mixed like the 2.1 and also some custom settings finer adjustments thats all .

The V3 is totally different and the software is a small secret at the moment so i cannot comment until the patents are complete.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 02:36 AM   #7827
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blade072 View Post
you and me both benzaah.......but im using a speedpassion mmm with phenomenal performance also...also have set my brakes to 75% on the esc and 100% on the radio
Michael designed hardware and the software of the R10 and the V3 so i cannot see why the R10 would be better than the V3
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 02:38 AM   #7828
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

i dont know what it is....but at the moment the orion just works better for me......must be the smoothness of it compared to the xtreme....no-one has a v3 to compare anyway
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800 ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
TEAM XRAY X116 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★

Last edited by blade072; 02-20-2012 at 02:56 AM.
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 03:04 AM   #7829
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blade072 View Post
i dont know what it is....but at the moment the orion just works better for me......must be the smoothness of it compared to the xtreme....no-one has a v3 to compare anyway
Its the finer adjustments offered in the R10 software thats all more linear and smoother has you can adjust in customs setting mode with smaller increments of adjustment.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:21 AM   #7830
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 97
Default

Hi,
I race a 1/5th rc bike and usually run a 6.5t or 8.5t motor....i have just installed a 10.5t motor with the hobbywing 120 esc......what would be the firmware and a good setting to use with this,..im using a 10.5t as i like the low power,so no wheelies,but would like a bit more further up, mid to end...but it has to be very smooth,linear......

Thanks simon
sunktothenutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0