R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2012, 03:10 AM   #7486
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I believe with the new software the boost must be complete before turbo is engage.... Just as you said
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:26 AM   #7487
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

Is there an advantage to connect an upgrade capacitors module-A?
It has 4 capasitors instead of 2.
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 02:13 AM   #7488
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by addicted2blue View Post
Is there an advantage to connect an upgrade capacitors module-A?
It has 4 capasitors instead of 2.
Definetely better braking on the 60A and lower temperatures. Acts really like a better PC cooling system for an overclocked system when you pump up the boost/turbo settings.
The 120A doesn't really need them, in my opinion.
crusadores is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 08:31 AM   #7489
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crusadores View Post
Definetely better braking on the 60A and lower temperatures. Acts really like a better PC cooling system for an overclocked system when you pump up the boost/turbo settings.
The 120A doesn't really need them, in my opinion.
I have the Xtreme stock esc and i thought it's a 60Amp version.
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 02:14 PM   #7490
Tech Adept
 
Jamesalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 185
Default

Hi sorry to trouble you,

I have just picked up a reedy sonic 13.5 of which I will be using in 13.5 boosted and was wondering if anyone had any pointers, gearing, endbell timing or starting settings for this motor when running with a hobbywing 120a speed controller. I am currently running on carpet with a tight infield and a 30m straight.


Thanks in advance.
__________________
www.cmcc.org.uk
www.mmrflux.co.uk
www.hpiracing.co.uk
www.hotbodiesonline.com
Jamesalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 07:19 PM   #7491
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Hi Guys

Just making you all aware that when the v3 is released we will still be continueing the 2.1 verson at a reduced price and the software development will also continue for the 2.1v and whoever has a 2.0v

so dont stress you will not be lofet out in the cold .

happy new year everybody

Angelo
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 07:32 PM   #7492
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Hi Guys

Just making you all aware that when the v3 is released we will still be continueing the 2.1 verson at a reduced price and the software development will also continue for the 2.1v and whoever has a 2.0v

so dont stress you will not be lofet out in the cold .

happy new year everybody

Angelo
Thats awesome. Those are still great and affordable escs anyways!
Stregone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 08:16 PM   #7493
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Yep, looks like I might get myself a nice new Xtreme stock
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 09:58 PM   #7494
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 357
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamWTF View Post
I believe with the new software the boost must be complete before turbo is engage.... Just as you said
Does that mean the delay settings for turbo (0.1sec, 0.2sec, etc) has become obsolete? Seems odd you'd even use them anymore... just set it to off?
Lycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 10:09 PM   #7495
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lycan View Post
Does that mean the delay settings for turbo (0.1sec, 0.2sec, etc) has become obsolete? Seems odd you'd even use them anymore... just set it to off?
Obsolete? I dont think so, it depends where you are in the RPM range when you hit full throttle and also your timing acc and ratio of boost/turbo (and start RPM)

I have still found it useful for getting rid of excess heat on a large flowing track.
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 04:07 AM   #7496
Tech Apprentice
 
Miholc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Slovenija, Europe
Posts: 66
Default

Can someone help me or point me in the right direction?

I had very nice Sunday racing on the indoor track in Trieste, Italy. Drove for the first time on 1/10 indoor, first time with 2nd hand Schumacher Mi4CX


Two problems:
1. Why is startup slow or even doesn't go if I squeeze trigger hard?
2. Why did I lost boost in one of the runs? Sensor wire problem?



OK, now the data:

- Xerun 60 A with 930Stock firmware, shortened wires, changed to 12awg wires to battery using TQ 4 mm gold connectors (very stiff!), using 4 cap module with shortened wires to minimum. Good soldering.
- Battery new Gens Ace 5000 40C, 5300 30C, charged with Graupner Ultra Duo Plus 50, measured IR 5.4 and 4.7 mOhm per pack (problems not related to battery)
- LRP X12 10.5T using 27.5 deg insert , FDR ~9.2 , 50 deg C. after the run

I didn't pushed the setup, boost 16, slope 400, start RPM 2000, turbo only 6.

If you need more data let me know.

Otherwise when running the speedo is superb!
Miholc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 04:14 AM   #7497
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 124
Default

Your problem can much likely be the Hobbywing and X12 combo... It doesnt work very well and the only combo that works really well with X12 is together with LRP og Nosram speedo.
Foodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 04:21 AM   #7498
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miholc View Post
Can someone help me or point me in the right direction?

I had very nice Sunday racing on the indoor track in Trieste, Italy. Drove for the first time on 1/10 indoor, first time with 2nd hand Schumacher Mi4CX


Two problems:
1. Why is startup slow or even doesn't go if I squeeze trigger hard?
2. Why did I lost boost in one of the runs? Sensor wire problem?



OK, now the data:

- Xerun 60 A with 930Stock firmware, shortened wires, changed to 12awg wires to battery using TQ 4 mm gold connectors (very stiff!), using 4 cap module with shortened wires to minimum. Good soldering.
- Battery new Gens Ace 5000 40C, 5300 30C, charged with Graupner Ultra Duo Plus 50, measured IR 5.4 and 4.7 mOhm per pack (problems not related to battery)
- LRP X12 10.5T using 27.5 deg insert , FDR ~9.2 , 50 deg C. after the run

I didn't pushed the setup, boost 16, slope 400, start RPM 2000, turbo only 6.

If you need more data let me know.

Otherwise when running the speedo is superb!
FDR 9.2? ...
Lets go for 6.5 - 7 maybe even lower (as mentioned in the LRP X12/10.5 Manual!)

Boost up to 30-40
Turbo up to 10-15
Start rpm 4000-5000....
Punch? ~7

Motor temp, on 2S lipo, may reach 90 Celcius! no problem!

I think it is even better to change Firmware to an older version 101224_STOCK, but this is not easily done....
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 04:25 AM   #7499
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foodie View Post
Your problem can much likely be the Hobbywing and X12 combo... It doesnt work very well and the only combo that works really well with X12 is together with LRP og Nosram speedo.
I am amoung the fastest drivers in my country with HW/LRP, so I have to disagree....
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 07:13 AM   #7500
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M7H View Post
I am amoung the fastest drivers in my country with HW/LRP, so I have to disagree....
I agree too, HW & X12 works fine.
mcdoogle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:23 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0