R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-01-2011, 07:55 PM   #7141
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

[QUOTE=Vrooom;9982396]Reffering to my ESC problem eariler in the post, Would this ESC problem took out my motor and reciever ?[/QUO

maybe yes as motors do produce there own voltage/ current as they are a magnetic device and while the motor is turning it does produce a back emf knows as counter electromotive force which can feedback through the circuit and yes damage the esc now when the esc burns up it can damage you servo or your receiver it all depends on the extent of the damage to the esc .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China

Last edited by COBRARACING; 12-01-2011 at 08:11 PM.
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 11:57 PM   #7142
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,173
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by getpip View Post
Footprint doesn't appear to be any smaller.
I believe the footprint is smaller than the V2.1, but similar to the xtreme. Remember the V2.1 is a pretty, umm, chunky esc
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 02:48 AM   #7143
Tech Regular
 
getpip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
I believe the footprint is smaller than the V2.1, but similar to the xtreme. Remember the V2.1 is a pretty, umm, chunky esc
LOL .. Chunky yes.
Smaller would be good . . As far as I am concerned size is the only negative of the current esc.
I'm not sure about (what I assume is) an exposed programming port, perhaps a small cover on it would be good. (It would save bunging it up with blu-tac)
__________________
------------------------
Check out my blog: www.pipskiracing.blogspot.com
------------------------
getpip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 08:11 AM   #7144
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Hi Guys

I would like to get some feedback from all of you and more on how easy it is to purchase our products around the world or how difficult to purchase.

please name your country

regards Angelo
In the UK I find it quite easy. We have two stockists, both mail order. One has very good prices but does not support cars very well (they do say that on their website, so it's not a surprise) and the other has higher prices, supports cars better, but is difficult to contact. I think that you lose sales by not having them in retail shops, but on the other hand the prices are good from mail order.

To be honest, for the experienced RC driver it is easy to get a HW speedo from almost anywhere in the world, no matter where you live. As they are easy to use and reliable, service isn't too much of an issue. However, I think you lose sales in UK because for new drivers as HW is not seen in the model shops. HTH
SlowerOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 10:07 AM   #7145
Tech Regular
 
Barry_Hughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ipswich, England
Posts: 417
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
In the UK I find it quite easy. We have two stockists, both mail order. One has very good prices but does not support cars very well (they do say that on their website, so it's not a surprise) and the other has higher prices, supports cars better, but is difficult to contact. I think that you lose sales by not having them in retail shops, but on the other hand the prices are good from mail order.

To be honest, for the experienced RC driver it is easy to get a HW speedo from almost anywhere in the world, no matter where you live. As they are easy to use and reliable, service isn't too much of an issue. However, I think you lose sales in UK because for new drivers as HW is not seen in the model shops. HTH
Watch the price rocket upwards if you have to build in a shops margin, the beauty of the HW is they are very reliable, it is probably cheaper to purchase a new unit than have it repaired.
Keep buying from racersinexile, Stuart is at a lot of bigger meetings - that means we will get them at a reasonable price
__________________
Built it !
Raced it !
Wrecked it !
Barry_Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 01:51 PM   #7146
Tech Adept
 
capellone24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 100
Default

Hi to all, i've some trouble with my brand new hype alphacar esc (HW 120 Amp 2.1)...i've loaded 930 stock firmware and uploaded this profile:

punch level 9
boost timing 35
turbo slope 18
over heat enavbled
turbo timing 25
start rpm 3000
turbo delay 0.1sec
timing acc 500 rpm

i use a lrp x12 10.5 with brand new lrp 6000 65C lipo FDR 7.25......
So when i start all is fine and the setup is very fast, but after one or two times the esc engage the turbo , the esc enter in green/red blink mode and the turbo function never engage again until swich off /on the esc.........

do you have any ideas to solve this problem?
i think that is related to the sensor unit , but not sure.......

thanks very much and sorry for poor english..
__________________
visit my yokomo blog:
http://yokomo-fan.blogspot.com/
capellone24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 05:21 PM   #7147
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Default

There are other stockists in the UK, http://www.pit-bitz.com/index.php?manufacturers_id=51 although out of stock of everything at the moment we are awaiting a delivery.
DarrenSimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 11:24 PM   #7148
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrenSimpson View Post
There are other stockists in the UK, http://www.pit-bitz.com/index.php?manufacturers_id=51 although out of stock of everything at the moment we are awaiting a delivery.
It's good to see the product supported in the uk .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 11:34 PM   #7149
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by capellone24 View Post
Hi to all, i've some trouble with my brand new hype alphacar esc (HW 120 Amp 2.1)...i've loaded 930 stock firmware and uploaded this profile:

punch level 9
boost timing 35
turbo slope 18
over heat enavbled
turbo timing 25
start rpm 3000
turbo delay 0.1sec
timing acc 500 rpm

i use a lrp x12 10.5 with brand new lrp 6000 65C lipo FDR 7.25......
So when i start all is fine and the setup is very fast, but after one or two times the esc engage the turbo , the esc enter in green/red blink mode and the turbo function never engage again until swich off /on the esc.........

do you have any ideas to solve this problem?
i think that is related to the sensor unit , but not sure.......

thanks very much and sorry for poor english..
red to green flashing is that the esc doesnt recognise your sensored motor or a poor signal from the motor sensor board

Not related but Drop the punch level to 7-8 (9) is way to high .

Also check your sensor cable swap it with another and try .

The last thing is to re shim the motor to bring the rotor closer to the sensor board hall sensors .

one of the options above will fix it your problem
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 12:24 AM   #7150
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by capellone24 View Post
Hi to all, i've some trouble with my brand new hype alphacar esc (HW 120 Amp 2.1)...i've loaded 930 stock firmware and uploaded this profile:

punch level 9
boost timing 35
turbo slope 18
over heat enavbled
turbo timing 25
start rpm 3000
turbo delay 0.1sec
timing acc 500 rpm

i use a lrp x12 10.5 with brand new lrp 6000 65C lipo FDR 7.25......
So when i start all is fine and the setup is very fast, but after one or two times the esc engage the turbo , the esc enter in green/red blink mode and the turbo function never engage again until swich off /on the esc.........

do you have any ideas to solve this problem?
i think that is related to the sensor unit , but not sure.......

thanks very much and sorry for poor english..
Also try raising your start RPM, 3000 is a bit low for a 10.5

The ESC will tend to go into sensorless if your using a lwoer turn motor with very aggressive settings.
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 12:53 AM   #7151
Tech Adept
 
capellone24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 100
Default

Thanks very much cobra.....today i'll try your advices ......
Ciao!
__________________
visit my yokomo blog:
http://yokomo-fan.blogspot.com/
capellone24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 05:53 AM   #7152
Tech Regular
 
RL.2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
red to green flashing is that the esc doesnt recognise your sensored motor or a poor signal from the motor sensor board

Not related but Drop the punch level to 7-8 (9) is way to high .

Also check your sensor cable swap it with another and try .

The last thing is to re shim the motor to bring the rotor closer to the sensor board hall sensors .

one of the options above will fix it your problem
hi angelo, can u post the pic of the motor that u re-shim??
__________________
the passion of the slide when taking the corner....
http://www.penabai-rcdrifter.blogspot.com/
Kyosho TF-5 drift spec powered by Ezrun 35A + 9t
Tamiya TRF-416X, Tamiya TRF-417
Hobbywing Xerun 120A, Xerun 3.5t, Team Orion 11.5t, Xerun 5.5t
RL.2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 06:09 AM   #7153
Tech Regular
 
wmay11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 358
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys are these ESC good for competition racing. I have looked at prices and they seem prety reasonable. What are the versions to go for 120A??

I race gas but out club is also racing electric.
__________________
RX8 - Savox - Reds Racing - Ko - Contact - Enneti
wmay11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 07:55 AM   #7154
Tech Elite
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Any word on the update that will allow low voltage cut off to be used when in 1s blinky mode? Kind of a major faux paus I think.
lowroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 09:59 AM   #7155
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by capellone24 View Post
Thanks very much cobra.....today i'll try your advices ......
Ciao!
I would recommend to run version 224 too, it will help run the X12 cooler, you do not mention your motor temperature?
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 14 (1 members and 13 guests)
va.racer
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:13 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0