R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-19-2011, 02:23 AM   #6721
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkspeedo View Post
I am running a 3.8 FDR but my other ESC's work fine with this FDR. This other ESC had the same problem in the beginning and it took them quite some time to fix it.

Hopefully the Hobbywing group can figure it out sooner than later.
I have the same problem with FDR 3.39 (66T spur, 37T Pinion), i can match top end speed with other guys but i have to brake so early to try and get round our hairpin that the other guys have left me :-(
mcdoogle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 03:47 AM   #6722
Tech Regular
 
Barry_Hughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ipswich, England
Posts: 417
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mingnon View Post
I prefer to use drag brake, dont know why, just fits my driving style. Having changed to the hobbywing esc, it isnt and strong as others. Me personaly, would prefer it to be more effective and adjustable
Drag barake force is adjustable second step of programming
__________________
Built it !
Raced it !
Wrecked it !
Barry_Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 05:40 AM   #6723
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 625
Default

Isn't drag brake a percentage of the full brake force? I thought I read that somewhere and I will do a test to confirm it.
I just loaded the new v3 stock software into my ESC and set the drag brake to my previous value. It was much more effective and I reduced my setting from 30% to 15%. I am running the 4 capacitors though.
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 11:43 AM   #6724
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default 211 vs 930 stock

Hi guys
Just a quick question. I have been running 211stock software and have just changed to 930 stock. What differences will I feel when running the same settings? Anything?
Cheers
__________________
ARC R11 2017
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 12:21 PM   #6725
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: england
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry_Hughes View Post
Drag barake force is adjustable second step of programming
have u got the 930 on ur laptop yet ? if u have cud i update mine on sunday
__________________
stcc ssb tires, ko ,gm motors, demon products lipos, hobbywing speedo
mwoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 01:25 PM   #6726
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 405
Default

need a setup for xtremestock with speed passion 17.5 boosted ASAP!

indoor carpet, small to medium size track
__________________
Xray T4`16 - Hobbywing - Highest - Sanwa - Gens Ace
Schumacher Cougar KF2 - Hobbywing - Highest - Sanwa - Gens Ace
Bappe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 02:46 PM   #6727
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hobart TAS Australia
Posts: 1,028
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I have a problem with my extreme stock ESC , it won't run unless it is given a push first, then it will run until it comes to a complete stop
I have changed motors and sensor leads and the problem is still there, have even re flashed speedy
Any suggestions
__________________
Xray T4 Sanwa M12
Team Xray Australia
STMCC President:
I was alright, .......but I got over it
New Web Address www.stmcc.webs.com
lethallee69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 06:30 PM   #6728
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lethallee69 View Post
I have a problem with my extreme stock ESC , it won't run unless it is given a push first, then it will run until it comes to a complete stop
I have changed motors and sensor leads and the problem is still there, have even re flashed speedy
Any suggestions
try another battery with a higher discharge rating and also drop your punch level .by two so if your running 9 got to 7 .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 06:46 PM   #6729
Tech Elite
 
bkspeedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Fun, CO
Posts: 3,067
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lethallee69 View Post
I have a problem with my extreme stock ESC , it won't run unless it is given a push first, then it will run until it comes to a complete stop
I have changed motors and sensor leads and the problem is still there, have even re flashed speedy
Any suggestions

Along with Angelo's comments it may be a bad sensor wire or board in the motor. It either of these are bad it will try running in sensor-less mode. With high wind motors the ESC has a hard time starting the motor due to not enough feedback from the motor coils.
__________________
Brent Klingforth
Sponsors: Awesomatix USA ~ Roche USA ~ ORCA ~ AVID Bearings ~ R1 Wurks
TQ Wire ~ ProtoForm ~ BSR Racing Tires ~ 2mm Design
5280raceway.com [Operated by - Colorado On-Road RC Club]
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23rd 2017 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
bkspeedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 01:25 AM   #6730
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hobart TAS Australia
Posts: 1,028
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkspeedo View Post
Along with Angelo's comments it may be a bad sensor wire or board in the motor. It either of these are bad it will try running in sensor-less mode. With high wind motors the ESC has a hard time starting the motor due to not enough feedback from the motor coils.
Have tried different motors and sensor cables, it still runs with boost mode it's just that it won't take off without a push first
__________________
Xray T4 Sanwa M12
Team Xray Australia
STMCC President:
I was alright, .......but I got over it
New Web Address www.stmcc.webs.com
lethallee69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 01:52 AM   #6731
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Suffolk, England
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lethallee69 View Post
Have tried different motors and sensor cables, it still runs with boost mode it's just that it won't take off without a push first
If you have reflashed it and reset your end points then I would be looking at the batteries
scoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 05:29 AM   #6732
Tech Adept
 
toby333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 183
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lethallee69 View Post
Have tried different motors and sensor cables, it still runs with boost mode it's just that it won't take off without a push first
Next step change the cap's and if that doesn't help most likely the esc is faulty. Goodluck.
toby333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 05:37 AM   #6733
Tech Adept
 
xrayal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: hertforshire
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lethallee69 View Post
Have tried different motors and sensor cables, it still runs with boost mode it's just that it won't take off without a push first
had exact same problem. widen your deadband and if you have reverse enabled, disable it. try it
__________________
tamiya 416x
hobbywing
spektrum dx3r
mardave
xrayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 09:33 AM   #6734
Tech Fanatic
 
roger999's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 804
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lethallee69 View Post
I have a problem with my extreme stock ESC , it won't run unless it is given a push first, then it will run until it comes to a complete stop
I have changed motors and sensor leads and the problem is still there, have even re flashed speedy
Any suggestions
Try to play with th-trim. Give there +1 or +2.
__________________
r o g e r g r a f i x . c o m

facebook.com/rogergrafix
roger999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 12:35 PM   #6735
Tech Fanatic
 
Madulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 982
Default

Tried the V3 no timing on the Just Stock last night. Couldn't tell if the brakes were stronger. My lap times are the same but the temp went down 20F. Really happy with the update. Good job.
__________________
Hobbywing North America Team Driver
hobbywingdirect.com

CARCAR VP carcar.ca
Madulla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0