R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2011, 04:56 AM   #6556
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoop View Post
Well it has the original SP at the mo. Can it be changed?
you have to connect it to the hobbywing software and go update esc...but you will have to update the program box aswell...i have a sp prostock 2.1 with the latest hobbywing software...
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800X ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
ROCHE RAPIDE F1-16 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 04:59 AM   #6557
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoop View Post
Well it has the original SP at the mo. Can it be changed?
Yes, when I got my box (second hand) it had SP software, just loaded latest HW on it and then speedo software.
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 05:37 AM   #6558
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 619
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PDR View Post
If you go back a few pages, there's a link to a download that contains two files. You put these into the right directory and there's now an updated 508, prefixed with "V3.0_508". Features a stronger blink and better brakes.
V3.0_508... Damn I didn't get something right then. Mine still said v1.
I pasted the new files, clicked replace. I then updated the lcd box, then plugged in esc and updated 508. I guess I'll have to try it again.
MC112b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 08:39 AM   #6559
Tech Adept
 
banquer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Granada (Spain)
Posts: 110
Default

hobbywing, can you tell us the guide of the nomenclature used in the names of the firmwares?
I.e, V3.0xxxx is about ...
V2.0xxx is about and the six number after the _ what are telling us.

King regards.
banquer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 09:22 AM   #6560
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Suffolk, England
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blade072 View Post
you have to connect it to the hobbywing software and go update esc...but you will have to update the program box aswell...i have a sp prostock 2.1 with the latest hobbywing software...
Cool. Thanks
scoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 09:26 AM   #6561
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by banquer View Post
hobbywing, can you tell us the guide of the nomenclature used in the names of the firmwares?
I.e, V3.0xxxx is about ...
V2.0xxx is about and the six number after the _ what are telling us.

King regards.
The six numbers are the date.
There is another thread about the different software on this forum
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 09:49 AM   #6562
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,252
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by banquer View Post
hobbywing, can you tell us the guide of the nomenclature used in the names of the firmwares?
I.e, V3.0xxxx is about ...
V2.0xxx is about and the six number after the _ what are telling us.

King regards.
the six numbers after is the date.... V3.0_110930STOCK (latest stock software), is simply that is was ready to go on the 30th Sept 2011.
Bear in mind the Chinese calender works a different way, with the year first, hence year:month:day in the software name.

The VX.X number refers to the family of the software, the major changes in the software are given new versions. The software for each version number are revisions to that software family.

Nothing more than that... look at all the others;

V1.0_090323 (version 1 software, 23/03/2009)
V2.0_100528 (version 2 software, 28/05/2010)
V3.0_110119 (version 3 software, 19/01/2011)

Only one that sticks out is 508 no timing... not sure when that was released!

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 10:53 AM   #6563
Tech Adept
 
banquer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Granada (Spain)
Posts: 110
Default

Thx's a lot!
Cheers!
__________________
Tamiya 419
Tamiya TRF 101
MuchMore Fleta Pro - Euro - Fleta 10.5-21.5
Sanwa M12 - RX-471
http://www.agaerc.com/
banquer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 11:32 AM   #6564
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 619
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC112b View Post
V3.0_508... Damn I didn't get something right then. Mine still said v1.
I pasted the new files, clicked replace. I then updated the lcd box, then plugged in esc and updated 508. I guess I'll have to try it again.
Can anyone verify that has used the new 508 please? My home track is dominated by Tekins. I would love to put HW on the map here but need a little help getting going.
MC112b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 11:34 AM   #6565
Tech Adept
 
Quantra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayal View Post
hi all, just posting this as ive tried everything i know........ i have a club member that is having trouble with stuttering starts....... if the car is stationary and full throttle is aplied, he gets either a delay or a stuttering start simialar to cogging.if the car is moving its fine. this happens in both 13.5 and 21.5, re flashed the speedo twice, reloaded software to pc twice, many different sensor leads, settings and fdr which we know are correct for our track, good lipos the only thing we hav not yet tried is changing the power cap? any ideas guys?
Hi I'm the club member xrayal is talking about. So first up thank you for investigating my problem here.

I'm pretty certain I have solved this now but it has raised a query which may be a flaw in the software. I was directed here by Funky Dunky so I could make the Hobby Wing programmers aware of what I have found and in the hope they may be able to shed some more light on the matter.

Here is the situation. After reversing and coming to a stop when I apply any throttle there is a delay before the car starts again (approx 500-1000ms). I am assuming that this is a feature to stop me going from reverse to forwards quickly and thrashing the drive train. However, I feel, this could be accounted for in the software by allowing throttle to be applied instantly if there has been no changes detected in the hall effect sensors for a given time interval (long enough to assume the car is stationary or moving at such a slow speed it won't break the drive train).

Is this the normal behaviour or am I still experiencing something erroneous?

If any more information would be of use just say the word.
__________________
Vince Coleman
Quantra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 04:21 PM   #6566
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 21
Default

versions of my software that I listed are:
v1-508-zero-rev
110 119 v3.0-mod-
100 528 v2.0-mod
090205mod v1.10
v1-508-no timing
stock 110211 v3.0
stock 110119 v3.0
stock 110108 v3.0
v1.10-090323rd-m
which of these is the most current modified version
Hobbywing_USB_Link_setup_V1.63_110921.rar This I do not appear

Last edited by oscargonzalez; 10-06-2011 at 05:00 PM.
oscargonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 05:00 PM   #6567
Tech Elite
 
tommi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: MATRIX
Posts: 2,898
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC112b View Post
V3.0_508... Damn I didn't get something right then. Mine still said v1.
I pasted the new files, clicked replace. I then updated the lcd box, then plugged in esc and updated 508. I guess I'll have to try it again.
There's no need to update the LCD box after replacing the new files. Just copy and paste the 2 files in the directory, and connect your ESC to the computer vis the program box as usual to update your FW.
tommi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 05:03 PM   #6568
Tech Elite
 
tommi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: MATRIX
Posts: 2,898
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oscargonzalez View Post
versions of my software that I listed are:
v1-508-zero-rev
110 119 v3.0-mod-
100 528 v2.0-mod
090205mod v1.10
v1-508-no timing
stock 110211 v3.0
stock 110119 v3.0
stock 110108 v3.0
v1.10-090323rd-m
which of these is the most current modified version
The most current one for mod is 119. If you have updated the software with the 2 replacement files, then it would be the 930.
tommi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 05:11 PM   #6569
PDR
Tech Master
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,826
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tommi View Post
There's no need to update the LCD box after replacing the new files. Just copy and paste the 2 files in the directory, and connect your ESC to the computer vis the program box as usual to update your FW.
I can vouch for this - I have updated two ESC's with the V3.508 software. I didn't test mine under race conditions, but a fellow racer who did posted his best lap time ever and was very happy. Was it just the software? Probably not, but the brakes are better.
__________________
Looking for chassis | Multiple Kids
2011 Slowest Winner - 21.5 Muchmore Masters & NSW State Titles Demo Class
https://www.facebook.com/phatdadracing/
Making an A Main at a Scotty Ernst event. Awesome. Scotty calling you first in A1. Priceless
PDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 06:52 PM   #6570
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 619
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

I for the life of me cant get the update to work.
Win7 64bit computer.
I uninstalled everything.
I have a brand new blue Jusstock.

I load v1.62 LCD box software off disc. (I see the see the v1.63 on the web, but it's just a RAR file and doesn't do anything.)
I run as admin to update to v1.63
I copy 2 files from unzipped folder I received in email.
Paste them to c/programx84/hobbywingUSB1.63
Click copy/rplace twice.
relaunch software as admin
v1-508 all I have as options

This is driving me nuts......
MC112b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:50 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net