R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-21-2011, 02:29 AM   #6376
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default 119 or 211

Hi I'm new to Hobbywing just tried an extreme stock, very impressed.

I have 119 on board it seems more than adequate in terms of acceleration and feel.

Other drivers say to use 211. Some mentioned that the Turbo only kicks in when all the boost timing is complete, and full throttle is held for the delay specified, and 119 needs only full throttle + delay to activate.

If so I'd rather stay with 119 for now. If there are other refinements can someone please let me know, I can't seem to find this information on the Hobbywing notes for firmware, and this thread is huge. If someone can direct me to the relevant part part of this thread where this is already discussed please do.

Cheers
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 03:02 AM   #6377
Tech Addict
 
venom54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aspendale
Posts: 577
Default 211 21.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by J SiN View Post
Here is the setting I ended up with today

Motor Speedpassion 21.5 0deg motor timing

2-0%
3-3.2v
4-level 5
5-50%
6-100%
7-0%
8-6%
9-40
10-18
11-enable
12-24
13-4000
14-0.2
15-400

6.3 FDR

but I feel its just a little to hot temp wise but was really fast vs the other tries I have had so far.

what should I try to reduce the heat and reduce a little lag it has coming out a 180 corner heading to the sweeper
Hi J Sin,

You're very close with the settings you have tested. Over the last week end tried a few different motors with very similar settings to what you have above. To drop the temps we went to :

#12 Drop to 20 Degree.
#13 5000 (With this setting keep going up in the value and you will go faster. And to increase the the rate of acceleration go lower on #15. It will be fine line to how much as you increase Boost Start RPM you decease Boost Timing ACC. And in turn as you decease Boost Start RPM you increase Boost timing ACC to get a balance and kill rising temps.)
#14 .2
#15 450 or above

If you are looking at increasing acceleration you will have to increase Boost Timing up from 40 Degree. Drop your turbo timing though. 60 Degree total timing seems to work as good with a 21.5 instead of 64 and keeps temps down.

Having tried three different motors, one of which fried, is a struggle as all motors were different in settings and not one took the same parameters with out some complication. Too slow, no acceleration or lack of speed.

Cheers

Ren
__________________
Play hard but be nice to your parents!
VBC RACING|ASSOCIATED|XRAY|TEAM POWERS|THUNDER TIGER|HOBBYWING|HPI|WTF FANS|ORION AND MORE IN STORE.
145 COMO PARADE EAST 3195 PARKDALE VICTORIA AUSTRALIA.
www.rabhobbies.com.au

Last edited by venom54; 09-21-2011 at 07:04 PM.
venom54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 12:43 PM   #6378
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 987
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Has the fix come out yet for the 508 zero_rev?
__________________
☆ ActivRC ☆
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 05:00 PM   #6379
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
Has the fix come out yet for the 508 zero_rev?
next week .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 07:36 AM   #6380
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AUSTRIA
Posts: 232
Send a message via ICQ to vitomon Send a message via Skype™ to vitomon
Default

hi guys, running the 120A with modified software and a 4.5T motor. anyone got an idea what size/capacity the capacitor of the esc? any good in fitting a larger one for more saftey and maybe breaks? or any other reasons?

cheers for answers
__________________
Yokomo BD7 -- Hobbywing v3 -- Sanwa M11x
May the grip be with you ... always!
vitomon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 03:28 PM   #6381
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: downunder
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Hi guys

no it's not an issue with the esc or the motors the problem lies in the software were we have a very high sensitivity sensing for the sensor port of the esc and because of the very high currents in low turn motors and the turbo functions that give us enormous power as well as high end bell adjustment the signal from the motor to the esc is distorted in some way or the other thus the esc cannot process a clean signal and sending the esc to sensorless mode as it has detected a low signal from the motor because of the high currents so we are in the process of producing a lower sensitivity sensing in the software ill keep you informed .

sorry for the long explanatiion but im sure we all learn from it im also sorry for this issue that has arisen.

Ill keep you informed .

regards Angelo

Is this a generic problem that is more common in certain branded motors?

I have an X12 that does this out of the box, is there anything that helps address this issue: re:119/211/213. Settings?
bjspinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 09:55 PM   #6382
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjspinner View Post
Is this a generic problem that is more common in certain branded motors?

I have an X12 that does this out of the box, is there anything that helps address this issue: re:119/211/213. Settings?
It is Generic

The only way to sort it out is 3 ways only

1.New software to have less sensetivity at the esc sensor port

2.Run less end bell timing thus less current flow through the coils causing less interferance .

3.Run a motor with fixed timing but in saying that mod motors no matter fixed or end bell adjustable timing will still be open to interference because of the large amounts of current running through the winds at high speed.

The best solution is software adjustment of the sensitivity of the sensor port or a short term fix is less timing .

__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 10:05 PM   #6383
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: downunder
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Angelo

Timming is already on the lowest setting on the motor!
bjspinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 02:36 AM   #6384
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjspinner View Post
Is this a generic problem that is more common in certain branded motors?

I have an X12 that does this out of the box, is there anything that helps address this issue: re:119/211/213. Settings?
with the LRP X12 motors I suggest you try the 101224_STOCK Firmware.
If you are not able to get it, send me a PM with your email in, and I will send it to you.

With 2S Lipo, I suggest a starting point of 18-20 Boost (38 is max), and 8-10 Turbo (30 is max), Boost Acc 450-600. Start RPM 6000, and go from there.

You can also try it with 211, but just go to 1/2 of the available turbo and boost.
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 03:14 AM   #6385
Tech Adept
 
millbank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 162
Default

Can anyone help??
Looking for a good set up for 17.5 lrpx12 with 211.
30m x 15m carpet track. Medium technicality.
__________________
Xray T2009 / hobbywing v3 120amp /LRP x12 6.5 / wet car
Xray t4'14 / Hobbywing v3 120amp / 13.5/ boost car
Xray t4'15 / Orca Vxx / Orca Rx3 17.5 / blinky car
TEAM DRIVER FOR MMR FLUX
millbank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 05:33 AM   #6386
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hana166 View Post
Hi I'm new to Hobbywing just tried an extreme stock, very impressed.

I have 119 on board it seems more than adequate in terms of acceleration and feel.

Other drivers say to use 211. Some mentioned that the Turbo only kicks in when all the boost timing is complete, and full throttle is held for the delay specified, and 119 needs only full throttle + delay to activate.

If so I'd rather stay with 119 for now. If there are other refinements can someone please let me know, I can't seem to find this information on the Hobbywing notes for firmware, and this thread is huge. If someone can direct me to the relevant part part of this thread where this is already discussed please do.

Cheers
I wouldn't be too fussed to move on if I were you. I run an Orion system which has the same lack of restrictions but I have played with SP gear too and could get a good performance out of the system without compromise. I ended up with 199 also so I could better tune the system for power vs temp and drivability. I used turbo around 40 with no delay and about 18d/0.1 ramp. Boost at 20 from 10000 rpm with 500 acc. This should be a good starting point and work from there using turbo settings for "bottom end" and boost for "top end".
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 06:21 AM   #6387
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St.Catharines / Ontario
Posts: 18
Default Xerun 120a with a single cell

Hi I just recently received my new esc for my 1/12 scale it is the hobbywing 120a with the 1s. I also just got my 2 in 1 program card. I updated both the card and the esc and now when I turn on the esc I only get the beeps which indicates that there is a voltage problem either to high or to low. How can i stop this and get back into the esc to change some of the settings.


Thanks in Advance
InCaRnAtE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 06:48 AM   #6388
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: downunder
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InCaRnAtE View Post
Hi I just recently received my new esc for my 1/12 scale it is the hobbywing 120a with the 1s. I also just got my 2 in 1 program card. I updated both the card and the esc and now when I turn on the esc I only get the beeps which indicates that there is a voltage problem either to high or to low. How can i stop this and get back into the esc to change some of the settings.


Thanks in Advance
I am sure you need to have 7.2V plus to the speedy to program it and setup the speedy.
bjspinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 08:15 AM   #6389
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjspinner View Post
I am sure you need to have 7.2V plus to the speedy to program it and setup the speedy.
Not with the 1S, you can use a 1S lipo for that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by InCaRnAtE View Post
Hi I just recently received my new esc for my 1/12 scale it is the hobbywing 120a with the 1s. I also just got my 2 in 1 program card. I updated both the card and the esc and now when I turn on the esc I only get the beeps which indicates that there is a voltage problem either to high or to low. How can i stop this and get back into the esc to change some of the settings.
Thanks in Advance
So you where able to do so the first time, with only 1S lipo attached?
Which FW did you flash it to?
I believe the "no-timing" firmware can only work on the 1S, with "lipo protection" switched off. So maybe hook it up to 2S, and change this setting?
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 08:19 AM   #6390
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St.Catharines / Ontario
Posts: 18
Default Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjspinner View Post
I am sure you need to have 7.2V plus to the speedy to program it and setup the speedy.
Thanks for the info, now can I make this work for the 1S now. I hook up a 7.2v and get in to do the programming but when I plug in the 1S it starts to beep again ..this is fully charged also.

Ok looks like I had a wrong program file in there .....all is working perfect now .... bjspinner thanks again for your help... thought i was a goner

Last edited by InCaRnAtE; 09-23-2011 at 08:50 AM.
InCaRnAtE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:17 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net