R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-15-2011, 06:40 AM   #6271
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rome - Italy
Posts: 278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkyDunky View Post
I want one I want one I want one
+1 +1 +1
Fastfreddy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 09:13 AM   #6272
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,252
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Now, we all know Blue is Best... but in terms of colours this is what i was told last weekend about an idea (and note it is only that, not confirmation in anyway shape or form) for the casing.

Basically the stock case would be offered with a carbon bottom and blue/black plastic top, and matching low profile heatsink. If you want different colours, then there would be options for alloy upper cases (a la xtreme stock) and heatsinks in a variety of colours. With a carbon lower case, almost doesn't matter what colour is brought... personally I think it's a great idea to help best match peoples cars and colours.

Red, orange, green, silver... whatever you want
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 09:24 AM   #6273
Tech Elite
 
artwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 3,087
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Now, we all know Blue is Best... but in terms of colours this is what i was told last weekend about an idea (and note it is only that, not confirmation in anyway shape or form) for the casing.

Basically the stock case would be offered with a carbon bottom and blue/black plastic top, and matching low profile heatsink. If you want different colours, then there would be options for alloy upper cases (a la xtreme stock) and heatsinks in a variety of colours. With a carbon lower case, almost doesn't matter what colour is brought... personally I think it's a great idea to help best match peoples cars and colours.

Red, orange, green, silver... whatever you want
Plus you could replace these parts if they were to crack or chip...very good idea!
__________________
Sanwa | R1 Wurks | Avid | 2mm Designs
artwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 11:03 AM   #6274
Tech Elite
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,046
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Hi Guys

I have attached the original photos of one of two prototypes the first proto is being track tested in China as we speak .

It does have it's decals and graphics missing but like i have said in the past the unit is smarter,smaller,new software plus a soft switch with build in led's including a new style heatsink for all axis airflow plus the new programming method that doesn't violate any patents of any brand .

I have no confirmed date of release but im sure it wll be soon as all the work is now complete just need to get into mass production now .

Hobbywing is very serious and committed to bringing its customers the best of the best .Management would like to apologise for the time it has taken but we wanted the new v3 to be the best for our customers .Alot of you might have though why did we do all the work for other oem customers but not our own but to be honest behind the scenes there was alot going on with our design team that no one knew about and that i could not talk about but i always knew the V3 was always destined only for the Hobbywing brand .

thank you for your patients.

regards Angelo
will the price compare to justock or xtremestock?
__________________
Hotbodies USA
SweepRacing USA
SammyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 11:14 AM   #6275
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SammyZ View Post
will the price compare to justock or xtremestock?
No it will not because the v3 is a 120 amp esc and will eventually replace the 2.1 once stock of the2.1 run out.the v3 will be slightly more expensive than the 2.1 120amp but not much.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 11:22 AM   #6276
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,301
Default

One thing i need to make clear there will be no bottom case carbon look.I dont believe in violating international patents .The carbon style square woven look is owned by orion and even though we oem for them and would be allowed to use it i will not be going down that road again like we did with castle creations and the rx port programming method.Hobbywing wants to implement there own ideas and not use existing ideas.
In saying that even though most of you know i am the owner of Pro Amps batteries and we use the hard case that looks like the carbon style it's not as we use diamonds instead of the woven square look and we might consider this for the hobbywing bottom case .

If you guys have any ideas or thoughts on the matter please let me know i am open for discussion on ideas you might have.You guys are the only important people in our business plus our production stuff myself and the other management are no important so please throw your ideas towards us .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China

Last edited by COBRARACING; 09-15-2011 at 02:59 PM.
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:24 PM   #6277
Tech Regular
 
Barry_Hughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ipswich, England
Posts: 425
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by millbank View Post
After reading your reply to this angelo i am very confused....
I thought that the turbo on the 211 software only activated after the boost rpm was achieved and all the boost was used up. eg; if you had 30 steps of boost timing and a 3000 rpm start with acc at 500 the turbo wouldn't cut in until the revs hit 18000 rpm????..
With a data logger in my car i discovered that with a delay on the turbo the car would complete its boost then delay before activating the turbo.
with 211
boost always first - then after all boost timing the turbo is added.

with a delay - the boost is reached then the delay as set - then the turbo is added.

with turbo delay set to off
once the full amount of boost is added there is no delay before the turbo is added.

Makes sense to me
__________________
Built it !
Raced it !
Wrecked it !
Barry_Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:34 PM   #6278
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Suffolk, England
Posts: 184
Default

Love the integrated power switch. I would like an alternative to keep pulling out the plug from the receiver to change the settings though.
Looks great. Look forward to owning one
scoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 02:28 PM   #6279
Tech Adept
 
Groomie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default V3

Angelo
So we are all clear will the new software be backwards compatible to V2.1 speedies
__________________
WSRC open and ready to race
Check us out at
http://www.facebook.com/WesternSydneyRaceCentre
Groomie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 02:45 PM   #6280
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoop View Post
Love the integrated power switch. I would like an alternative to keep pulling out the plug from the receiver to change the settings though.
Looks great. Look forward to owning one
You dont ever need to remove the plug from the receiver again as the new programming method is no longer through the rx port .the front 3 pins you see on the esc is the port for programming and a lead will be supplied so all you do is plug your lcd programmer to the esc via this cable .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 02:48 PM   #6281
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Groomie View Post
Angelo
So we are all clear will the new software be backwards compatible to V2.1 speedies
yes the software will work on the 2.1v and the xtreme stock and the xerun 60 amp hobbywing branded product.This way we dont dissapoint the customers who own the 2.1v esc's .

No matter what im not like other companies who there EGO's come first to me the customer is the most important and we at hobbywing need to cater for all not just for some .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 03:13 PM   #6282
Tech Master
 
Maxxican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ventura, SoCal
Posts: 1,998
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
You dont ever need to remove the plug from the receiver again as the new programming method is no longer through the rx port .the front 3 pins you see on the esc is the port for programming and a lead will be supplied so all you do is plug your lcd programmer to the esc via this cable .

ohh WOW great idea. I have short extentions on all my HW Speedies to avoid the wear on the RX.

im going to have to get me a few of these...
__________________
Carlos F.
RoadRunnersRC.com

RC AMERICA || XRAY || HUDY|| ACTIVRC || HOBBYWING NA || PROTOFORM
Maxxican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 05:10 PM   #6283
Tech Elite
 
tommi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: MATRIX
Posts: 2,898
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Angelo, great job on the V3, looking good!

Would like to know if its feasible for the program box/software to store 2/more different firmwares so as to do away with the need to re-flash the ESC (with the computer) every time we want to change from Stock FW to 0 timing FW?
tommi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 05:27 PM   #6284
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,061
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Looks very good!

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 02:48 AM   #6285
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tommi View Post
Angelo, great job on the V3, looking good!

Would like to know if its feasible for the program box/software to store 2/more different firmwares so as to do away with the need to re-flash the ESC (with the computer) every time we want to change from Stock FW to 0 timing FW?
I am trying to implement 10 modes for the lcd programmer with all the software installed on the lcd this way yes you can do away with the pc and have the pc only when you need to upgrade the lcd usb link firmware and updates of new control firmware.This is my plan
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:51 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net