R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-29-2010, 11:10 PM   #46
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Posts: 45
Send a message via MSN to hobbywing Send a message via Skype™ to hobbywing
Default

Hello, Steliosh

Hobbywing engineers analyze the problem, and we guess the total timing is too big. If the "mechanical timing of the motor + ESC timing" is too big, it may cause problems for Sensored working mode. In such a case, the ESC will automatically change to sensorless working mode, that causes a slow speed.

please try to set a lower timing to ensure that ESC always work properly with sensored mode in the entire running time.

And the LED status can help you to know what happeded:
1) If the ESC changes to sensorless mode, both red LED and green LED will flash
2) If the ESC enters low voltage cutoff mode, only red LED flashes
3)If the ESC enters over-heat protection mode, only green LED flashes

we hope the above information is helpful. Have fun in the weekend!
hobbywing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 11:57 PM   #47
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbywing View Post
Hello, Steliosh

Hobbywing engineers analyze the problem, and we guess the total timing is too big. If the "mechanical timing of the motor + ESC timing" is too big, it may cause problems for Sensored working mode. In such a case, the ESC will automatically change to sensorless working mode, that causes a slow speed.

please try to set a lower timing to ensure that ESC always work properly with sensored mode in the entire running time.

And the LED status can help you to know what happeded:
1) If the ESC changes to sensorless mode, both red LED and green LED will flash
2) If the ESC enters low voltage cutoff mode, only red LED flashes
3)If the ESC enters over-heat protection mode, only green LED flashes

we hope the above information is helpful. Have fun in the weekend!
Thanks for that info.
Makes sense especially with guys trying to max out settings.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 12:39 AM   #48
Tech Adept
 
Nemo racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to Nemo racing
Default

Hi hobbywing

I try downloading the software but every time I try to open it
it will say file corrupt

Can you send me the file or can you post the link to the download site
Thank you
__________________
A800
Scorpion Power System
Nemo racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 12:47 AM   #49
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemo racing View Post
Hi hobbywing

I try downloading the software but every time I try to open it
it will say file corrupt

Can you send me the file or can you post the link to the download site
Thank you
send me an email teamcobraracing@gmail.com
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 12:50 AM   #50
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
Thanks for that info.
Makes sense especially with guys trying to max out settings.
yes the software is a very big improvement but dont think that you can get blood out of a stone it wont happen im sure you know this .settings set to high will cause you problems settings depend on gearing and motor selection
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 12:53 AM   #51
Tech Adept
 
Nemo racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to Nemo racing
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
send me an email teamcobraracing@gmail.com
Thank you e-mail sended
__________________
A800
Scorpion Power System
Nemo racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 02:19 AM   #52
Tech Adept
 
steliosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Penteli, Athens, Greece
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbywing View Post
Hello, Steliosh

Hobbywing engineers analyze the problem, and we guess the total timing is too big. If the "mechanical timing of the motor + ESC timing" is too big, it may cause problems for Sensored working mode. In such a case, the ESC will automatically change to sensorless working mode, that causes a slow speed.

please try to set a lower timing to ensure that ESC always work properly with sensored mode in the entire running time.

And the LED status can help you to know what happeded:
1) If the ESC changes to sensorless mode, both red LED and green LED will flash
2) If the ESC enters low voltage cutoff mode, only red LED flashes
3)If the ESC enters over-heat protection mode, only green LED flashes

we hope the above information is helpful. Have fun in the weekend!
Hello! Thanks a lot for your comments.

I wrote above my settings, which were exactly the starting points you give on the pdf.

Truth is I never thought to check for the leds, to see if they blink... hmmm...
On the other hand, maybe the Nosram has too much advance built in already.

I will do more running today with "softer" settings...
__________________
www.steliosh.net/rcmoto/
www.steliosh.net/rc/

KP-Designs KP10e 1/5 rc bike, Kyosho Lazer ZX-5, HPI Baja SS, Xray T1 FK05, Venom GPV1 1/8 rc bike, Anderson M5 Cross 1/5 rc bike, TT SB-5 1/5 rc bike
steliosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 06:17 AM   #53
Tech Addict
 
eceer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbywing View Post
Hello, Steliosh

Hobbywing engineers analyze the problem, and we guess the total timing is too big. If the "mechanical timing of the motor + ESC timing" is too big, it may cause problems for Sensored working mode. In such a case, the ESC will automatically change to sensorless working mode, that causes a slow speed.

please try to set a lower timing to ensure that ESC always work properly with sensored mode in the entire running time.

And the LED status can help you to know what happeded:
1) If the ESC changes to sensorless mode, both red LED and green LED will flash
2) If the ESC enters low voltage cutoff mode, only red LED flashes
3)If the ESC enters over-heat protection mode, only green LED flashes

we hope the above information is helpful. Have fun in the weekend!
Thanks for this bit of advice. I lowered the timing and appears to have done the trick. Lets see how it goes on the track on Sunday
__________________
☞ Adelaide RC Team driver ☜
☞ Switchmedia ☜
☞ They're not toy cars, they are fine examples of engineering. When driven correctly are a joy to behold. ☜
eceer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 08:15 AM   #54
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 127
Default

Question regarding the new software...

a bunch of us in the Ohio area have experimented with the HW 1/18th scale ESC's - the:
EzRun-18A-SL Brushless ESC for 1/18 Car (Version 2) and
EZRUN-25A-L Brushless ESC for 1/18 Car (Version 2)

using 4 cell 4.8v and a 4200Kv motor. The ESC is great but both the Tekin Mini Rage and the Castle Micro Pro can push the timing past the 26.5 limitation of the HW. Will this software update affect the 1/18th ESC in sensor-less mode? Will the HW match the speed and performance of the Tekin and Castle 1/18th scale ESC's?

Thank you
Micro_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 03:32 PM   #55
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 51
Default

I tested the new Beta today,

I switched back to 10.5 for a few runs before going back to Mod for the BRCA Nationals.

It is a HUGE Improvement!!! And now puts the ESC on a Par with the other fast makes.

Temperatures were very good aswell at around 80 degrees C

Well done guys

Stef - SP Uk
Stefan-Hpi Uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 11:03 PM   #56
Tech Fanatic
 
snowman_evil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Gold Coast, Queenland
Posts: 919
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to snowman_evil
Default

What settings can you change with the LCD programming card? Is it just basics or can you change advanced settings such as timing, drag brake, etc...?

Thanks
__________________
DEX410V3 - Tekin - Spektrum - Panther
GCRC Raceway - "Lightning"
snowman_evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 11:50 PM   #57
Tech Regular
 
RL.2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowman_evil View Post
What settings can you change with the LCD programming card? Is it just basics or can you change advanced settings such as timing, drag brake, etc...?

Thanks
The lcd program card can do both of the change which is the basic n advance setting
__________________
the passion of the slide when taking the corner....
http://www.penabai-rcdrifter.blogspot.com/
Kyosho TF-5 drift spec powered by Ezrun 35A + 9t
Tamiya TRF-416X, Tamiya TRF-417
Hobbywing Xerun 120A, Xerun 3.5t, Team Orion 11.5t, Xerun 5.5t
RL.2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 11:58 PM   #58
Tech Master
 
ali_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,151
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

can i use the 2in1 Programme box to set the turbo setting?
__________________
☆ JU.C RACING ☆
https://www.facebook.com/Ju.Cracing
ali_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 02:05 AM   #59
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ali_g View Post
can i use the 2in1 Programme box to set the turbo setting?
Yes, after the upgrade is possible
__________________
Team GMV / RC electric AS Laurenziana
Hot Bodies TCXX - HW Xerun - IP - Spec-R
AGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 11:35 AM   #60
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Posts: 417
Send a message via MSN to Bigger Brother
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan-Hpi Uk View Post
I tested the new Beta today,

I switched back to 10.5 for a few runs before going back to Mod for the BRCA Nationals.

It is a HUGE Improvement!!! And now puts the ESC on a Par with the other fast makes.

Temperatures were very good aswell at around 80 degrees C

Well done guys

Stef - SP Uk
Stef - what settings were you using (with 10.5)? I'm off to Brooklands next week for STCC (eek!) in 13.5 so would be really handy to have some sort of useful starting point. Any info you can give would be really handy.

Many thanks
Oli
__________________
Oli Meggitt | London, UK
.:. Essex Winter Series .:. CML Racing .:. ToniSport .:. Zen Racing .:. Moorespeed RC .:. OTM Racing .:. RC Racing TV .:. RIDE R/C Scoreboards
Bigger Brother is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0