R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2011, 10:37 AM   #5446
Tech Adept
 
Tekinpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 167
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hi ... can show me how to calculate the speed of the car from esc settings. i'm using the 119s Software hobywing....thanks
Tekinpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 01:33 PM   #5447
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

I really hope that most of the posts about rpm and loggers and how to work out rpms and such are not coming from anyone who designs and engineers any product I use - it would be concerning!!

You can do all these calculations, but they are useless for any meaningful comparison. In order for any of this to help you do anything meaningful, your data has to include corner exit speeds, drag, cell condition and throttle position. Without that, motor speed is irrelevant. We are not trying to get the most out of the motor, we are trying to get the most out of the car. If winning was about getting the most out of the motor, the best software would win. LAst time I looked, the best driver's won.

I regularly manage to pass other competitors on the straight with a slower car because my entry speed and line to the last corner are better than theirs, and I get a better terminal speed. Knowing the motor speed has nothing to do with that, having a better chassis has everything to do with it. And that's before we add in drag (for each extra mph required, you require double the power needed to get the last mph) and cell performance and throttle position and tyre condition and...

Get real guys. All these things are a compromise to each other in order that the car gets around the lap in the fastest possible time. If you don't understand how the triangle of ratio, boost and turbo work, start there. If ever Hobbywing decide to give you all this paraphernalia, can they please have an option to not have it, so I can get my stuff cheaper, and use it to pay for more practice time at the track to improve my driving?
SlowerOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:59 PM   #5448
Tech Fanatic
 
ozzy-crawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Forde A.C.T
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

the guy doing the firmware said it could be done but has not because he knows its worthless.
there is only one guy wanting the rpm logger,anyone else that mentions it is just having a little fun at his expense.
__________________
MST XXXD vip
MST FS-01d
Xray T4
Xray T3
AE Sc10.2 AE SCB
ozzy-crawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 10:37 PM   #5449
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
I really hope that most of the posts about rpm and loggers and how to work out rpms and such are not coming from anyone who designs and engineers any product I use - it would be concerning!!

You can do all these calculations, but they are useless for any meaningful comparison. In order for any of this to help you do anything meaningful, your data has to include corner exit speeds, drag, cell condition and throttle position. Without that, motor speed is irrelevant. We are not trying to get the most out of the motor, we are trying to get the most out of the car. If winning was about getting the most out of the motor, the best software would win. LAst time I looked, the best driver's won.

I regularly manage to pass other competitors on the straight with a slower car because my entry speed and line to the last corner are better than theirs, and I get a better terminal speed. Knowing the motor speed has nothing to do with that, having a better chassis has everything to do with it. And that's before we add in drag (for each extra mph required, you require double the power needed to get the last mph) and cell performance and throttle position and tyre condition and...

Get real guys. All these things are a compromise to each other in order that the car gets around the lap in the fastest possible time. If you don't understand how the triangle of ratio, boost and turbo work, start there. If ever Hobbywing decide to give you all this paraphernalia, can they please have an option to not have it, so I can get my stuff cheaper, and use it to pay for more practice time at the track to improve my driving?
Thank you for your post and i agree it takes more than just rpm of a motor it is setup of car ,tyres,track length,batteries and much much more I know irgo wants an rpm log within the esc but dont you think michael would have implemented it a long time ago if it was needed and worth the time .Rpm log is easy to design the software but there are other factors concerning michael like flash memory to store all this data the you get into multi level flash which is more expensive once again which sometimes is easily deleted from strong electric fields and heat do we really need this headache ?

Then it will be michaels fault for implementing the rpm log and temp log and so on and when the info all of sudden is lost then it's our fault and thats the reason why michael will not implemented it, the rpm log is easy to design but a headache to maintain.you get memory upsets and more .please someone correct me if im wrong i have studied alot of this but it has been a long time since ive opened a book .

When michael doesn't implement a feature in his software there must be a reason .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 01:39 AM   #5450
Tech Master
 
ShadowAu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere you'd never heard of
Posts: 1,494
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Thank you for your post and i agree it takes more than just rpm of a motor it is setup of car ,tyres,track length,batteries and much much more I know irgo wants an rpm log within the esc but dont you think michael would have implemented it a long time ago if it was needed and worth the time .Rpm log is easy to design the software but there are other factors concerning michael like flash memory to store all this data the you get into multi level flash which is more expensive once again which sometimes is easily deleted from strong electric fields and heat do we really need this headache ?

Then it will be michaels fault for implementing the rpm log and temp log and so on and when the info all of sudden is lost then it's our fault and thats the reason why michael will not implemented it, the rpm log is easy to design but a headache to maintain.you get memory upsets and more .please someone correct me if im wrong i have studied alot of this but it has been a long time since ive opened a book .

When michael doesn't implement a feature in his software there must be a reason .
Its been a while for me too but its sounds like things like processor speed, flash memory and then interference are all factors... obviously there is not enough on board memory to doing anything practical and with the sort of frequencies and information that needs to be dealt with controlling the motor there just wouldn't be "time" to do rpm logging as well

On a different question I have a 60A that I think my cat has "modified" by knocking it off the shelf where it was stored... it still takes software and all the setting can be changed etc but it doesn't drive the motor... resetting it to the radio etc makes no difference... as its long out of warranty I pulled it apart but can't see any obvious damage anywhere.... any ideas?

and now the really stupid question... I have an SP 1.1... could i take the controlled board from the 60A and mix it with the FET board of the SP 1.1 if that turns out to be the issue?
__________________
My car may look like it goes bad to you, but its actually far worse that you think it is...

I have only one more RC thing on my bucket list and I will keep racing (and probably coming last) till its done.
ShadowAu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 07:23 AM   #5451
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

fine, next is why i cannot import settings? instead export settings only???
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 07:48 AM   #5452
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
fine, next is why i cannot import settings? instead export settings only???
I think putting them on paper, and "importing" them by entering the values with the lcd box is a lot faster then hooking it up on a laptop...

Don't forget, you can save 3 different settings in the ESC itself!
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 12:37 PM   #5453
Tech Regular
 
Craig W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: stoke on trent
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Craig W Send a message via Skype™ to Craig W
Default

Hi guys

Dont know if I put this in right part of forum but I was wondering if you could help looking for setting for xtreme stock with x12 13.5t running on tight 20x30mtr carpet track and fdr plz
Craig W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 01:04 PM   #5454
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 26
Default

Yo, got an EZRUN. Keeps cutting out after 5mins.
Running 4600mah ni-mh batteries.
Only setting I don't understand is:
8) neutral range
9) timing
10) over heat protection is on
thanks

PS. 60a version 2 speed controller and 5.5t motor.
Ian78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 03:08 PM   #5455
Tech Addict
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian78 View Post
Yo, got an EZRUN. Keeps cutting out after 5mins.
Running 4600mah ni-mh batteries.
Only setting I don't understand is:
8) neutral range
9) timing
10) over heat protection is on
thanks

PS. 60a version 2 speed controller and 5.5t motor.
eZRUN brushless system
__________________
China Lipos
China Speedos
China Chargers

You aint messin wit my dougie..
JKL1031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 03:44 PM   #5456
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian78 View Post
Yo, got an EZRUN. Keeps cutting out after 5mins.
Running 4600mah ni-mh batteries.
Only setting I don't understand is:
8) neutral range
9) timing
10) over heat protection is on
thanks

PS. 60a version 2 speed controller and 5.5t motor.
seems like a voltage cut off even though its only for lipo but five minutes sounds correct for the voltage to drop very quickly on your nimh battery especially running a 5.5T motor
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 12:09 AM   #5457
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Suffolk, England
Posts: 184
Default

What gearing are you running. Is the motor and or the esc really hot? Could be thermaling out.
scoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 03:19 AM   #5458
Tech Champion
 
smilekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,536
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

any new software will come out sooner?
__________________
Kuala Terengganu Rc Club Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?v=wall&gid=357083332025
smilekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 03:25 AM   #5459
Tech Regular
 
Craig W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: stoke on trent
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Craig W Send a message via Skype™ to Craig W
Default

hobbywing uk says 310 out but link not working
Craig W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 03:26 AM   #5460
Tech Regular
 
Craig W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: stoke on trent
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Craig W Send a message via Skype™ to Craig W
Default

Hobbywing Software V 1.63 (110310) (310) ------> http://www.hobbywing.....63_110310.rar
Craig W is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:56 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net