R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2011, 03:13 AM   #5281
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,335
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I reckon put your motor timing back on 0 first, I assume -3.5 ticks is from the center?
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 09:48 AM   #5282
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Boost Ramp

Have a FW suggestion for the Boost Ramp. I normally run 100RPM/Step, but I would like to see 75 RPM/step, and 125RPM/Step added to a future version.



Cheers,
Shawn.
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 09:52 AM   #5283
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

Does Hobbywing sell a brushless motor that is around 48mm in length or less? I want to use it in an old corally pancar but the room is not enough to fit a normal size brushless motor. Sensorless is ok as well, as long as it is 48mm or less in length.
__________________
www.rc-lemans.de
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 11:15 AM   #5284
Tech Addict
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
I reckon put your motor timing back on 0 first, I assume -3.5 ticks is from the center?
Yes yes.
__________________
China Lipos
China Speedos
China Chargers

You aint messin wit my dougie..
JKL1031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 03:40 PM   #5285
njt
Tech Apprentice
 
njt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Heath Hayes
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
Does Hobbywing sell a brushless motor that is around 48mm in length or less? I want to use it in an old corally pancar but the room is not enough to fit a normal size brushless motor. Sensorless is ok as well, as long as it is 48mm or less in length.
Team Powers make a superlite motor and is 6mm shorter overall with the same diameter, 10.5 and 13.5 winds

Team Powers UK sell the motors
njt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 05:52 PM   #5286
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 91
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamWTF View Post
Wow... Thats a pretty decent temp layout!

I usually keep my ESC setup pretty similar and adjust FDR

Start - 4000
Boost - 40
Turbo - 25
Timing acc - 300rpm/deg (Starting point... Lower i needed and if temps allow)
Turbo Slope - 6/0.1 (starting point - Very safe... Increase if temps allow!)
Delay - 0.2

FDR will be the key... Depending on motor probably around 5.5 - 6.0

When do you run there? And how often? I'm interested!
hey Mate,

thanks alot for these setting once it turns dry again i will try these out and see how they go.

We run @ Penrith Every Monday night along as its not raining or some Public Holidays. we run atm Mini and 17.5 we can always run another class as long as we get enough entries. if you want more information let me know via PM.
__________________
Schumacher Mi4 & Mi3.5.
Hobbywing Stock Xtreme
17.5 Trinity Duo Version 1.
steve_windsor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:06 PM   #5287
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cambridge, Ontario Canada
Posts: 82
Default

I have an XRAY T3'11 I am running outdoors on a medium sized track. 150ft straight, running a Trinity Duo3 17.5

I need some help with the settings, what do you guys recommend?

Thanks
Grant
__________________
XRAY T3'12 17.5, Spec R R1 13.5, CRC GenXL, Grant Galloway Designs ( Painter )
lifeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 11:59 PM   #5288
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by njt View Post
Team Powers make a superlite motor and is 6mm shorter overall with the same diameter, 10.5 and 13.5 winds

Team Powers UK sell the motors
Thanks, i read that they made a shorter motor but thought i asked here as well. I don't know what a shorter rotor does performance wise but it seems it is the only motor that will fit without dremeling the pod.
__________________
www.rc-lemans.de
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 03:01 AM   #5289
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 41
Default

Hi

I have been using my HW Xtreme stock for a couple of weeks now and its been awesome !

I had a issue with it at the weekend though that cost me a couple of heats and wondered if anyone had the same issues or knows of a cure ?

I turned the speedo on as normal for my heat put it down and ran it for 20yds to the line. When i set of the car was really really slow as if there was either no timing on the speedo or it had dropped into sensorless mode.
Both times this happened i had my pitman turn the speedo off then on and everything was fine again ?

It is not just me having these issues as a fellow HW runner was having the same issues !

Anyone got a cure ( i know i could just turn the car off and on again) or having the same issues ?

Mark
tc3nitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 03:49 AM   #5290
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,335
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3nitro View Post
Hi

I have been using my HW Xtreme stock for a couple of weeks now and its been awesome !

I had a issue with it at the weekend though that cost me a couple of heats and wondered if anyone had the same issues or knows of a cure ?

I turned the speedo on as normal for my heat put it down and ran it for 20yds to the line. When i set of the car was really really slow as if there was either no timing on the speedo or it had dropped into sensorless mode.
Both times this happened i had my pitman turn the speedo off then on and everything was fine again ?

It is not just me having these issues as a fellow HW runner was having the same issues !

Anyone got a cure ( i know i could just turn the car off and on again) or having the same issues ?

Mark
That happened to me and I swapped out the motor sensor and it was fine after that.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 04:02 AM   #5291
Tech Addict
 
kermit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 505
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lifeguy View Post
I have an XRAY T3'11 I am running outdoors on a medium sized track. 150ft straight, running a Trinity Duo3 17.5

I need some help with the settings, what do you guys recommend?

Thanks
Grant
Here is a good starting point....

17.5 duo 3 standard timing
ddrs 5
boost timing 40
turbo slope 18
turbo timing 25
start rpm 4000
turbo delay 0.1s
timing acc 300

fdr 5.7-5.9
hobby wing 211 stock software

Make sure you temp it after 2-3mins and make sure it doesn't get too hot.
__________________
Adelaide RC Team Driver - www.adelaiderc.com.au
XRAY T4 | Futaba | HOBBYWING | Muchmore
kermit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 04:46 AM   #5292
Tech Adept
 
FunkyDunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
That happened to me and I swapped out the motor sensor and it was fine after that.
I agree with swapping the sensor lead first for sure my I had the same fault and it turned out to be the sensor in the motor I was using, changed that worked perfect!
FunkyDunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 06:09 AM   #5293
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn68z View Post
Have a FW suggestion for the Boost Ramp. I normally run 100RPM/Step, but I would like to see 75 RPM/step, and 125RPM/Step added to a future version.



Cheers,
Shawn.
nice idea shawn...
zamrioo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 06:15 AM   #5294
Tech Elite
 
barts71m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Somewhere Pretty Awesome
Posts: 2,570
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3nitro View Post
Hi

I have been using my HW Xtreme stock for a couple of weeks now and its been awesome !

I had a issue with it at the weekend though that cost me a couple of heats and wondered if anyone had the same issues or knows of a cure ?

I turned the speedo on as normal for my heat put it down and ran it for 20yds to the line. When i set of the car was really really slow as if there was either no timing on the speedo or it had dropped into sensorless mode.
Both times this happened i had my pitman turn the speedo off then on and everything was fine again ?

It is not just me having these issues as a fellow HW runner was having the same issues !

Anyone got a cure ( i know i could just turn the car off and on again) or having the same issues ?

Mark
Had exact same issue a week or two back, switched sensor lead and all sweet again. Had a pretty good side on hit the previous race.
barts71m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 06:31 AM   #5295
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3nitro View Post
Hi

I have been using my HW Xtreme stock for a couple of weeks now and its been awesome !

I had a issue with it at the weekend though that cost me a couple of heats and wondered if anyone had the same issues or knows of a cure ?

I turned the speedo on as normal for my heat put it down and ran it for 20yds to the line. When i set of the car was really really slow as if there was either no timing on the speedo or it had dropped into sensorless mode.
Both times this happened i had my pitman turn the speedo off then on and everything was fine again ?

It is not just me having these issues as a fellow HW runner was having the same issues !

Anyone got a cure ( i know i could just turn the car off and on again) or having the same issues ?

Mark
Either sensor cable,sensor connector on motor/esc or the sensor board on the motor.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:57 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0