R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-12-2011, 10:51 AM   #5266
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VooDooPH View Post
haven't run 1/12 since posting this...

anyway, was bench testing my car this evening after installing higher turn motor (7.5T SP Comp2). so i put on a 1S pack, turned the radio and the esc on and pulled the throttle... the car would rev but i wouldn't get that sudden high-pitched rev indicating the boost wasnt kicking in. looked at the esc and noticed the green blinking led again. when i 1st turn on the esc, no lights. pull the throttle, even just a fraction to roll the motor and the blinking green led lights up when i let go.

esc fried?
Reflah with 205G, then reflash again with whatever software you want to use. Check that the sensor lead is pushed right in and has no breaks in it, then check for the LiPo cutoff, try turning it off.

Thats what I do can generally come up with where the fault lies.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 10:55 AM   #5267
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,335
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VooDooPH View Post
haven't run 1/12 since posting this...

anyway, was bench testing my car this evening after installing higher turn motor (7.5T SP Comp2). so i put on a 1S pack, turned the radio and the esc on and pulled the throttle... the car would rev but i wouldn't get that sudden high-pitched rev indicating the boost wasnt kicking in. looked at the esc and noticed the green blinking led again. when i 1st turn on the esc, no lights. pull the throttle, even just a fraction to roll the motor and the blinking green led lights up when i let go.

esc fried?
Turn off the lipo cut and try again.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 11:10 AM   #5268
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,714
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
Reflah with 205G, then reflash again with whatever software you want to use. Check that the sensor lead is pushed right in and has no breaks in it, then check for the LiPo cutoff, try turning it off.

Thats what I do can generally come up with where the fault lies.

found it... turned out to be a busted sensor wire (which was, ironically, new... :|).

Thanks a bunch for the help, bud!
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 01:24 PM   #5269
Tech Adept
 
millbank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 162
Default

Super stuart saves the day again:-)
__________________
Xray T2009 / hobbywing v3 120amp /LRP x12 6.5 / wet car
Xray t4'14 / Hobbywing v3 120amp / 13.5/ boost car
Xray t4'15 / Orca Vxx / Orca Rx3 17.5 / blinky car
TEAM DRIVER FOR MMR FLUX
millbank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 01:34 PM   #5270
Tech Addict
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Im using a v2.o xerun 120A speedie, 211 STOCK software and duo 3 motor, -3.5 timing on the can

FDR 6.8
DRRS: 8
Boost timing: 35
Turbo sope: 24
Turbo timing: 35
Start RPM: 1000
Turbo Delay: .2 sec
Timing ACC: 150

I need the car to be quicker on the bottom end. turbo seems to still come in late ont he str8. start RPM seems to have little effect.

I also cant find a description of timing ACC in the manual.
__________________
China Lipos
China Speedos
China Chargers

You aint messin wit my dougie..

Last edited by JKL1031; 06-12-2011 at 01:52 PM.
JKL1031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 03:04 PM   #5271
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKL1031 View Post
Im using a v2.o xerun 120A speedie, 211 STOCK software and duo 3 motor, -3.5 timing on the can

FDR 6.8
DRRS: 8
Boost timing: 35
Turbo sope: 24
Turbo timing: 35
Start RPM: 1000
Turbo Delay: .2 sec
Timing ACC: 150

I need the car to be quicker on the bottom end. turbo seems to still come in late ont he str8. start RPM seems to have little effect.

I also cant find a description of timing ACC in the manual.
boost timing: 45
turbo timing: 19
turbo delay : 0.5
timing acc: 50

then you get a quicker car
maximnaegels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 08:18 PM   #5272
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,173
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKL1031 View Post
Im using a v2.o xerun 120A speedie, 211 STOCK software and duo 3 motor, -3.5 timing on the can

FDR 6.8
DRRS: 8
Boost timing: 35
Turbo sope: 24
Turbo timing: 35
Start RPM: 1000
Turbo Delay: .2 sec
Timing ACC: 150

I need the car to be quicker on the bottom end. turbo seems to still come in late ont he str8. start RPM seems to have little effect.

You've not mentioned what motor, so I assume it's a 17.5, on 2s?

I also cant find a description of timing ACC in the manual.
You've not mentioned what motor, so I assume it's a 17.5, on 2s?

Agree with the above on the bottom end, try a shorter acceleration value, 100 or 50. Personally I would also look to raise the start RPM regardless, as at 1000 it's doing piss all (Trust me when I say a motor will never spin at 1000rpm on track, always much higher!). 4000+ at least to get it working properly, and that would then bring back some bottom end.

The ACC value relates to how quickly the boost timing only comes in.
A smaller value means faster. What it relates to is the number of RPM increase needed for each degree to be added.
So 150 means that 1 of boost timing is added for every extra 150rpm on the motor. By simple calculation, combined with the start rpm and overall boost setting, gives you the RPM range. For example, with your above settings;
Start RPM is 1000rpm, so for 35 of boost, at an acceleration of 150rpm/ gives;

End RPM = Start RPM + (Boost timing x Boost ACC)
6,250 = 1000 + (35 x 150)

With 211, more less turbo and more boost seems a good way to go, as the turbo engages differently to the 119. Putting it simply having more boost, with a shorter acceleration will also aid the turbo kicking in quicker as a result (I explained the main differences between 211 and 119 earlier in the thread).

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 08:34 PM   #5273
Tech Addict
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

yes its 17.5 2S, thought I had it all well typed out. Thanks alot both of you.
__________________
China Lipos
China Speedos
China Chargers

You aint messin wit my dougie..
JKL1031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 10:11 PM   #5274
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 91
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Update

Hey gents,

Only new at tryingto update the software in the stock extreme and wondering if one of u would be able to give me a step by step on how to do it cause I'm completely lost and the instructions with the speedy didn't help me at all.. I know this many seem like amstuipd request cause frankly I think it is too... But any helP would be great...
__________________
Schumacher Mi4 & Mi3.5.
Hobbywing Stock Xtreme
17.5 Trinity Duo Version 1.
steve_windsor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 11:25 PM   #5275
Tech Fanatic
 
ozzy-crawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Forde A.C.T
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

check out cherry2blosts thread on hobbywing settings,it has a couple videos
very helpful.(see link)
just remember you need to make yourself administrator before it will allow you to down load the new fw

Hobbywing ESC Settings ONLY
__________________
MST XXXD vip
MST FS-01d
Xray T4
Xray T3
AE Sc10.2 AE SCB
ozzy-crawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 01:39 AM   #5276
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 91
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy-crawl View Post
check out cherry2blosts thread on hobbywing settings,it has a couple videos
very helpful.(see link)
just remember you need to make yourself administrator before it will allow you to down load the new fw

Hobbywing ESC Settings ONLY
Thanks for that mate can in handy...

I'm running a 17.5 in aus on a longish track and just wanted to see if anyone has any suggestions on set up for settings in the esc
__________________
Schumacher Mi4 & Mi3.5.
Hobbywing Stock Xtreme
17.5 Trinity Duo Version 1.
steve_windsor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 01:40 AM   #5277
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve_windsor View Post
Thanks for that mate can in handy...

I'm running a 17.5 in aus on a longish track and just wanted to see if anyone has any suggestions on set up for settings in the esc
Which track?
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 01:54 AM   #5278
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 91
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamWTF View Post
Which track?
Hey mate penrith...
__________________
Schumacher Mi4 & Mi3.5.
Hobbywing Stock Xtreme
17.5 Trinity Duo Version 1.
steve_windsor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 02:17 AM   #5279
Tech Elite
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,354
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Phil,

The track spans three netball courts and has a mixture of tight corners with a long back straight. Pictures of the track is at this link:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/9123273-post938.html

Regards,

Calvin.

Last edited by caltek1; 06-13-2011 at 02:19 AM. Reason: better link
caltek1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 02:55 AM   #5280
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Wow... Thats a pretty decent temp layout!

I usually keep my ESC setup pretty similar and adjust FDR

Start - 4000
Boost - 40
Turbo - 25
Timing acc - 300rpm/deg (Starting point... Lower i needed and if temps allow)
Turbo Slope - 6/0.1 (starting point - Very safe... Increase if temps allow!)
Delay - 0.2

FDR will be the key... Depending on motor probably around 5.5 - 6.0

When do you run there? And how often? I'm interested!
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:41 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0