R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-07-2011, 04:28 AM   #5221
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishop View Post
HW is somewhere in the middle maybe I guess, but me I'd still wet myself to get a GM, it's the computer geek in me, bring on the laptops and multi pages of settings madness, love it all...
I also think setting wise HW is somewhere in the middle.
Performance wise they are up front. (what did you expect to hear in this thread. )

I'm glad I don't have a GM, because I'm also a geek when it comes in changing these settings.....

Thank god Electric cars is not my main thing, I drive 8th scale, a little less settings to play with, but more "raw" power under your finger.....
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 04:48 AM   #5222
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

if you want raw power strap a 6 turn delta in the car. Instant torque from 0 revs to topspeed
__________________
www.rc-lemans.de
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 05:25 AM   #5223
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

I mean raw power and a car that can handle it......
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 07:03 AM   #5224
Tech Champion
 
smilekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,536
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

if we use 0 timing boost. & turbo 20 0r 40 degree.

Is it turbo timing still can engage if boost timing (in 0 degree)?
__________________
Kuala Terengganu Rc Club Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?v=wall&gid=357083332025
smilekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 07:30 AM   #5225
Tech Fanatic
 
ozzy-crawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Forde A.C.T
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

i was under they impression there was 64 steps/deg that could be added.
boost can use all 64,but turbo has a limit of 24.
can not see why turbo would not work with no boost,but it would not need to get to a set rpm before being activated,only full throttle,after set delay.
not sure if that would be a good thing as it could dump a lot of timing in very early in the rev range
__________________
MST XXXD vip
MST FS-01d
Xray T4
Xray T3
AE Sc10.2 AE SCB
ozzy-crawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 08:00 AM   #5226
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy-crawl View Post
i was under they impression there was 64 steps/deg that could be added.
boost can use all 64,but turbo has a limit of 24.
can not see why turbo would not work with no boost,but it would not need to get to a set rpm before being activated,only full throttle,after set delay.
not sure if that would be a good thing as it could dump a lot of timing in very early in the rev range
combination limit is 64
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 08:13 AM   #5227
Tech Fanatic
 
ozzy-crawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Forde A.C.T
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

realise combined combination limit is 64,but if no turbo is used then boost can use all 64.
but turbo has a max of 24.
this was what i thought had been posted earlier by cobraracing,but i could have it mixed up,or it could be old firmware that it applies to
__________________
MST XXXD vip
MST FS-01d
Xray T4
Xray T3
AE Sc10.2 AE SCB
ozzy-crawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 12:24 PM   #5228
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 399
Default problems

I have 2 new Escs, loaded the software ver 119 on box and 211 stock in to escs.

When it comes to adjustments, plug in the box and off you go, other esc when plugged in only gives a blue screen on the box ,its as if the box cant recognise the esc.
I can get round it and all seems to work fine when box is connected to Pc set up is normal.But when Pc is disconnected box wont set up esc.
Any idead, tried flashing software again but no joy.
__________________
MB Models Leeds,RC4LESS,Troy McKune
V-DEZIGN CR5 ,LRP SXX, CRC cells,
tellan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 05:24 PM   #5229
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy-crawl View Post
realise combined combination limit is 64,but if no turbo is used then boost can use all 64.
but turbo has a max of 24.
this was what i thought had been posted earlier by cobraracing,but i could have it mixed up,or it could be old firmware that it applies to
Depends on the FW you are running.

FW 1224 has a Boost limit of 30, Turbo 16 (Degrees)
FW 0119 has a boost limit of 60, turbo 40 (steps)
FW 0211 has a boost limit of 64, turbo 40 (steps)


Shawn
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 05:29 PM   #5230
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smilekt View Post
if we use 0 timing boost. & turbo 20 0r 40 degree.

Is it turbo timing still can engage if boost timing (in 0 degree)?

On a reach, I would have to say yes. On FW 211 if full boost is applied (zero in this case), and the turbo delay has been meet it _should_ give you your turbo. The only way knowing for sure is to try it.

My question for you is why? Your car will be slow on the infield, so you will be driving around at full throttle alot, putting in a ton of timing, which is just going to make your motor hot.

You are much better off appling the boost to the motor in the infield. You will see a huge performance gain. Also, remember most tracks are 80% infield, and only 20% straight away.

Shawn.
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 09:47 PM   #5231
GFT
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 130
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default High pitch sound during braking

Hi, Can anyone explain why my HW 120A 2.1 make a high pitch humming or pinging sound during braking. I have been using this ESC for about 5 months and of later, one month earlier, it start to give out this sound during braking.

Strangely, my friend HW esc start to exhibit the same symptoms too after using it for about 3 months.

Both esc have NOT been reverse polarity before, we have change the capacitors too.

I am running Tekin Redline 10.5

Software verstion Stock 211
DDRS 3
Boost 33
Turbo slope 18
Turbo 18
start rpm 6000
ACC 450

Regards

sc
GFT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 09:56 PM   #5232
Tech Champion
 
smilekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,536
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn68z View Post
On a reach, I would have to say yes. On FW 211 if full boost is applied (zero in this case), and the turbo delay has been meet it _should_ give you your turbo. The only way knowing for sure is to try it.

My question for you is why? Your car will be slow on the infield, so you will be driving around at full throttle alot, putting in a ton of timing, which is just going to make your motor hot.

You are much better off appling the boost to the motor in the infield. You will see a huge performance gain. Also, remember most tracks are 80% infield, and only 20% straight away.

Shawn.

than shawn for advice ..
__________________
Kuala Terengganu Rc Club Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?v=wall&gid=357083332025
smilekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 02:28 AM   #5233
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GFT View Post
Hi, Can anyone explain why my HW 120A 2.1 make a high pitch humming or pinging sound during braking. I have been using this ESC for about 5 months and of later, one month earlier, it start to give out this sound during braking.

Strangely, my friend HW esc start to exhibit the same symptoms too after using it for about 3 months.

Both esc have NOT been reverse polarity before, we have change the capacitors too.

I am running Tekin Redline 10.5

Software verstion Stock 211
DDRS 3
Boost 33
Turbo slope 18
Turbo 18
start rpm 6000
ACC 450

Regards

sc
That is a high frequency noise that is caused by your motor not your esc .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 06:11 AM   #5234
Tech Adept
 
steliosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Penteli, Athens, Greece
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steliosh View Post
We have not yet got any reply, official or otherwise, on why the Xtreme stock has such a lack of brakes, compared with the Xerun 60A especially, and the 120A...
All settings being the same on both radio and ESC, and with the same motor, the Xerun 60A has so much braking that I had to reduce radio ATV to 45%. The Xtreme stock can hardly match that braking power, when the radio ATV is at 100%.
I have tried three different motors, all 17.5T, on both ESC's. Same results...
I discussed these symptoms with a good friend at my LHS (he is my rc bike fairing painter and also frequent TQ, winner and last year's Greek Champ in 2wd and 4wd 1/10 electric buggies!). So, he suggested I run shorter gearing. I also got input from Thunder Tiger Team Europe on FDR, so I raised from 6.1/1 to 6.8/1 at first and then 7.5/1

Two good things happened, especially with the latter gearing 7.5:1: Motor temps dropped dramatically -to 70-75C- and my lap times also dropped from 45 to 39-40 consistently!
OK, I said two, right? There's another good side-efect: I got LOTS of brakes! No changes on the radio or the ESC, but suddenly, with the shorter FDR (7.5) I had to lower ATL at 80%!!!! My brakes are back, strong and healthy!
I am going to try also gearing to 8.0-8.2:1, as suggested by the TTE...
Just ran out of time today!!!
And ambient temps were 30-32C all day...

Yep, practising goes better than expected! The SB-5 is driving itself around the track, I just... watch it go round, doing perfect laps, 10-minute session after 10-minute session!!!!
Lostallo, I m getting ready!
(That's the Worlds in August!!!)
__________________
www.steliosh.net/rcmoto/
www.steliosh.net/rc/

KP-Designs KP10e 1/5 rc bike, Kyosho Lazer ZX-5, HPI Baja SS, Xray T1 FK05, Venom GPV1 1/8 rc bike, Anderson M5 Cross 1/5 rc bike, TT SB-5 1/5 rc bike
steliosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 10:25 AM   #5235
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

aren't Hobbywing release new Firmware yet ??
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0