R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2011, 12:53 PM   #4441
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 72
Default

i get what you mean,

but is it the rotor gets that high 200C i am not sure,
as the gap was Air, unlike Brushed Motor Which is the rotor itself is
the one had Coils and get's Heat's up.

so i think the primary reason is the coil coating melt temp's and stator,
seal. for some how deform in low Temp's Compares to Rotor's able to heat.

but i guess maintain temp's is the best under 80C at the out side to
classic check.
flashrevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 03:20 PM   #4442
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AGNO View Post
These are recommended in the instructions Novak sintered rotor:

- The temperature of the rotor's magnetic material is rated up to 200 degrees C (392 degrees F). The operating temperature of the motor should never rise above 71 degrees C (160 degrees F).-

Of course 80C to which I referred were outside, we must always consider that inside the degrees at least doubled, so when we have 100C outside, inside we definitely over 200C, too many for me, for any kind of magnet.
Its always interesting to see which motors heat up more after the car has stopped.

Next time you finish a race, measure the temp right after the race, then put your car down. During the next race (say 4-5 minutes later), have someone temp your motor, and it will more then likely have risen 30-40 degs F. That would be a better idea of the internal temperature of the motor.

Shawn.
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 03:59 PM   #4443
Tech Regular
 
darrenoakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
No offence, you can disagree, but I personally ran X12's all last year. I had two 10.5's that lasted the whole season, and the only reason I brought a second was because I thought the rotor had possibly gone soft (it hadn't) due to the extra high temps at the aforementioned race meeting. I'm not saying 115 was what I intended to run (I was usually targeting 90-95), but it didn't have any long lasting effects on the motor's performance. I still have that motor now, and bet just as fast as any others out there.

Never had any problem with rotors, and if anything on the X12's only, the higher temp is fine for getting it to run at it's best. Make it too cool, and you loose performance. Trust me when I say I've had a whole load of experience running that motor, and am pretty sure on how to get the best out of them

I will say I was very sceptical about those motors when I first ran them last year, couldn't get the temps down below 80 without losing a lot of performance. Part of that was speedo setup, and part learning how the motor works best. X12, four dot insert, let it rev, and just ignore the higher temps.

The X12 is simply built differently, and uses different materials compared to most other motors. In some respects, it's a stock motor built like a mod, for want of a better expression!
+1 Couldnt agree more Ed.
With my Duo i notice a performance drop at the temps the x12 is still going stronge. They are bullet proof and also look it.
__________________
Xray x11
Xray T3 011
darrenoakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 04:58 PM   #4444
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Guys, im setting up an 8th scale onroad EP conversion, i just baught the Hobbywing sensored Speedy for 8th scale, can some one tell me if the current software has Supercharger software for it ? thanks in advance........
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 06:35 PM   #4445
Tech Master
 
ShadowAu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere you'd never heard of
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Gotta ask a question that I think I already know the answer for...

On the weekend I had to swap back to my old SP/HW 1.1 ESC due to a failure in my HW 60A (no fault of the ESC... thanks to my cat knocking the car off the table)..

Are there any software upgrades etc for the Version 1.1 ESC?
__________________
I have only one more RC thing on my bucket list and I will keep racing (and probably coming last) till its done...
ShadowAu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 07:13 PM   #4446
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,171
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRXS_chris View Post
Hi guys, this is the setup I ran to get the x12 to ridiculous temps;

X12 10.5 geared at 7.57

4 - 6
9 - 42
10 -18
12 - 2
13 - 10000
14 - 0.3
15 - 450
How was the car speed wise? If it's good, then I'd start off by dropping the DDRS (4) to 1 or 2, and then try lengthening the boost ramp (say 500 or 550).
One thing I note, turbo of 2steps? it's almost not worth it... Could try taking out some of the boost, and putting it into turbo instead (say 35 boost, and 8-10 turbo).
Oh other thing... fan on the motor?
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 10:16 PM   #4447
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowAu View Post
Gotta ask a question that I think I already know the answer for...

On the weekend I had to swap back to my old SP/HW 1.1 ESC due to a failure in my HW 60A (no fault of the ESC... thanks to my cat knocking the car off the table)..

Are there any software upgrades etc for the Version 1.1 ESC?
Plug your Esc to LCD, Hobbywing Link on Computer,
turned on your esc and click on "Software" tab See What version is your Hardware,

you might have no Update for this 1.1 version for now...
flashrevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 10:21 PM   #4448
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pattojnr View Post
Guys, im setting up an 8th scale onroad EP conversion, i just baught the Hobbywing sensored Speedy for 8th scale, can some one tell me if the current software has Supercharger software for it ? thanks in advance........
What motor you run ?
flashrevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 10:29 PM   #4449
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flashrevolution View Post
What motor you run ?
i have a HW 2250kv and Tekin 2650KV
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 10:48 PM   #4450
Tech Adept
 
steliosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Penteli, Athens, Greece
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flashrevolution View Post
Plug your Esc to LCD, Hobbywing Link on Computer,
turned on your esc and click on "Software" tab See What version is your Hardware,

you might have no Update for this 1.1 version for now...
I also have an SP LPF 1.1 and tried to flash it with something new, but it just goes to the 10 changes that it always had. It wont take the turbo, slopes etc... Sorry!
Still, it's very good in my ZX5 buggy running a 7.5T motor on 2S lipos...
__________________
www.steliosh.net/rcmoto/
www.steliosh.net/rc/

KP-Designs KP10e 1/5 rc bike, Kyosho Lazer ZX-5, HPI Baja SS, Xray T1 FK05, Venom GPV1 1/8 rc bike, Anderson M5 Cross 1/5 rc bike, TT SB-5 1/5 rc bike
steliosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 11:36 PM   #4451
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pattojnr View Post
Guys, im setting up an 8th scale onroad EP conversion, i just baught the Hobbywing sensored Speedy for 8th scale, can some one tell me if the current software has Supercharger software for it ? thanks in advance........
No sorry, no 1/8th scale speedy with turbo software .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 11:40 PM   #4452
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flashrevolution View Post
Plug your Esc to LCD, Hobbywing Link on Computer,
turned on your esc and click on "Software" tab See What version is your Hardware,

you might have no Update for this 1.1 version for now...
There are no updates for the 1.1 way to old .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 11:42 PM   #4453
Tech Addict
 
RevMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cebu
Posts: 687
Send a message via MSN to RevMaxx
Default

which firmware should work best for 12th scale 1S.
am running SP V3 4.0T motor now...

esc settings would be nice...

t-i-a
RevMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 12:28 AM   #4454
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default Hobbywing Cut-Off Voltage 2 Protect Lipo

The Problem inside the Cut-Off found


if you run 2S
Be sure to Set Cut-Off to 8.4V with Custom
we found it is not Cell Cut-Off but it is Cell Defined,
We tested
Because of "Soft Cut-Off"
The Car still like to run until The Red Blinking and Locked The Motor.

if set to 7.4V Cut-Off with Custom,
and Keep running the car that way, will Deep Discharged The Lipo,
We found Each cell could failed to 1.9V, that's a dead Cell.

So..
8.4V Cut-Off is much safer for Saving Lipo 2S.
8.4V we found Hobbywing will Protect and Locked at 3.3v per cell.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 01:18 AM   #4455
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

I am not sure what you want to achieve setting the voltage cutoff to 8.4v? If you set the cut off at 8.4V would the cut off not be engaged as soon as you open the throttle or at least soon after? When measuring the lipo's some are even below 8.4v (8.37 or so), even when they have been fully charged.
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:50 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0