R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-14-2011, 07:01 AM   #3931
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: southampton, UK
Posts: 145
Send a message via MSN to geubes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
just remember that the total available timing is 64. You can set your timing to 64, your turbo to 40, but because you have selected all your 64 steps with timing boost, you will get ZERO turbo.
but what happens if you meet the turbo requirements before all 64 degrees of boost are added

eg, 64 boost, but you only using 30 when the turbo requirements are met....

does it ignore the turbo (which will add timing quicker than boost), or does it then add the turbo until it hits 64, then any excess boost and turbo is left out?

worth thinking about
geubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 08:15 AM   #3932
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
211 as the 213 is not available but it seems irgo has got it wow and i haven't lol
ha..ha you are joking aren't you angelo, it's there official on HW.

So... When is the RPM Log release, cant wait any longer friend..
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 08:17 AM   #3933
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,128
Trader Rating: 139 (100%+)
Default

haha there's nothing to think about.

if you have 64 timing boost, you have 0 turbo.

'64' is the magic number you have to work around. It all adds up to 64!
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 08:18 AM   #3934
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

This weekend I attended the first race GMV 2011 in Tuscany, Italy, I won the race by taking the TQ and also made ​​the best lap.

For those interested this is my setup:

The track is very technical and small, only 17.5 Superstock category

ESC - Xtreme
Engine - Xerun 17.5
FW - 211
FDR - 6,3

4 - 9
9 - 50
10 - 18/0,1s
12 - 20
13 - 3000rpm
14 - 0,1s
15 - 250rpm/Deg
Attached Thumbnails
NEW HOBBYWING STOCK SUPERCHARGED SOFTWARE-track-n-1.png   NEW HOBBYWING STOCK SUPERCHARGED SOFTWARE-foto-pista-1-grande.jpg   NEW HOBBYWING STOCK SUPERCHARGED SOFTWARE-foto-pista-4-grande.jpg  
__________________
Team GMV / RC electric AS Laurenziana
Hot Bodies TCXX - HW Xerun - IP - Spec-R
AGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 08:25 AM   #3935
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 541
Default

where i can get the new firmware?
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 08:37 AM   #3936
Tech Regular
 
darrenoakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geubes View Post
but what happens if you meet the turbo requirements before all 64 degrees of boost are added

eg, 64 boost, but you only using 30 when the turbo requirements are met....

does it ignore the turbo (which will add timing quicker than boost), or does it then add the turbo until it hits 64, then any excess boost and turbo is left out?

worth thinking about
I thought turbo only comes in once you have reached max boost programmed in and are still at full throttle. If you have 64 boost I wouldn't have thought you would be at full throttle if you only use 30.
This side I understand just wasn't sure on the total amount.
Could be wrong though.

You missed a crack yesterday mate. Hope the hangover was worth it
__________________
Xray x11
Xray T3 011
darrenoakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 10:23 AM   #3937
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
There fixed it for you, so you mean if you run mod or high load motors, need to be careful not to dump your lipos as the voltage cut off doesn't work as well for high load situations?
Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
it seem that the Cutoff (no matter you are using The Stock Firmware)
is Designed for Mod/High Load for safety reason.
but this had negative effect when using Stock/Low Load.

we found setting cutoff custom 6.7v = "lipo end3.3v/cell(Mod)" = "lipo end3.15v/cell(Stock)".

depend on Cutoff performance, this also had bad effect when Lipo already
reach near the Cutoff and Kicked with Turbo.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will27 View Post
My understanding of this is that
High load(Mod) = larger voltage drop, meaning it cuts off earlier.
Low load(Stock) = Less voltage drop, less difference between load and no load measurement.

So basically, if you set your cut-off voltage the same for stock and mod, and run both cars to the cut off, then measure both batteries, the mod battery will have a higher voltage, because they both hit the cut off voltage under different loads. When the load is gone, you get the true voltage

If this makes sense:
Mod: Cutoff voltage = V Battery(no load) - V drop (bigger V drop=Higher Battery voltage)
Stock: Cutoff Voltage = V Battery(no load) - V drop (smaller V drop=Lower Battery voltage)

So, be careful about cut-off voltage in stock classes according to irgo's findings? (use a higher setting)
I hope I've got that right
Thank you all defcon,irgo and will27

so.. i will need to raise the Cut-off voltage for Stock.
flashrevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 10:36 AM   #3938
Tech Apprentice
 
begrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Under MoonLight
Posts: 85
Default

Hi, which one is better for touring with 2s + 10.5T orca motor.
Xerun 60a or xerun 120a?
__________________
Dragsterz Riena Rc Kelantan
sANwa / gQ / SpeedMind / Team AssociAteD / YoKoMo /
SAKurA ZeRo / HoBbyWing / Tekin / PacTra / TamiYa / ProToForm / HSp
begrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 11:28 AM   #3939
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Deleted
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.

Last edited by cherry2blost; 03-24-2011 at 03:10 AM.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 01:59 PM   #3940
Tech Elite
 
Jack2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post

Xtreme Stock everytime

Interesting. I need something to run mod & 13.5, what disadvantage is there running a 120amp hobbywing/speedpassion GT 2 pro V.s Xtreme stock/pro stock etc? running same software etc?
__________________
Schumacher Mi4CX
Mugen MTX & MRX

"He who dies with the most toys wins" - Phil Harris
Jack2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 02:44 PM   #3941
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 422
Default

the only disadvantage i can see between the 2 is that the 120a is taking alot more space in your car
__________________
Tamiya FF03 Pro
Xray XII Link
3 Racing F1-09
Hatebreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 03:18 PM   #3942
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I say 120a. Much tougher.

I have recently switched from Xtreme's to 120's so i can switch between mod and stock racing.
With the 120a and 17.5 with boost i dont need a fan which means that it weighs the same as an xtreme with a fan....
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 03:36 PM   #3943
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: essex, england
Posts: 127
Default

Put it this way the guy who won 11.5 at the titc used a 120a....In all honesty though you would not tell the difference between the 60/120 or extreme stock. In my opinion the 120 represents the best value due to it's ability to run mod but also costs the most
Bony85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 04:04 PM   #3944
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tire Chunker View Post
Amazing the temp is so low-how was the punch out of the turns? I am running 1224 how did the settings 211 compare? Did you just start from scratch and play with the settings?
Punch was great, I had to use throttle control, or I would drift the rear of the car around the corners! I am running 211 from now on (or maybe try the 213 this weekend).

I think I am also going to increase my rollout to 85mm.

Shawn.
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 04:10 PM   #3945
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack2 View Post
Interesting. I need something to run mod & 13.5, what disadvantage is there running a 120amp hobbywing/speedpassion GT 2 pro V.s Xtreme stock/pro stock etc? running same software etc?
The 120A is also heavier. Not such a major concern for a TC, but it is a concern for 1/12 scale.


Shawn.
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:04 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0