R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2011, 07:57 AM   #3901
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zamrioo2 View Post
ss pro capt... this motor seem 10'c cooler than other motor...
yes, its the reason why I like the ss pro novaks, however there is a downside. Novaks brakes are not that good however.
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 09:44 AM   #3902
Tech Apprentice
 
sizheng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flashrevolution View Post
,

anyone knows, SP or HW Motor, does had any temp sensor ?
and is HW xerun V2.0 Had Motor temp sensor ?

All hobbywing SD motors have the temp.sensor.
The SPEEDO also has the function to protect motor overheat. But I think now this function is disabled. Now only monitor the ESC's own temp.
__________________
TEAMHOBBYWING CHINA
sizheng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 10:31 AM   #3903
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
yes, its the reason why I like the ss pro novaks, however there is a downside. Novaks brakes are not that good however.

If you not getting good brakes then double check your setup, and dont run FW 119. The brakes using 1224, and 211 have been excellent with the novaks.

Shawn.
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 10:41 AM   #3904
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

OK, so I decided to run try FW 211 last night in my 1S 1/12 17.5 Ballistic pancar, and I must say I am impressed! Upto this point 1224 was my favorite FW, but I think i have been converted.


I ran:

17.5 Ballistic Pan Car, RO 83mm
DDRS 7
Boost 50
Boost Ramp step/50 rpm (Very aggressive on this track)
RPM Start 1000rpm
Turbo 14
Turbo Ramp 24/.1
Turbo Delay .1
End Bell (15 Deg Static)

Motor Temp after 8 min. 106deg F. ()


The car was impressively fast that I didnt experiment with settings to optimize the performance. I was about the same speed, and acceleration through the infield as the other brands, but I was actually gaining on them down the straight. The car was actually fast enough that the top racer in our club took quite a notice of the car on track, and my HW 1S has real interest in the club.

Unfortunately "my" on track performance wasnt upto the same standard as the ESC, crashing out with lap traffic while I was in the lead put an end to my night early. Oh well, one more week of indoor left.

Cheers,
Shawn.

Last edited by Shawn68z; 03-13-2011 at 11:07 AM. Reason: Added Endbell timing
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 11:45 AM   #3905
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Having run Xerun 60A controller and GM 21.5 motor the last two meetings, have ran a new Extreme Stock controller and Hobbywing 21.5 motor for the first time today at club.
Using the 211 software, started out with:-
DDRS - 9
Boost - 60
Turbo - 0
FDR - 4.78
The car was very slow with no acceleration at all, it just crawled around at just one steady speed. So note to self was these settings simply do not work!
By incremental steps I eventually ended up with:-
DDRS - 9
Boost - 36
Turbo - 24
Delay - 0.3
Timing Acc - 350
FDR - 5.1
Car was so much better and with 14.1 sec best lap time managed to shave off nearly a second per lap with this set up. from earlier times
Might need to drop the FDR to around 5.2 and the start RPM down to 300 from 4000, just to get a bit of extra speed down the staight a little earlier, but other than that the settings were not far off spot on.
Greyfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 04:53 PM   #3906
Tech Regular
 
darrenoakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 266
Default

Ran 211 today and won 17.5 stock with these settings on a smallish track.

FDR 6.5
DDRS 8
BOOST 50 deg
RPM START 5000
TURBO 35
DELAY 0.4
TIMING ACC 350
SLOPE ?

Car was fast and not coming off hot but still feel it could go faster. Any ideas guys?.
What should I change to get faster top speed and a little more acceleration or am I at the max for a 17.5 ?
__________________
Xray x11
Xray T3 011
darrenoakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 06:06 PM   #3907
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

i experimented a month ago with 1224 software in 17.5......as i didnt know what i was doing....the only way i could achieve speed was to put every setting on max....FDR was 5.5ish.....anyway went back to 518 and was instantly faster as it was what i was used to when running 10.5..

after reading a few of the settings being put up i realised i was bogging the motor down so to speak....only way i could achieve speed was to keep turning the motor timing up.....retarding the motor and missing that sweet spot...

have put the latest software on and did a bench test using benzaah's said settings......all i can say is wow......not only was it smoother, more responsive and it seemed faster from the get go.....and the temps were down....which could only be a good thing...

cant wait till sunday....
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800 ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
TEAM XRAY X116 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 06:54 PM   #3908
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 72
Default Request Temp Cut-off for Custom.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sizheng View Post
All hobbywing SD motors have the temp.sensor.
The SPEEDO also has the function to protect motor overheat. But I think now this function is disabled. Now only monitor the ESC's own temp.
Thank's sizheng.

Angelo i request to split Temp Protection
the one is for esc, and the one for Motor,
Most likely i am requesting Temp Option Cutoff more than one temp,
so custom temps be selected ?
flashrevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 07:33 PM   #3909
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darrenoakley View Post
Ran 211 today and won 17.5 stock with these settings on a smallish track.

FDR 6.5
DDRS 8
BOOST 50 deg
RPM START 5000
TURBO 35
DELAY 0.4
TIMING ACC 350
SLOPE ?

Car was fast and not coming off hot but still feel it could go faster. Any ideas guys?.
What should I change to get faster top speed and a little more acceleration or am I at the max for a 17.5 ?
You could reduce your turbo delay, and I would try bringing your boost in quicker. Try 1 step/per 200 rpm.

I noticed your boost and your turbo add upto more then 64. Not sure how this effects your performance, based on how them come in. You might have some experimentation work to do there. You could also reduce your start RPM.

Shawn.
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 11:06 PM   #3910
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darrenoakley View Post
Ran 211 today and won 17.5 stock with these settings on a smallish track.

FDR 6.5
DDRS 8
BOOST 50 deg
RPM START 5000
TURBO 35
DELAY 0.4
TIMING ACC 350
SLOPE ?

Car was fast and not coming off hot but still feel it could go faster. Any ideas guys?.
What should I change to get faster top speed and a little more acceleration or am I at the max for a 17.5 ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn68z View Post
You could reduce your turbo delay, and I would try bringing your boost in quicker. Try 1 step/per 200 rpm.

I noticed your boost and your turbo add upto more then 64. Not sure how this effects your performance, based on how them come in. You might have some experimentation work to do there. You could also reduce your start RPM.

Shawn.
with a total of 64 steps, a boost of 50, the available turbo is 14 even though he has selected turbo 35
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 11:33 PM   #3911
Tech Master
 
Tire Chunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,232
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn68z View Post
OK, so I decided to run try FW 211 last night in my 1S 1/12 17.5 Ballistic pancar, and I must say I am impressed! Upto this point 1224 was my favorite FW, but I think i have been converted.


I ran:

17.5 Ballistic Pan Car, RO 83mm
DDRS 7
Boost 50
Boost Ramp step/50 rpm (Very aggressive on this track)
RPM Start 1000rpm
Turbo 14
Turbo Ramp 24/.1
Turbo Delay .1
End Bell (15 Deg Static)

Motor Temp after 8 min. 106deg F. ()


The car was impressively fast that I didnt experiment with settings to optimize the performance. I was about the same speed, and acceleration through the infield as the other brands, but I was actually gaining on them down the straight. The car was actually fast enough that the top racer in our club took quite a notice of the car on track, and my HW 1S has real interest in the club.

Unfortunately "my" on track performance wasnt upto the same standard as the ESC, crashing out with lap traffic while I was in the lead put an end to my night early. Oh well, one more week of indoor left.

Cheers,
Shawn.
Amazing the temp is so low-how was the punch out of the turns? I am running 1224 how did the settings 211 compare? Did you just start from scratch and play with the settings?
Tire Chunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 12:35 AM   #3912
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default Hobbywing Cutoff result Diffrent between Mod and Stock

flash
i found what you need,
if you run low load, the result end lipo voltage would be under the cutoff,
but if you run hi load, the result is about stable voltage, we found,
hi load result 3.3v per cell on 2S lipo.

this is because when you running the hi load, such Mod motor or low FDR
the Hobbywing Firmware cutoff you set on 6.7v will result
cut off when it reach about 3.15v per cell.

and if you run Mod or low FDR, the Draw of your Lipo is Higher, resulting, to Drop below 3.3V ex: 3.1v/cell,

now because you run Stock, and Higher FDR, where result Lower Draw of your Lipo, the Lipo Voltage is about stable, and only cut off if it really reach,
3.15v per cell.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 01:18 AM   #3913
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,335
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
flash
i found what you need,
if you run high load, the result end lipo voltage would be under the cutoff,
but if you run low load, the result is about stable voltage, we found,
hi load result 3.3v per cell on 2S lipo.

this is because when you running the hi load, such Mod motor or low FDR
the Hobbywing Firmware cutoff you set on 6.7v will result
cut off when it reach about 3.15v per cell.

and if you run Mod or low FDR, the Draw of your Lipo is Higher, resulting, to Drop below 3.3V ex: 3.1v/cell,

now because you run Stock, and Higher FDR, where result Lower Draw of your Lipo, the Lipo Voltage is about stable, and only cut off if it really reach,
3.15v per cell.
There fixed it for you, so you mean if you run mod or high load motors, need to be careful not to dump your lipos as the voltage cut off doesn't work as well for high load situations?
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 02:13 AM   #3914
Tech Master
 
Benzaah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,966
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benzaah View Post
Settings after today as follows

Large track 2 tight technical sections and 2 large straights
Duo 2 17.5, 1 extra mark of timing
FDR 5.9
DRRS 2 <...........is this a misprint? why use 2?
Boost 46
start rpm 4000
Turbo 20
delay 0.1
Turbo slope 24
timing acc 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
above in red
Not everyone likes an aggressive throttle profile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_P View Post
Ive redone the calibrating and is all ok, the problem is if I increase the dynamic timing acceleration to anything above 400rpm/deg the advance and turbo do not work. If set to 400 or less and it works fine
Not till seeing this above post did i think anything odd of what i was experiencing as I found this same bug yesterday when trying to run timing acc over 400. I was running a higher fdr and lengthening the boost range and it felt as though there was a strong delay on the upper range of boost. It was like once full throttle was applied and the turbo came on the boost had to wait till all the turbo was applied till it could activate what boost timing was remaining. If that makes sense as the car would smoothly ramp up till full throttle and then almost feel like it paused to change gears and then take off again as it would not come on hard till very late on the straights. I tried multiple things to the speedy including downgrading to 518 and upgrading to 119 then 211 which wasted a good couple of hours scratching my head. Eventually dialed back to my Starting settings and it went away. Back to back the same settings 119 is no where near the animal that 211 is and I feel if i cannot run timing acc at 450 then i cannot get optimum settings for my track and driving style with 211 and ill have to go back to 119
__________________
AERCCC - ARCR - RRCSA

Adelaide RC

Walter Rc Hobby
Benzaah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 02:26 AM   #3915
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default Hobbywing Cutoff result Diffrent between Mod and Stock (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
There fixed it for you, so you mean if you run mod or high load motors, need to be careful not to dump your lipos as the voltage cut off doesn't work as well for high load situations?
it seem that the Cutoff (no matter you are using The Stock Firmware)
is Designed for Mod/High Load for safety reason.
but this had negative effect when using Stock/Low Load.

we found setting cutoff custom 6.7v = "lipo end3.3v/cell(Mod)" = "lipo end3.15v/cell(Stock)".

depend on Cutoff performance, this also had bad effect when Lipo already
reach near the Cutoff and Kicked with Turbo.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:39 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0