R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2011, 07:18 AM   #3706
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3
Default

Good, glad that's all settled then. Took a break from my own Drift web site to find it's just as fiery here.......

Okay, brand new to the forum and need some help. I have two drift cars I use for competition, one with Xtreme stock & new 13.5 HW motor, the other with Xtreme stock and Novak Ballistic 10.5. I'm looking for settings using ver119 but remember, drifting is not racing so I'll explain what (I think) I'm looking for.

We use poly' tyres (HPI T-Drifts) which are made of a material similar to plastic sink bowls so grip levels are LOW! When drifting, we look for pace, angle, line and smoothness through the judged drift course, so, given we are 'balancing' the cars in a drift around the course at about 1/3rd race speed we need a smooth power delivery without any sudden surges in power and a lot more wheel revolutions than speed over the tarmac/carpet is essential or the drift is lost.

It may be that dynamic (Boost) timing could do the job without turbo, so avoiding surges so long as the wheels are still spinning faster than road speed through long, fast sweepers, such as Snetterton's onto the start straight. With low grip, motors overheating due to gearing has not been a problem with 'conventional' esc's so low FDRs were traditionally used, as low as 3:1 but that's now maybe not necessary.

My other concern is that the HW can has 0 degrees and the Novak 30 degrees mechanical timing so I'm assuming the two profiles should be very different.

Any offerings, with any explanations would be very welcome.
JT D1RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:27 AM   #3707
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

the pancar pdf workd fine.
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:32 AM   #3708
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

hold my 110211
now V3.0_110125STOCK first.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:48 AM   #3709
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Some excellent news well done guys !!!



I was most impressed with the lil hottie in the bottom left side of the bottom pic :P
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 09:34 AM   #3710
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

can anyone explain to me how to make the whole administrator thingy go away so i can update the lcd box?
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 09:43 AM   #3711
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
can anyone explain to me how to make the whole administrator thingy go away so i can update the lcd box?
Instead of double clicking the file, right click and hit troubleshoot compatability, it will then ask you to start the program, DO NOT click the close button, let the program install and THEN hit the close button, it will import the compatability settings into the start Icon and Voila all working !!!
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 09:47 AM   #3712
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

right, it worked but when i want to update the lcd box i only have a choive in v 1.07_110119, 1224 and 512? before i had a choice in mod and stock?

i received a winrar with 2 files in it, is this correct?

PS

when going to the esc speed control i do see the 211 version but also 213?
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 11:13 AM   #3713
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
right, it worked but when i want to update the lcd box i only have a choive in v 1.07_110119, 1224 and 512? before i had a choice in mod and stock?

i received a winrar with 2 files in it, is this correct?

PS

when going to the esc speed control i do see the 211 version but also 213?
Note the names of the two files, go to the HW folder rename the existing versions to something else and then copy and paste the new ones into the folder, that should cure it. Very reminiscent of the old 107/109 issues lol. Never was a problem won't be this time !!


YAY!!! The god of Ebay has answered my prayers, now have a car again WOOT !!!



Now does anybody fancy the remains of 2 Sakura Zero's, probably enough to 90% complete lol !!!!!
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.

Last edited by cherry2blost; 03-09-2011 at 11:37 AM.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 01:02 PM   #3714
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

do you mean the original 2 files that were overwritten with the new files?

Hard to change the name when they have being overwritten?
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 01:06 PM   #3715
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=cherry2blost;8772983I was most impressed with the lil hottie in the bottom left side of the bottom pic :P[/QUOTE]

+1
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 01:09 PM   #3716
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 53
Default

2wDrive,

Same happening for me! Loads onto the Speedo but not the programmer.
I did notice that whlist the LCD programmer still says 119 the boost settings go up to 64 so can only assume it is working.

Cherry,

Tried what you suggested but made no difference. 211 still does not come up as option on LCD Programmer!
JamieV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 01:13 PM   #3717
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

yup same here, reinstalled the programm through the HW website and renamed teh 2 files and installed the new 211 files...nothing changed.

Mine goes to 64 as well but not the program box in the computer.



edit***
Now to my amazing i was looking for the adjustments in the programbox itself and the program box DOES go towards 64 degrees! When starting up without the computer attached, the box does say 211 version so i gues it did work although on the computer the version is still the old one for the program box?
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 01:23 PM   #3718
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 53
Default

Am confused now.

when connected to speedo only mine says 'Hobbywing V1.07-110119' when you press 'item' it says connecting to to esc version 211

Is that what you get ?
JamieV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 01:28 PM   #3719
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

yup, got that as well

I gues it works as i can go up to 64 steps. Probably will never use 64 but it is nice i can if i want to lol
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 01:37 PM   #3720
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Clinton, TN
Posts: 92
Default

Maybe I am missing something, but I've read through about 50 pages of this thread.
And I still can't tell what the latest released version of the software is.

I run 119 right now, but there seem to be at lest 4 other version numbers that are being thrown around.

So is the latest 119 or 211? Or What?

I ask because I really need some special awesome sauce for Saturday. I had to put a crumby motor in since my LRP X-12 13.5 burnt up .
__________________
Me: Associated SC10, Associated TC3, Losi Mini-DT.
My Son: Losi XXX-SCT RTR
KCarpenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:19 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net