R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2011, 08:55 AM   #3526
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andy o View Post
is there any difference between the 2.0 & 2.1 versions of the esc
or are they the same thing?
Updated FETS newer design better able to handle the currents the new softwares are demanding.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 08:58 AM   #3527
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
I wouldn't rush him as several people have complained about being used as 'Beta Testers' so let the Factory guys test it up to make sure it is perfect... Have patience Padwan
Thank's cherry
and for latest firmware updates would be here ?
http://www.hobbywing.com/english/downloads.asp
flashrevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 08:59 AM   #3528
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flashrevolution View Post
Thank's cherry
and for latest firmware updates would be here ?
http://www.hobbywing.com/english/downloads.asp
Yes they will, but I guess Angelo will post them first on here once they are approved
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:29 PM   #3529
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sandhurst, UK
Posts: 43
Default

Anyone have any ideas why my v2.0 would completely cut out? Went to the track to practice today as it's the first time I've had chance to play with this latest batch of software (0119).

Software is awesome and found what was for me a sweet spot of speed/driving ability. However on what was going to be my last run of the day the speedo completely cut out even the fan had shut down. Turning it off then on again would bring it back to life so stated off round the track and it cut out again. Its then done this repeatedly every time I tried to use it. I've swapped batteries, servo and rx just to make sure but it still happens. I'm running Intellect 40c batteries and a Tekin 13.5t motor.

I seem to remember someone else had a similar problem but can't seem to find the post nor can I remember if there was ever a solution so if someone can remember the thread ID's I'd be grateful. Failing that have I fried the speedo?
gazmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 03:06 PM   #3530
Tech Apprentice
 
Mikkel_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn68z View Post
Its a matter of trying. I personally like 1224, but I have been playing around with 119 for a few weeks now. 0119 I think can be configured to be faster then the 1224 FW, but with more options and settings available there is more room for error and confusion.

The confusion originated when it was discovered that 119 doesnt use degrees of timing, but steps of timing.

For you I would recommend running the 119 software and see how it works for you. Just start low with your turbo and timing options and work your way up, keeping an eye on your temperature.

Shawn
Well testing was interesting on Thursday, put the car down for the first time in about 3 months after driving a Mini, pulled away and thought yep thats quick.

After about 5 laps the car slowed right down, I though the Lipo might have been dead so changed it but it was slow from the out set.

Got a bit worried, but the only thing I changed from the last time I ran was the firmware ( upgraded to 219 ) so I changed it back to 518 reset the end points and the car ran fine for the rest of the day.

Anyone any ideas?
Mikkel_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:00 PM   #3531
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,013
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

hey cherry sorry for the late reply. here ya go!

http://www.freefilehosting.net/addit...rmware20110123

oh its your version of the fw instruction/definitions
cheapskate.brok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:01 PM   #3532
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gazmond View Post
Anyone have any ideas why my v2.0 would completely cut out? Went to the track to practice today as it's the first time I've had chance to play with this latest batch of software (0119).

Software is awesome and found what was for me a sweet spot of speed/driving ability. However on what was going to be my last run of the day the speedo completely cut out even the fan had shut down. Turning it off then on again would bring it back to life so stated off round the track and it cut out again. Its then done this repeatedly every time I tried to use it. I've swapped batteries, servo and rx just to make sure but it still happens. I'm running Intellect 40c batteries and a Tekin 13.5t motor.

I seem to remember someone else had a similar problem but can't seem to find the post nor can I remember if there was ever a solution so if someone can remember the thread ID's I'd be grateful. Failing that have I fried the speedo?

It seems to me you have a massive voltage drop on your battery's How old are the packs? The way to fix it with the current cells you have is to drop the lipo voltage cutoff to 3.0v in your programming thats should fix it .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:40 PM   #3533
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sandhurst, UK
Posts: 43
Default

Thanks Cobra I'll give that a try, for info both packs are only about 10 charges old, but they have been sat in my garage over winter on storage charge. I shall report back on how I get in
gazmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:40 PM   #3534
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

are the new Xerun 13.5T better then the SP13.5 V3 motor?any suggestions?thanx
guinnes.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:32 PM   #3535
Tech Addict
 
trevinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
Can someone please help me out here, am trying to add editable fields into this form, have limited skills in Office so hope someone will be able to help me to add drop down boxes / click boxes to the empty fields in the Form.

Help !!!!!!!!(
Sent you a PM
__________________
Mugen MBX6, 337 Racing products, Os Speed

Mugen MBX6E ECO, Tekin
trevinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:34 PM   #3536
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,013
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guinnes.s View Post
are the new Xerun 13.5T better then the SP13.5 V3 motor?any suggestions?thanx
i'd go for the hobbywings....they brake so much better, in the sweepers i just off-throttle
cheapskate.brok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:38 PM   #3537
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guinnes.s View Post
are the new Xerun 13.5T better then the SP13.5 V3 motor?any suggestions?thanx
quality wise yes perfromance similar.Also better hall sensor board which is designed by michael .

What some of you may not know the motors are actually designed by michael at hobbywing and then manufactured in a part owned hobbywing factory
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 09:08 PM   #3538
Tech Regular
 
K_Takuya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ipoh
Posts: 382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
quality wise yes perfromance similar.Also better hall sensor board which is designed by michael .

What some of you may not know the motors are actually designed by michael at hobbywing and then manufactured in a part owned hobbywing factory
when will the hobbywing motor be endorsed? As i can see in this thread, its reliable and well build.
__________________
Bodyshell+kit+bateri+remote+receiver+tayar+rim+esc+charger = Jom main!
K_Takuya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 09:21 PM   #3539
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikkel_R View Post
Well testing was interesting on Thursday, put the car down for the first time in about 3 months after driving a Mini, pulled away and thought yep thats quick.

After about 5 laps the car slowed right down, I though the Lipo might have been dead so changed it but it was slow from the out set.

Got a bit worried, but the only thing I changed from the last time I ran was the firmware ( upgraded to 219 ) so I changed it back to 518 reset the end points and the car ran fine for the rest of the day.

Anyone any ideas?
You need to provide alot more information. Type of car, motor, gearing, track layout, and the ESC settings.

With the 119 (or 1224), you can easily Over time the motor, and it sounds like this is what you have done. Try upgrading back to the 119 software, and then start very conservative on the timing. We do know that step #54 Boost is 36 deg of timing. (Confirmed here on Rctech).

Brushless motors will not run properly with more then 60deg of timing, they tend to run slow and make alot of heat.


Shawn.
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 10:07 PM   #3540
Tech Elite
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,212
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_Takuya View Post
when will the hobbywing motor be endorsed? As i can see in this thread, its reliable and well build.
Well it's like a year on and the ESC's have yet to reach the ROAR list, so it's hard to be real positive about the motors, though I suspect more effort will go into that cause you just can't run motors anywhere unless approved.
__________________
QRCCRA
www.qrccra.org.au
www.facebook.com/englandparkraceway
www.myrcm.ch/main?pLa=en&hId[1]=org&dId[O]=4331
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:02 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net