R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2011, 03:18 PM   #2971
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 236
Default

Just wanted to say thanks to HW, Ran 0119 stock for the first time tonight with the following


4 = 7
9 = 30degs
10 = turbo ramp 9deg/0.1secs
12 = 20deg
13 = 2000rpm
14 = 0.2secs
15 = timing acc 750rpm/deg

I run a nosram x11 Storm Evolution 10.5 motor in a schumacher mi4 with a FDR of 7.6

And it was perfect, faster than 518 and 224. And got me my best finish ever. (1st in the B from Pole in the B) and i was only 3 secs off the A final

Also motor was soo cool i didnt even get the temp gun out.lol.

And as for the brakes being weak, i have to agree but you soon get used to it.
scytherat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:20 PM   #2972
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 93
Default

Yes, everything should be check. Flashed firmware twice, calibrated radio and set endpoints to 100. I think i did everything right!
As i said it felt very strange, like a delay before it started to brake and when it did it was really weak...
snabbgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:38 PM   #2973
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wapwallopen Pa
Posts: 316
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Anyone have any issues installing the usb link software on a windows 7 PC. It gives 2 errors, says it cannot open/create C:\Program Files\Hobbywing\uninstall.exe and C:\Program Files\Hobbywing\Hobbywing USB Link V1.63.exe

I tried running it as Administrator and still get the same error. Compatibility mode doesn't work either.
__________________
Chris
Jammin X2 CRT Pro - Tekno, Xerun 150a & Tekin 2250kv
Jammin X2 CR Pro - Tekno, MMP & 2050kv Tekin
Jammin SCRT10 - MMP & Tekin SC4X 6.5 | Ofna JL10e - Novak Havoc 3s & 8.5 SS Pro
HPI Cyber 10b - Novak Havoc 3s & 8.5 SS Pro | HPI Baja 5B SS - 26cc Fuelie
drummin89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 08:08 PM   #2974
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drummin89 View Post
Anyone have any issues installing the usb link software on a windows 7 PC. It gives 2 errors, says it cannot open/create C:\Program Files\Hobbywing\uninstall.exe and C:\Program Files\Hobbywing\Hobbywing USB Link V1.63.exe

I tried running it as Administrator and still get the same error. Compatibility mode doesn't work either.

apparently you had Computer problem, and not caused by hobbywing Software. cause this is your first time to install it.

you will need to be administrator checkout
goto Control Panel click on
>Windows Logo/Start
>Control Panel
>User Accounts and Family Safety
>User Accounts
look at your user names
at the bottom of your names there is Account type
should be "ADMINISTRATOR"
if not you need expert there to make you an administrator.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 08:10 PM   #2975
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfiantii View Post
Why is the the GT Series going to fade away and what will it be replaced with?
Now i like your concern

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatebreed View Post
tried the new software and my new 1 12 car today, 13.5t and against black diamonds and other escs, nothing got past on the straight! little slow in the infield but thats a easy fix (forgot my programbox at home, DOH!)
you need someone else to run this system, so you can, borrow others
programbox

anyway why dont you try the Single Button on the ESC ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn68z View Post
Okay, finially got back out to the track last night for a 1/12 1S run with the 119 software.

I bumped up the boost to 60, and 1deg/50rpm, 81mm rollout. It was working well. The track had alot of smaller straights in the infield, so acceleration was at a premium. Also, 1deg/100rpm proved to be faster overall.

The one thing I did notice though, was the motor is making a funny sound when I get off of the throttle. Its really loud, I have drag brake at 0%, but it seems like the software is doing something. Once the racing was over, I applied alittle throttle (20% or so holding steady), and the motor makes the same sound ever second or so. It doesnt appear to have an effect, but something is definately happening with the motor.

I changed the motor, and it makes the same sound. I dont recall the car making this sound with 1224. (I will have to re-confirm this though)

Both motors are Novak Ballistic 17.5's.

Shawn
Shawn , it seem under 150rpm the fluctuate of motor rpm cause this noise, also if fluctuation rpm under load is happening, may cause the
Dynamic Timing Fluctuate either.
and mostly 50rpm,
50rpm fluctuation i have been seen a lot when i tested my motor
rpm with no load on my dyno&rpm analysis, a bit of throttling can cause it to change rpm to simulate the load,

so if the Rpm cause the timing Dynamically change, and create noise ?
could that probably cause by the frequency?

i have seen my old aeromodelling esc frequency end bell on brushless motors be used on sensoreless motor, to make Sound and tone.
it work's to tell me the mode i am using, without having to see,
by just listening, i know where it is on, and i can hear if,
the system is being shutdown, and restarted, or cut-off,
because the sensoreless tone tells me.

So Probably the noise come from Phase Sensoreless Wire.
__________________
Quark Force

Last edited by irgo; 02-06-2011 at 08:32 PM.
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 11:49 PM   #2976
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Great job on the new software!

I had my fist larger meeting with it on the weekend in 17.5 boosted...
Punch and speed up there with the Tekins. Didnt deel like i was in any way being slowed by the speedy
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:15 AM   #2977
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gusi View Post
Hi Angelo. This is very bad news, and I'm sure that a lot of people will complain now, because in my local track there are a lot of people using HW ESC's, and yesterday when they tried my car with version 119 they found this behavior to be faulty and they were not going to update their xeruns until this is fixed.

Today I reverted back to software 528MOD, but the Boost timing setting now is not accesible from software or the advanced programming card, and the motor when full throttle makes a strange noise and doesn't go fast, so I had to update again to 119.

For our track the reverse function is a must have, but now it is useless. It would be possible to have the old behavior back? Maybe with a new option for running mode (Forward/Brake, Forward/Brake/Reverse, Foward/Brake/Reverse with delay and Forward/Reverse)? Os making the delay time configurable?

Ok what i will do at the end of this month i will make sure that we have the delay in our 119 software and it will be a feature that can be switched on and off in the running mode ok.

You know i will do anything to keep the customer happy and nothing less .

regards Angelo
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:35 AM   #2978
Tech Adept
 
millbank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 162
Default

Angelo.

Please could you let me know if the h/w motors be on the brca list this year as i would like to run them in the btcc?

Thanks Jay
__________________
Xray T2009 / hobbywing v3 120amp /LRP x12 6.5 / wet car
Xray t4'14 / Hobbywing v3 120amp / 13.5/ boost car
Xray t4'15 / Orca Vxx / Orca Rx3 17.5 / blinky car
TEAM DRIVER FOR MMR FLUX
millbank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:58 AM   #2979
Tech Elite
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,212
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I'd like to know when the ESC's will show, if ever on the ROAR listings, word was months ago they were going to be submitted, but racing this year has started and still no listing, all I got is my HW gear, so I won't be happy if it never gets approved.

With how cheap those HW motors are, it would be good to see them hit the approved list as well.

On simular subjects, when are the new servos due?.
__________________
QRCCRA
www.qrccra.org.au
www.facebook.com/englandparkraceway
www.myrcm.ch/main?pLa=en&hId[1]=org&dId[O]=4331
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 02:03 AM   #2980
Tech Adept
 
Mitch-e4fs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canberra
Posts: 132
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scytherat View Post
Mitch sounds like your sensor lead has died, either that or ur batteries have deteriorated and now wont give the voltage and ampage needed for turbo,
No turbo was the least of my problems. Now no matter which battery or motor it will not turn on. I can't even connect to the computer.

Has anyone ever has this. Is it dead?
Mitch-e4fs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 02:07 AM   #2981
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Ok what i will do at the end of this month i will make sure that we have the delay in our 119 software and it will be a feature that can be switched on and off in the running mode ok.

You know i will do anything to keep the customer happy and nothing less .

regards Angelo
Wow, you are amazing! Many thanks for taking this into consideration.

While this is added again to the FW, any help to revert back to 528MOD. Because after flashing some options are not available. Maybe is not possible to downgrade from a v3.0 FW?
Gusi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 02:17 AM   #2982
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

+1 for motor/esc approval!

Just bought a 17.5 spec combo thinking the motor would be legal by now... but no.

Hard to run HobbyWing at sanctioned events....

Apart from that all is great! Cant wait for the new speedy to be announced in a few months....

Any news on it yet?
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 02:19 AM   #2983
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,129
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

the speed controls are already aarcmcc approved
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 03:08 AM   #2984
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wapwallopen Pa
Posts: 316
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
apparently you had Computer problem, and not caused by hobbywing Software. cause this is your first time to install it.

you will need to be administrator checkout
goto Control Panel click on
>Windows Logo/Start
>Control Panel
>User Accounts and Family Safety
>User Accounts
look at your user names
at the bottom of your names there is Account type
should be "ADMINISTRATOR"
if not you need expert there to make you an administrator.
I am the administrator. Only account on my computer.
__________________
Chris
Jammin X2 CRT Pro - Tekno, Xerun 150a & Tekin 2250kv
Jammin X2 CR Pro - Tekno, MMP & 2050kv Tekin
Jammin SCRT10 - MMP & Tekin SC4X 6.5 | Ofna JL10e - Novak Havoc 3s & 8.5 SS Pro
HPI Cyber 10b - Novak Havoc 3s & 8.5 SS Pro | HPI Baja 5B SS - 26cc Fuelie
drummin89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 03:26 AM   #2985
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
the speed controls are already aarcmcc approved
The motors aren't though
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:53 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net