R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2011, 04:31 AM   #2956
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,175
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Oliver View Post
I'm no lawyer and certainly not an expert in US law as I live in the UK, but as far as I know if it can be shown that an idea or concept was already known about or in existing use or in the public domain prior to any patent application, then it would be extremely difficult to enforce any such patent in a court of law. It's quite interesting to note that the patent in question pertains to the USA only - I have no idea what the implications of this are, but I find it very strange that if anybody comes up with what they consider to be an innovative, new and absolutely unique technique or process that they do not apply for for a worldwide patent ?

Maybe someone on this forum with more knowledge of US law could comment...
Technical term is prior art (I've had a bit of exposure to IP defences at work, and picked a few patents apart)... now, looking at the date of the application, I'm trying to recall when the KO brushed esc were avaliable on the market... as that's pretty much obvious prior art there, as they could be programed by the RX connector.

Also agree, don't see a patent issue date... so assuming it's a pat pending document.

On another interesting point, if it was to come through, then the only ESC bar the Castles that would be legal are the GM's, as they are programmed via the sensor port, and the application is pretty explicite about using the RX port..
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 05:58 AM   #2957
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 234
Default

Mitch sounds like your sensor lead has died, either that or ur batteries have deteriorated and now wont give the voltage and ampage needed for turbo,
scytherat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 06:04 AM   #2958
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

can i use 119 stock software for lrp 4.0t motor??and what differences if i use 119 mod software?
Inferno11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 06:11 AM   #2959
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

sure i still remember couple years ago,
programming, using IR
infrared on Helli ESC.

but may be that would be not nice
how about Speed Passion did they pay for it?
and what about Novak Kinect ? they are using novalink
are they paying for the patent ?
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 06:16 AM   #2960
Tech Regular
 
JRXS_chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 386
Default

Just ordered an Xtreme stock. Do you guys have any advice on setting it up so I don't blow anything up? Just general advice, I'll get into all the programming at a later date. Cheers
JRXS_chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 06:21 AM   #2961
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inferno11 View Post
can i use 119 stock software for lrp 4.0t motor??and what differences if i use 119 mod software?
you cant change boost start rpm and boost timing acc
on v3.0_110119MOD

and boost timing is limited to 16 and turbo timing 20

So if you would like to use Stock one, be sure not to change
boost over 16 and turbo over 20.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 08:44 AM   #2962
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
we removed the delay as many customers didnt like the feature just felt wrong for them so we listened and removed it in the new software so there is no delay .
Hi Angelo. This is very bad news, and I'm sure that a lot of people will complain now, because in my local track there are a lot of people using HW ESC's, and yesterday when they tried my car with version 119 they found this behavior to be faulty and they were not going to update their xeruns until this is fixed.

Today I reverted back to software 528MOD, but the Boost timing setting now is not accesible from software or the advanced programming card, and the motor when full throttle makes a strange noise and doesn't go fast, so I had to update again to 119.

For our track the reverse function is a must have, but now it is useless. It would be possible to have the old behavior back? Maybe with a new option for running mode (Forward/Brake, Forward/Brake/Reverse, Foward/Brake/Reverse with delay and Forward/Reverse)? Os making the delay time configurable?
Gusi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 11:22 AM   #2963
Tech Fanatic
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Scramento, Ca
Posts: 780
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to dfiantii Send a message via Yahoo to dfiantii
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
As far as i know no you cannot but in saying that i dont know what the sales staff have done or are doing with sales there might be a dual sp/hw distributor but at this stage i dont know as the only esc that is made by hobbywing now for sp is the GT series and to be honest im sure thats going to fade out as well .
Why is the the GT Series going to fade away and what will it be replaced with?
__________________
TT-01/Hitec MG/SP LPF V1.1/Trinity 7.5
Losi Type-R/JR Z8800S/SP Cirtix Stock/Novak 25.5
Exotek F1R/Savox 1251/Tekin RS/21.5
"ELECTRIFIED TO THE HILT"
dfiantii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 12:19 PM   #2964
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 422
Default

tried the new software and my new 1 12 car today, 13.5t and against black diamonds and other escs, nothing got past on the straight! little slow in the infield but thats a easy fix (forgot my programbox at home, DOH!)
__________________
Tamiya FF03 Pro
Xray XII Link
3 Racing F1-09
Hatebreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 12:35 PM   #2965
Tech Adept
 
millbank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwidave72 View Post
hi guys,

iver downloaded 110119 and have upgraded the program box.

but im only getting only the older stock firmware software.

is there something i have missed???

cheers,
David
right click and run as administrator. i had the same issue.
__________________
Xray T2009 / hobbywing v3 120amp /LRP x12 6.5 / wet car
Xray t4'14 / Hobbywing v3 120amp / 13.5/ boost car
Xray t4'15 / Orca Vxx / Orca Rx3 17.5 / blinky car
TEAM DRIVER FOR MMR FLUX
millbank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 12:43 PM   #2966
Tech Adept
 
millbank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 162
Default

ignore above as i see there has been a reply to this matter.

Will h/w motors be on the brca list this year as i would like to run them in the btcc?
__________________
Xray T2009 / hobbywing v3 120amp /LRP x12 6.5 / wet car
Xray t4'14 / Hobbywing v3 120amp / 13.5/ boost car
Xray t4'15 / Orca Vxx / Orca Rx3 17.5 / blinky car
TEAM DRIVER FOR MMR FLUX
millbank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 12:51 PM   #2967
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Okay, finially got back out to the track last night for a 1/12 1S run with the 119 software.

I bumped up the boost to 60, and 1deg/50rpm, 81mm rollout. It was working well. The track had alot of smaller straights in the infield, so acceleration was at a premium. Also, 1deg/100rpm proved to be faster overall.

The one thing I did notice though, was the motor is making a funny sound when I get off of the throttle. Its really loud, I have drag brake at 0%, but it seems like the software is doing something. Once the racing was over, I applied alittle throttle (20% or so holding steady), and the motor makes the same sound ever second or so. It doesnt appear to have an effect, but something is definately happening with the motor.

I changed the motor, and it makes the same sound. I dont recall the car making this sound with 1224. (I will have to re-confirm this though)

Both motors are Novak Ballistic 17.5's.

Shawn
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 01:15 PM   #2968
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Part 2 of my Post:


I installed 1224, and it does make the noise but only alittle bit. So I put 119 back on the ESC, and tried all the settings.

I have isolated it to be the Boost Ramp setting. At 1deg/200 RPM, there is no noticable noise from the motor. At 1deg/150 the noise is there, but just slightly. At 100 is quite noticeable, and at 1deg/50 the noise is very loud (I could here it from 50 feet away, thought my diff was broken at first).

Was wondering if anyone else has noticed this? It is probably pushing the limit, but thats what you need to do in racing isnt it?

Shawn
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 02:12 PM   #2969
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 93
Default 0119 weak on the brake?

I tried the 0119 today with a Ballistic 17.5 in a TC and it felt nice powerwise but it was terrible on the brakes. Kind of a delay and overall very weak brakes.
I did all i can think of and set 100% reverse force. I had very good brake with 1224, almost too strong:-) I will try to reflash the software. Any other ideas?
snabbgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:06 PM   #2970
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snabbgas View Post
I tried the 0119 today with a Ballistic 17.5 in a TC and it felt nice powerwise but it was terrible on the brakes. Kind of a delay and overall very weak brakes.
I did all i can think of and set 100% reverse force. I had very good brake with 1224, almost too strong:-) I will try to reflash the software. Any other ideas?

I agree with you that 119 does not have the breaking power of 1224! I also run the Ballistic 17.5. But, with 119, braking for on the ESC at 100% and my radio around 75 or so, I found the breaks to be acceptable. After you flash did you re-calibrate your radio? I have found it to be a good practice. Make sure you set your brakes back to 100% on your radio before you recalibrate.
Also, setting the reverse to 100% was an old bug in the FW, but it has since been fixed.

Shawn.
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0