R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2011, 05:20 PM   #2896
Tech Regular
 
drsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pettyeagles View Post
I have a Hobbywing 25A esc in my SC18. I recently picked up the 2 in 1 programming box. When I hook it up to esc all it displaysis "connecting to esc". I assume this mean I have the version 1 esc. Does anyone know if I can upgrade the software in the esc to the version 2?
That's all it will read until you push the far left button on the program box. Then the settings should be able to be changed.
__________________
Till next time.......
KEEP ON RACING!
drsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 08:05 PM   #2897
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cuttingedge View Post
Does anyone run there HW Extream stock like the Black Diamond works ??????

RE No Turbo Just a steady timing advance over the whole trottle range ??

Is this possable ?

If it is which i am sure it is can somebody suggest some settings to try please

Running the latest 119 software and a HW 21.5 motor

Thanks in advance
I run pretty close to this. I do have a 8 deg of turbo on, but with the ramp set to 9deg/.1 seconds you dont know the turbo kicking in. Its really smooth and controlable.

Unfortunately I cant give you a setup as I dont run the same setup, but either run just Boost, or turbo with a slope works really well.

Shawn
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 08:14 PM   #2898
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kl
Posts: 64
Default bro need help

hai otai2.....kindly someone please email me the lastest software for xerun 120a...
oyang786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 01:12 AM   #2899
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 841
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ixlr8nz View Post
I would say that no.13 and no.15 are too low. Basically you are trying to throw too much timing at the motor too soon. I would try no.13 at 6000-8000 and no.15 at 600

Mike
Thanks for the tip; my next change was going to be #13 back upto 9000 which is what I ran on the old 518 firmware. I'd turned it down trying to get more mid-range, but I don't think it helped, and since then I've added more overall boost which has solved the lack of mid-range.

I'm looking foward to getting the Novak data logger installed so I can see what revs I'm actually running at round the various parts of the track.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 01:27 AM   #2900
Tech Addict
 
venom54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aspendale
Posts: 578
Default SOFTWARE 110119 V2

Quote:
Originally Posted by oyang786 View Post
hai otai2.....kindly someone please email me the lastest software for xerun 120a...
Here you go....


USB LINK


Software and instructions.

Cheers

Ren
__________________
Play hard but be nice to your parents!
VBC RACING|ASSOCIATED|XRAY|TEAM POWERS|THUNDER TIGER|HOBBYWING|HPI|WTF FANS|ORION AND MORE IN STORE.
145 COMO PARADE EAST 3195 PARKDALE VICTORIA AUSTRALIA.
www.rabhobbies.com.au
venom54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 02:41 AM   #2901
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default setup sheets

Do hobbywing have setup sheets? Well for the latest fw -
I know I saw one last year when the original turbo fw was released but can't use that anymore for obvious reasons.
emerge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 03:01 AM   #2902
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default sent pm

[QUOTE=zleader_99;8594979]I current have SP v1.06_100617 on my HW 2in1 box. I am trying to install the latest HW soft. I have been told to install the old version of the SP then the old HW finaly to the new HW soft. I have been running the update application in admin mode.
I am tryin to back grade to the SP v1.32

This is the error I keep getting

I have sent you a PM
emerge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 03:12 AM   #2903
Tech Fanatic
 
mc4798's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emerge View Post
Do hobbywing have setup sheets? Well for the latest fw -
I know I saw one last year when the original turbo fw was released but can't use that anymore for obvious reasons.
That would be useful to have.
mc4798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 03:12 AM   #2904
Tech Addict
 
venom54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aspendale
Posts: 578
Default PDF For software 110119

Quote:
Originally Posted by emerge View Post
Do hobbywing have setup sheets? Well for the latest fw -
I know I saw one last year when the original turbo fw was released but can't use that anymore for obvious reasons.
PDF Instructions.

Cheers

Ren
__________________
Play hard but be nice to your parents!
VBC RACING|ASSOCIATED|XRAY|TEAM POWERS|THUNDER TIGER|HOBBYWING|HPI|WTF FANS|ORION AND MORE IN STORE.
145 COMO PARADE EAST 3195 PARKDALE VICTORIA AUSTRALIA.
www.rabhobbies.com.au
venom54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 04:17 AM   #2905
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by venom54 View Post
PDF Instructions.

Cheers

Ren
Thanks, but I actually meant the setup up sheets like those for the sp and tekins have. I am sure you know what I mean. Those are setup instructions. Its cool if not available but handy if they were around.
Cheers
emerge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 05:27 AM   #2906
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daleburr View Post
I'm looking foward to getting the Novak data logger installed so I can see what revs I'm actually running at round the various parts of the track.
I think in the end you will only be interested in the RPM you reach at the end of the back straight, that you atleast know you will reach your set max. boost timing.

Some tracks have speedtraps, (like ours) some times a speedgun is used.
With that info you can calculate your max. RPM.

For the rest drivers should focus more on car set-up and driving skills! instead of start studying log files.....
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 06:08 AM   #2907
CFR
Tech Regular
 
CFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 327
Default

XERUN-120A-1S ESC

Quote:
2 Features
2.1 Built-in DC/DC booster. Perfectly works with 1-2 cells Lipo, so the single cell class racings such as 1/12 scale competitions are easily covered by this XERUN-120A-1S ESC without an additional receiver battery.
can you wire the esc to bypass the VB to use an external booster or receiver pack?
CFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 06:10 AM   #2908
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M7H View Post
I think in the end you will only be interested in the RPM you reach at the end of the back straight, that you atleast know you will reach your set max. boost timing.

Some tracks have speedtraps, (like ours) some times a speedgun is used.
With that info you can calculate your max. RPM.

For the rest drivers should focus more on car set-up and driving skills! instead of start studying log files.....
No you want the averige rpm. the highest rpm is reached on moost tracks once.
also you want to see in what window your rpm's are. from there you can fine tune the rpm range. than you use your turbo for extra topspeed on the straight.
fine tune the setup in the infield and use the turbo for the straight. this gives you the best infield speed.
toptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 07:08 AM   #2909
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,253
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toptek View Post
No you want the averige rpm. the highest rpm is reached on moost tracks once.
also you want to see in what window your rpm's are. from there you can fine tune the rpm range. than you use your turbo for extra topspeed on the straight.
fine tune the setup in the infield and use the turbo for the straight. this gives you the best infield speed.
Actually, the rpm value you want is the rpm on the slowest corner of the track. Then you can set your start rpm to be higher than this to get maximum torque, and get the most from the boost. Now, this is difficult to implement without external loggers... as a minimum rpm log will simply give you zero (race start!)

Max RPM is pretty meaningless really, as by the end of the straight, you should be at an RPM well beyond that of the end of the boost range, especially when including turbo settings.

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 07:09 AM   #2910
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 841
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toptek View Post
No you want the averige rpm. the highest rpm is reached on moost tracks once.
also you want to see in what window your rpm's are. from there you can fine tune the rpm range. than you use your turbo for extra topspeed on the straight.
fine tune the setup in the infield and use the turbo for the straight. this gives you the best infield speed.
Agreed. If I don't know what RPMs I'm at coming out of the corners, I don't know where to set my boost start (other than guessing and trial and error, which isn't as scientific as I'd like). The RPM window for the small infield straights will give a good starting point for the boost ramp.

The RPMs on the straight is actually of less interest; I spend about 2s on the straight and 12s on the rest of the track, so there's much more time to be found on the infield than the straight.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:12 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net