R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-30-2011, 04:35 AM   #2791
Tech Adept
 
steliosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Penteli, Athens, Greece
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clittle View Post
First run with a new ESC.

.....

I'm using the XERUN 120A with a Yokomo Zero 13.5 Motor. I'm using the LCD connection through to my computer and I believe I'm running the latest firmware and software (0119 on the ESC). I have a couple of items in the Advanced tab greyed out and I can't set them. Turbo RPM is one and I can't remember the other right now.

Is there any particular reason why I can't modify those elements?

Cheers
Make sure you install the STOCK119, and NOT the MOD119... The mod has some areas greyed...
__________________
www.steliosh.net/rcmoto/
www.steliosh.net/rc/

KP-Designs KP10e 1/5 rc bike, Kyosho Lazer ZX-5, HPI Baja SS, Xray T1 FK05, Venom GPV1 1/8 rc bike, Anderson M5 Cross 1/5 rc bike, TT SB-5 1/5 rc bike
steliosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 04:41 AM   #2792
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
A cheap battery is a cheap battery in power,quality and performance and as technology gets better and more performance is on demand those sort of cheap cells cannot do the job that is needed.
Absolutely.

I'll choose a quality 20c Lipo over a cheap and nasty 50c Lipo every time.

Because in an electric powered vehicle the quality of the battery is paramount.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------

TB-03, M-03, M-04,M-05, TT-01, DF-03ra, TRF201, SCX10, Stampede
.---------------------------------------------------------------------
tdunster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 04:48 AM   #2793
Tech Adept
 
clittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
One thing alot of you guys can't seem to understand is that to run efficiently with no power issues you need quality battery's.Turbo settings require loads of current and if your battery is one of those make believe c ratings as we see on 90% of the batterys on todays market then you will have problems .

A cheap battery is a cheap battery in power,quality and performance and as technology gets better and more performance is on demand those sort of cheap cells cannot do the job that is needed.

I get alot of emails about issues of esc stopping then going then slowing down after a few minutes etc .When batterys have a none linear voltage drop per time cycle they are crap Rubbish in other words.
Appreciate the comment, however these weren't exactly cheap batteries. They hadn't been used in a while (does Lipo have that problem?) and the brand is quite reputable. hmmmmm

I spent big on batteries for exactly the reasons you mentioned. Any recommendations then?

Anyhow, will see next time with a FDR somewhere within the correct range.
__________________
Latest is a Tamiya TB04 Pro..... Love it!!!
Aussie in Japan!
clittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 04:51 AM   #2794
Tech Adept
 
clittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steliosh View Post
Make sure you install the STOCK119, and NOT the MOD119... The mod has some areas greyed...
And there is my answer. Thank you very much
Pity it's night time, I want to go back and try this out now.
__________________
Latest is a Tamiya TB04 Pro..... Love it!!!
Aussie in Japan!
clittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 05:15 AM   #2795
Tech Adept
 
zipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 167
Default

To share my personal experience,

for those of you experiencing sudden drops in speed, it is due to the low voltage cutoff.

When i first installed my HW, I set the cutoff to 3.4V/cell, which works out to be 6.8V cutoff. What happened was, when the turbo kicked in, the amp draw was too large, causing a voltage drop that dipped below the cutoff threshold. That's when you experience the sudden drop in speed. As Cobra mentioned this also happens if you have weak batteries.

I have since stuck to 3V/cell and no longer have any issues
zipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 05:21 AM   #2796
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

we got, one victim the 3RD Generation
1 Motor OverHeat,
bad!! it's adjusted to 60 Degree!

no wonder SP Stayed on 2nd Generation.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 06:33 AM   #2797
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
we got, one victim the 3RD Generation
1 Motor OverHeat,
bad!! it's adjusted to 60 Degree!

no wonder SP Stayed on 2nd Generation.


My Novak and GM 17.5 work very well at 60 , and with version 3 are much cooler of version 2.

__________________
Team GMV / RC electric AS Laurenziana
Hot Bodies TCXX - HW Xerun - IP - Spec-R
AGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 07:13 AM   #2798
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AGNO View Post


My Novak and GM 17.5 work very well at 60 , and with version 3 are much cooler of version 2.

sure, the one that too hot was doing the hard Load,
bad settings. ..

The Generation 3 (V3) Firmware, must be provided with
different manual than the (V2)Firmware,
for safety reason.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 07:23 AM   #2799
Tech Adept
 
chinaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AGNO View Post
... My Novak and GM 17.5 work very well at 60 ...
Ballistics are good to 70C and GM should be ok to 100C max ... as per manual ... but would stay not more than 90C myself ...
__________________
... wyrd bi ful rd ...
chinaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 07:28 AM   #2800
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chinaman View Post
Ballistics are good to 70C and GM should be ok to 100C max ... as per manual ... but would stay not more than 90C myself ...
I meant 60 degree of dinamic timing.

GM recommended max 100 c, but not trust, the magnets lose efficiency already at 80 c.
__________________
Team GMV / RC electric AS Laurenziana
Hot Bodies TCXX - HW Xerun - IP - Spec-R
AGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 08:41 AM   #2801
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default 110119 Ver: HW-09-V2-110119Stock-20110123

---->
The table below is a recommended setting list. (2 cells Lipo, Motor endbell physical timing is 0 to 5

11.5 | 6.0-7.0 | 30-38 | 9/0.1s | 16-26 | 4000 | 0.4s | 300-450
13.5T | 5.0-7.0 | 30-50 | 9/0.1 s | 20-30 | 3000 | 0.4s | 200-300
17.5T | 5.0-7.0 | 30-55 | 9/0.1 s | 20-30 | 3000 | 0.2s | 150-300

---->

This is from the latest manual,
Ver: HW-09-V2-110119Stock-20110123

tell me,..
gone 60 with RPM Too low
this may have been asked by someone before,
but true, There is no DMTS2.0 where previously
before the Supercharge start RPM.
Example for 11.5T previously start at 8000RPM
this time is 4000RPM.
tell me....
__________________
Quark Force

Last edited by irgo; 01-30-2011 at 08:52 AM.
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 10:25 AM   #2802
Tech Adept
 
steliosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Penteli, Athens, Greece
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clittle View Post
And there is my answer. Thank you very much
Pity it's night time, I want to go back and try this out now.
I am setting up two 1/5 bikes with Xerun ESC's: the stock 17.5T with an 60A and the 5.5T mod with 120A, so I accidentally installed the mod S/W to the stock bike... and was wondering... Then I rechecked...

Glad I could help!
__________________
www.steliosh.net/rcmoto/
www.steliosh.net/rc/

KP-Designs KP10e 1/5 rc bike, Kyosho Lazer ZX-5, HPI Baja SS, Xray T1 FK05, Venom GPV1 1/8 rc bike, Anderson M5 Cross 1/5 rc bike, TT SB-5 1/5 rc bike
steliosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 10:26 AM   #2803
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
---->
The table below is a recommended setting list. (2 cells Lipo, Motor endbell physical timing is 0 to 5

11.5 | 6.0-7.0 | 30-38 | 9/0.1s | 16-26 | 4000 | 0.4s | 300-450
13.5T | 5.0-7.0 | 30-50 | 9/0.1 s | 20-30 | 3000 | 0.4s | 200-300
17.5T | 5.0-7.0 | 30-55 | 9/0.1 s | 20-30 | 3000 | 0.2s | 150-300

---->

This is from the latest manual,
Ver: HW-09-V2-110119Stock-20110123

tell me,..
gone 60 with RPM Too low
this may have been asked by someone before,
but true, There is no DMTS2.0 where previously
before the Supercharge start RPM.
Example for 11.5T previously start at 8000RPM
this time is 4000RPM.
tell me....
What about adding 10.5 to this list, as its probably the most popular after 13.5 in UK. Thx
bozboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 10:29 AM   #2804
Tech Regular
 
getpip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn68z View Post

I have noticed the 0119 software does like more gear then the 1224 software for some reason.
Shawn ..
What were your findings on this.. Did you notice better speed or better temps?
What sort of fdr did you end up with?
I found 6.6-6.7 worked well with 518/1224. (Tekin redline)
Used the same today but spent my time playing with settings rather than gearing.
Thought 119 was smooth and deceptively quick. (0.2 quicker than 1224)
__________________
------------------------
Check out my blog: www.pipskiracing.blogspot.com
------------------------
getpip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 10:59 AM   #2805
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
we got, one victim the 3RD Generation
1 Motor OverHeat,
bad!! it's adjusted to 60 Degree!

no wonder SP Stayed on 2nd Generation.
Wait a sec... You are one of the guys that is always asking for new firmware, with a logger, and a more settings.. And now you are coming across as blaming HW for those settings?

Always start at a conservative setting, and make small adjustments for more power. Any other way, and you taking a risk with your equipement.

Shawn
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0