R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2011, 09:18 AM   #2491
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MENTAL DENTAL View Post
Which of the two new firmwares should I move onto now?? Bought HW 60A Xerun and used for the first time last Sunday........very quick!!

Is there a significant difference between 110108 and 1224!??
I m using 224 which has a total timing(boost+turbo) of 46, while the 108 has total of 30 if I understand correctly, so 224 should be faster. I have not tried the 108 yet and I m happy with 224, runs fast and cooler motor temp, I m running 10.5-11.5t stock TC class BTW.
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 09:30 AM   #2492
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 74
Default

Im running a novak 17.5 motor which should not be to much for the esc? The esc is always cool to the touch?




Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
What motor, what truck, what settings?


I think you may be asking too much of the ESC. SC trucks are heavy, and if you are runing big power in it, it might be more than the boosted stock 1/10th ESC can deal with.
trx B E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 03:28 PM   #2493
Tech Regular
 
Andy63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 321
Default

Hi all! I have one problem programming my Hobbywing Extreme stock ESC. I have standard programe right now and i am using the SET button to install my profiles.

But to my problem,
I cant manage to SET as the instruction tells me to do. It says i should while holding the SET in and turn on the ESC it should flash red, and then it should flash green one time. But when i do this it always end up the ESC is only led RED. not flashing or anything and it starts over again. It resets itself for no reason. so if anyone can help me fast i would be greatful! Thanks!
__________________
www.andrefossto.wordpress.com|Team Hobbywing|Team Reservdelsrc.com|
Andy63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 03:55 PM   #2494
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy63 View Post
Hi all! I have one problem programming my Hobbywing Extreme stock ESC. I have standard programe right now and i am using the SET button to install my profiles.

But to my problem,
I cant manage to SET as the instruction tells me to do. It says i should while holding the SET in and turn on the ESC it should flash red, and then it should flash green one time. But when i do this it always end up the ESC is only led RED. not flashing or anything and it starts over again. It resets itself for no reason. so if anyone can help me fast i would be greatful! Thanks!
The set button Programming works well so you must be doing something wrong go back a few steps and try again and to be honest it is sensitive and a massive pain in the backside to do it that way .That programming method was established really for planes,boats and helis which is easy to program as for cars i dont recommend it to many features and if you want to use the turbo settings with your xtreme stock it will not work to many settings to go through .

I suggest you buy yourself a led card which is cheaper than the lcd and use that it will save you alot of heartache believe me .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 03:59 PM   #2495
Tech Regular
 
Andy63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
The set button Programming works well so you must be doing something wrong go back a few steps and try again and to be honest it is sensitive and a massive pain in the backside to do it that way .That programming method was established really for planes,boats and helis which is easy to program as for cars i dont recommend it to many features and if you want to use the turbo settings with your xtreme stock it will not work to many settings to go through .

I suggest you buy yourself a led card which is cheaper than the lcd and use that it will save you alot of heartache believe me .
Ok, i have setup the transmitter and the ESC. But when like i said press the buttons like the manual says the ESC reset itself again when it flashes green and then stop flashing and only turn into red.

Any other ideas would be great if there is any. Thanks
__________________
www.andrefossto.wordpress.com|Team Hobbywing|Team Reservdelsrc.com|

Last edited by Andy63; 01-20-2011 at 04:10 PM.
Andy63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 04:24 PM   #2496
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: oakville
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default HELP setting up my DX3r radio to the new 1s esc

I was reading in the manual you have to calibrate the esc to the radio. I understand the holding the mini button and setting the neutral, trotttle and brake. I am unsure how to set this EPA adjustment. The manual has for a futaba radio. Can some one walk me through the DX3r. Is the EPA the Expo on the DX3r? If that is the case do I set the H and L to 100%? Or am i just lost?

Thanks
__________________
TLR 22
Desc410r
zleader_99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 04:35 PM   #2497
Tech Regular
 
whoopass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zleader_99 View Post
I was reading in the manual you have to calibrate the esc to the radio. I understand the holding the mini button and setting the neutral, trotttle and brake. I am unsure how to set this EPA adjustment. The manual has for a futaba radio. Can some one walk me through the DX3r. Is the EPA the Expo on the DX3r? If that is the case do I set the H and L to 100%? Or am i just lost?

Thanks
not sure on the dx3 but here is what I know for the Sanwa Exces.

remove pinion from motor
plug in battery
turn on handset (ensure EPA throttle and break is at 100%, Expo set to '0', if you have it. radios with this setting usually have LCD displays)
hold small button near switch down (keep holding down)
Turn HW ESC black slide switch on
Green light should flash at base of ESC ( this is usually within 1 second)
press red button on esc once (you have set neutral)
push throttle to max (make sure the preset end point is 100% and the expotential is '0')
press red button on ESC once, ESC will beep and you have set full throttle
pull stick back on handset, again with EPA at 100% and expo on '0'. press red button again, ESC beeps twice I think, you have set brakes.

Then you increase the EPA throttle from 100% to 105%.
Don't touch the Expotential, this is a setting on how the throttle and brake behaves, you can set curves/ramps. a more experienced racer at your local track can help you on these. I set the Expo to -20% when the track is damp, it calms the power down, reducing wheelspin.

hope it helps.
whoopass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 04:46 PM   #2498
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 24
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zleader_99 View Post
I was reading in the manual you have to calibrate the esc to the radio. I understand the holding the mini button and setting the neutral, trotttle and brake. I am unsure how to set this EPA adjustment. The manual has for a futaba radio. Can some one walk me through the DX3r. Is the EPA the Expo on the DX3r? If that is the case do I set the H and L to 100%? Or am i just lost?

Thanks
From memory.
Go into menu. Go to Travel. Set Fwd & Brake both to 100%.
Calibrate ESC, (neutral, throttle and brake)
Go back to Travel & increase to Fwd & Brake to 110% to ensure your hitting full throttle (Turbo Timing)

Hope this makes sense.
Shadow5t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 04:47 PM   #2499
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: oakville
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default setting my dx3r

Hey thanks for the info. So I should set my expo back to zero. EPA (end point adjustment) is the Travel adjustment on the spektum I assume. So I change my travel function and not expo? This is my new understanding.
__________________
TLR 22
Desc410r
zleader_99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 05:01 PM   #2500
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kosmic View Post
Can anyone honestly give me any idea what the hobbywing motors are like?? Reliability and performance against other brands?? I now only really ever run 13.5 class and even in 10.5 i normally leave 13.5 in there. I have tried a few different brands inc gm, sp passion, tekin and novak ss, and always end up sticking with gm as it has fixed timing and runs pretty cool
I wanna try hw mtr as it has the thermal cut on the esc and obviously will be compatible but dont wanna waste my money if they are pants
cheers
Someone.............????
__________________
Durango DETC410 - HobbywingV3.1 - Futaba - Orca
www.maritimeracing.org
kosmic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 05:02 PM   #2501
Tech Regular
 
whoopass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 295
Default

yes leave the expo as '0' set the epa throttle and break at 100%. setup the esc/calibrate. then set the EPA throttle to 105/110%
done
whoopass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 05:05 PM   #2502
Tech Regular
 
whoopass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kosmic View Post
Someone.............????
kosmic, I probalby would say the HW motors are for hobby use. if you want major power/more than you can handle buy tekin/GM/novak/LRP/Corally/graupner etc... at 3-4 times the price.

this is by no way saying HW stuff is rubbish. The ESC's are awesome...
whoopass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 05:08 PM   #2503
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whoopass View Post
kosmic, I probalby would say the HW motors are for hobby use. if you want major power/more than you can handle buy tekin/GM/novak/LRP/Corally/graupner etc... at 3-4 times the price.

this is by no way saying HW stuff is rubbish. The ESC's are awesome...
I love my hw esc, just wondered about the motors being as good to??
__________________
Durango DETC410 - HobbywingV3.1 - Futaba - Orca
www.maritimeracing.org
kosmic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 05:14 PM   #2504
Tech Regular
 
whoopass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 295
Default

kosmic, take a punt, how much are the motors?
whoopass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 07:32 PM   #2505
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 720
Default

tested 1224 last nite... i would say it was very2 smooth but i found the brake so poor compare with 518/422s... do i need to reflash...?
zamrioo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:31 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0