R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2010, 06:23 AM   #226
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
The esc can hold only 1 firmware at a time but the lcd can hold 3 different settings .
Yes , ESC hold one firmware. If LCD card can hold at least 2 firmware.
We may change the firmware in ESC easily without PC.Just connect LCD to ESC and upgrade the firmware as you wish...
mos-leung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 07:50 AM   #227
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Posts: 417
Send a message via MSN to Bigger Brother
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mos-leung View Post
Yes , ESC hold one firmware. If LCD card can hold at least 2 firmware.
We may change the firmware in ESC easily without PC.Just connect LCD to ESC and upgrade the firmware as you wish...
I'm sort of struggling here to understand why you would want to be changing between mod and stock firmwares during a race day. I can understand you not wanting to take a laptop to the track, but if you are racing mod one day, surely you would load the mod software at home before you go to the track, and then if you are racing stock at your next event, change the firmware to stock at home again before you go to your next event?????


Anyway.....
I had some good results with the new software last week at possibly one of the largest tracks in the UK that 13.5 motors race on. Sadly practise day was a washout so I didn't get a chance to try it before race day, and my driving let me down on what should have been a good result. In terms of straight line speed and accelleration, I certainly didn't feel down on power to the Tekin runners at all! Hopefully I'll get some more practise time before the next big meeting to try some more things out, but I'm pretty pleased with how it was running.
__________________
Oli Meggitt | London, UK
.:. Essex Winter Series .:. CML Racing .:. ToniSport .:. Zen Racing .:. Moorespeed RC .:. OTM Racing .:. RC Racing TV .:. RIDE R/C Scoreboards
Bigger Brother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 07:58 AM   #228
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

if we have the ability to at least shut off supercharger on the fly then only one firmware would be needed... Sometimes running stock u just may want to shut off the supercharger. Track conditions could be slick when you show up. Or you could be having traction or setup issues where if you took away some power it may actually help
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 08:18 AM   #229
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,335
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Ran 422S/W tonight with 17.5 the motor came off at around 130F and I thought it was fading towards the end, anyone have similar problems?
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 11:07 AM   #230
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: southampton, UK
Posts: 145
Send a message via MSN to geubes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
Ran 422S/W tonight with 17.5 the motor came off at around 130F and I thought it was fading towards the end, anyone have similar problems?
Yes. It faded but wasnt hot - It was related to running to much timing to quickly I think. Cured it by reducing timing and gearing up
geubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 02:24 PM   #231
Tech Adept
 
xrayal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: hertforshire
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
Ran 422S/W tonight with 17.5 the motor came off at around 130F and I thought it was fading towards the end, anyone have similar problems?
heat could cause fading as could lipo cut off to high. did you callibrate your speedo at 95 then turn it upto 105?
__________________
tamiya 416x
hobbywing
spektrum dx3r
mardave
xrayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 02:27 PM   #232
Tech Adept
 
xrayal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: hertforshire
Posts: 148
Default

sp have relesed their version of 422. as far as i can see its exactly the same as hw but for the sc rpm delay. hw 3000-15000 sp 4000-12000.
does this finally prove they are the same speedos?
__________________
tamiya 416x
hobbywing
spektrum dx3r
mardave
xrayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 05:01 AM   #233
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigger Brother View Post
I'm sort of struggling here to understand why you would want to be changing between mod and stock firmwares during a race day. I can understand you not wanting to take a laptop to the track, but if you are racing mod one day, surely you would load the mod software at home before you go to the track, and then if you are racing stock at your next event, change the firmware to stock at home again before you go to your next event?????

In some competition, it will be mod & stock in same day.
If you join both event, what you need ONE RC car with 2 motor (stock & mod). No PC to change the software.....
mos-leung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 05:12 AM   #234
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 72
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mos-leung View Post
In some competition, it will be mod & stock in same day.
If you join both event, what you need ONE RC car with 2 motor (stock & mod). No PC to change the software.....
Thats why you have 2 cars, 2 esc, 2 motor etc...
chovden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 05:29 AM   #235
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,335
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geubes View Post
Yes. It faded but wasnt hot - It was related to running to much timing to quickly I think. Cured it by reducing timing and gearing up
I'm running the 6th setting on timing with 10 deg. of timing on the motor can. By gearing up, you mean lower fdr?

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayal View Post
heat could cause fading as could lipo cut off to high. did you callibrate your speedo at 95 then turn it upto 105?
My motor was only at 55 degrees Celcius and batteries came off at 7.6V with cutoff at 6.8V so I don't think it was any of those two.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 05:31 AM   #236
Tech Regular
 
TRF4evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
Ran 422S/W tonight with 17.5 the motor came off at around 130F and I thought it was fading towards the end, anyone have similar problems?
hi keith,
ur car was quick the first qualifier, the second run when u change up timing on esc looks fading towards end of race, but still second quickest against lrp sxx ss which was not much....IMO if u played with gearing more might get more out of it....overall Im impress with the HW software can't wait to have mine installed n start playing with it
__________________
TRF - HUDY - Much more - Ride
Proamp Lipo - Speedpassion
www.feralbatteries.com
TRF4evr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 05:39 AM   #237
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: southampton, UK
Posts: 145
Send a message via MSN to geubes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
I'm running the 6th setting on timing with 10 deg. of timing on the motor can. By gearing up, you mean lower fdr?



My motor was only at 55 degrees Celcius and batteries came off at 7.6V with cutoff at 6.8V so I don't think it was any of those two.
I was running setting 7 on timing setting and 10 degrees motor advance. Took off the motor advance and increased the pinion by 1 tooth, kept timing setting to 7. stopped the fading
geubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 05:42 AM   #238
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,335
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geubes View Post
I was running setting 7 on timing setting and 10 degrees motor advance. Took off the motor advance and increased the pinion by 1 tooth, kept timing setting to 7. stopped the fading
Thanks, will give that a try.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 06:04 AM   #239
Tech Fanatic
 
Silvialite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Woodlands
Posts: 857
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hi bros,

I'm currently using a 7.5T SP motor. Should I be running the stock firmware with turbo or the mod firmware. Would the turbo kill my motor? I'm using it for drifting.
__________________
Team Underground
To be Cheaper, Better, Faster...

HB TCD CSed 1:2.5
Silvialite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:36 AM   #240
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

any issues using a "Y" connector for the lcd to the ESC? To avoid constant removal from the ESC or the receiver? At some point we will wear out or damage those connections..
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:31 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0