R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-29-2010, 06:49 PM   #1771
Tech Addict
 
csracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by warnos View Post
Just an idea but do u have the reverse strength at 100%? not sure why but it helped on my brakes even though u are running forward only.

What have you got the brakes set at?? if you but the brakes on 100% with no initial brakes do u have the same issue? thats what i have and it has too much brakes.. just change the EPA-b to adjust it..

If u wanna run initial brakes though I am no help...

Good luck
Reverse strength is 100%. I'm sitting here playing with every brake setting I can find with no luck. If I sit at neutral throttle for approximately 1 second, then go to brakes, I get full brakes. But if I don't pause at neutral I only get whatever the initial brake setting is (in this case, 40%). Just freewheeling it's very noticeable and is even more noticeable on the track. Quite annoying. I hadn't noticed it on our last track layout as there really weren't any braking sections. The new layout has a couple areas that require brakes and I'm finding that the ESC isn't working to my satisfaction at all...

Last edited by csracing; 11-29-2010 at 08:19 PM.
csracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 08:16 PM   #1772
Tech Addict
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Reverse setting. not brake setting.
__________________
China Lipos
China Speedos
China Chargers

You aint messin wit my dougie..
JKL1031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 08:18 PM   #1773
Tech Addict
 
csracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKL1031 View Post
Reverse setting. not brake setting.
Reverse setting at 100%, that's what I meant. I'll update my answer above.
csracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 09:45 PM   #1774
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by csracing View Post
I've tried running as much as 20% drag brake but it makes no difference. Power to full brake is much less brake force than power to neutral, then to full brake. Doesn't make any sense..


Can you please tell me what radio brand and what spec radio you are using .?
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 02:21 AM   #1775
Tech Adept
 
chinaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 141
Default Xtreme Stock ESC

Was racing last weekend. The car kept stuttering and was alright for awhile then it just slowed and kept the slow speed. It was like as though the voltage cut-off was coming in.

I was using a 4000 mAh 30C Lipo and apparently it did not like the freezing temp of 0 degC. Changed the battery to a 5000 mAh at 40C and it was fine.
__________________
... wyrd bi ful rd ...
chinaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 03:40 AM   #1776
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by csracing View Post
Reverse setting at 100%, that's what I meant. I'll update my answer above.
I can see from your signature that you are using a 3pm futaba radio is that correct ?

Please send me an email at teamcobraracing@gmail.com and i will email you a patch file that will sort out your issue with the brakes ok.Ill explain to you how to install through email

regards Angelo
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 03:59 AM   #1777
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 57
Default

what is the maximum and safe operating temperature for the esc and motor??

or how is it for me to find it out?
__________________
HSP X-STR, Orca RX1 11.5T, Xerun 120A
Heqal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 03:57 AM   #1778
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heqal View Post
what is the maximum and safe operating temperature for the esc and motor??

or how is it for me to find it out?
95 degrees is our cut off
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 06:15 AM   #1779
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default Esc Firmware with Data Log

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
95 degrees is our cut off
Well The answer is Data Log Esc Firmware,
sure is the Firmware released ?

RPM Log, Temp Log, Voltage Log, Amp, Log
and maybe Speed Log.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 06:19 AM   #1780
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,013
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
Well The answer is Data Log Esc Firmware,
sure is the Firmware released ?

RPM Log, Temp Log, Voltage Log, Amp, Log
and maybe Speed Log.
it would be nice, but, a software is only as good as the hardware.

We're not sure what the 120A's technical limits are.

Or....120A V3.0 is coming out!??!?!?!?!?!
cheapskate.brok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 09:30 AM   #1781
Tech Adept
 
chinaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheapskate.brok View Post
...
Or .... 120A V3.0 is coming out!??!?!?!?!?!
i thought the 2.1 version just came out???
__________________
... wyrd bi ful rd ...
chinaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:55 PM   #1782
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chinaman View Post
Was racing last weekend. The car kept stuttering and was alright for awhile then it just slowed and kept the slow speed. It was like as though the voltage cut-off was coming in.

I was using a 4000 mAh 30C Lipo and apparently it did not like the freezing temp of 0 degC. Changed the battery to a 5000 mAh at 40C and it was fine.
If you have a charger that can test for internal resistance of your battery pack you will see its on its way out the resistance would have increased by a significant amount.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 03:00 PM   #1783
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
Well The answer is Data Log Esc Firmware,
sure is the Firmware released ?

RPM Log, Temp Log, Voltage Log, Amp, Log
and maybe Speed Log.
It was discussed yesterday about a data logger with the software especially temp and rpm which will benefit hobbywing and the end user .Hobbywings benefit will be that the log will be none deletable so when there is warranty issues we can download the info when the esc is sent in for warranty or repair and we will know excatly what happened to it .For the consumer it will be a great way not only to protect your esc's but improve on your settings and setups .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 10:52 PM   #1784
Tech Addict
 
RevMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cebu
Posts: 687
Send a message via MSN to RevMaxx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
It was discussed yesterday about a data logger with the software especially temp and rpm which will benefit hobbywing and the end user .Hobbywings benefit will be that the log will be none deletable so when there is warranty issues we can download the info when the esc is sent in for warranty or repair and we will know excatly what happened to it .For the consumer it will be a great way not only to protect your esc's but improve on your settings and setups .
while this will be very beneficial, it may shoot up cost which may not be very attractive to us budget hobbiest.
though it would also be nice to have these as options should the need arise...
RevMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 12:04 AM   #1785
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Default HW Xtreme firmware

Hi i cannot find firmware for Xtreme stock on HW wed site?
Andy 540 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:01 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net