R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2010, 01:21 AM   #1621
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finch wxm View Post
Tried my car today for the first run with the xtreme stock, had no top end speed and seemed really slow !

I'm running it with a speed passion version 3 . Didnt have chance to play and had to take it out !

any ideas why it seemed so slow. I had 116 with a 24 pinion, im ruuning the schumacher MI4LP.

its a brand new motor, sommethink must be really wrong with my setting !
I would think you ratio is too high for starters... you want to be around 7:1 i would think (Used to run 10.5, and around 7 was good...)

Also check if the speed control has any error lights.... green flashing etc... as it could be a sensor problem. Also, with a 17.5, i tend to max out the can timing on the V3... may be the same with the 13.5 also... to get the bottom end.
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 01:22 AM   #1622
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raypa View Post
OK I have a questions here,do the supercharged software works only with sensored motors or can be used with sensorless too?
Supercharger software is for sensored only...
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 03:08 AM   #1623
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 74
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamWTF View Post
Supercharger software is for sensored only...
Thanks.
raypa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 04:35 AM   #1624
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wrexham, North Wales
Posts: 37
Default

I was speeaking with the local drivers and they were running 8.5 ration with the MI4 with the GM 90 and there cars were like rockets.

My car was fine in the infield but on the straight it just doesnt seem to get up to any speed !

I swapped for my LRP SXX Version 2 and this seemed to be the same, No top end so its surely got to be down to the motor or maybe a transmitter setting !

I will be abit annoyed if the brand new motor is faulty.

what lights should be displayed when operationg correctly etc ?

I'm not even sure if when i download the parameters from the PC onto the speedo is correct or not ?

I adjust them on the PC and upload. Could i be doing somethink incorrect ?

Also can you adjust the same on the PC as the programme box ? Or are you limited on the programme box ?
finch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 04:45 AM   #1625
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by finch View Post
I was speeaking with the local drivers and they were running 8.5 ration with the MI4 with the GM 90 and there cars were like rockets.

My car was fine in the infield but on the straight it just doesnt seem to get up to any speed !

I swapped for my LRP SXX Version 2 and this seemed to be the same, No top end so its surely got to be down to the motor or maybe a transmitter setting !

I will be abit annoyed if the brand new motor is faulty.

what lights should be displayed when operationg correctly etc ?

I'm not even sure if when i download the parameters from the PC onto the speedo is correct or not ?

I adjust them on the PC and upload. Could i be doing somethink incorrect ?

Also can you adjust the same on the PC as the programme box ? Or are you limited on the programme box ?
Should really go without saying that the GM is a different ESC and behaves differently.

Hobbywing have published their own base settings in a .pdf - start with them. I have been very happy with the base settings for 13.5.

Also, leave the V3 motor timing in the middle of the slot (factory setting).
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 12:23 PM   #1626
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hobart TAS Australia
Posts: 1,037
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lethallee69 View Post
Hi guys, just a quick query,
running a Schumacher MI4 (1.8:1) in 21.5 with extreme stock speedy, on a medium size track.The track has a good mixture of slow and fast sections. current FDR is 4.64, rollout is 42.69. this is being acheived with an 85t spur and 33t pinion.
my question is this, is it better to use a smaller spur/ pinion to get the same rollout/ FDR or stay the way I am. would need to order smaller spurs if this was the case
thanks in advance
Lee
any ideas?
__________________
Team Awesomatix
R1 Wurks
RC Maker.com
Southern Tasmania Model Car Club
lethallee69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 12:49 PM   #1627
Tech Addict
 
csracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Nevermind, I figured everything out.

CSR

Last edited by csracing; 11-08-2010 at 05:30 PM.
csracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 09:52 AM   #1628
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West London, England
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dameetz View Post
I m posting this on behalf of a friend of mine coz nothing that we do seems to solve the problem.

My friend has been using Hobbywing Xtreme Stock combo with Hobbywing 11.5T motor for the past 2 weeks which include 1 race day. For the past 4 days he's having problem with the esc somehow loosing the turbo function, its more like its switching to sensorless mode by it self. First 2-3 laps it was fine, after that the car was just crawling, then all of the sudden the Turbo is there again. This happened on and off during 5 mins drive. The ESC and Motor's temp was normal (esc 40C ish and motor 60C ish).

What have we done so far to solve the problem:

1. Change the sensor wire (a few time already which include a new one)
2. Calibrate the throttle (set to 100% during calibrating then bump it up to full 140% EPA)
3. Reflash the 518 stock firmware (twice now)

BUT the problem is still there Anyone got any more idea on what to do?
Hi Everyone,
I have had pretty much the same problem with a 60A Xerun for the last two meetings & this week the car went off at full speed with me having no control. I thought it was radio interference & took the car back to pits to check for damage. Just about to unplug & the capacitor went bang!!

I cut the cap. lead & went out to race but had the slowing down issue again. For the next race I borrowed a newer Lipo ( As suggested in COBRARACING's reply to the quoted post) & all appeared fine.

Now the question: What caused the capacitor to blow & had it anything to do with the previous intermittent slow running?

Sorry for the long post & thanks in advance.

John
toms dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 07:43 PM   #1629
Tech Addict
 
warnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 522
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default 508 Zero Timing

Is the Hobbywing with 508 going to be on the roar list soon? or is it not needed as the Speedpassion with 508 was approved?

Cheers
__________________
TCX Smokem / F104 wgp
Major Sponsor : Visa Card
TEAM SMA - www.smaracing.org
warnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 09:24 PM   #1630
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,024
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

with all timing and boost settings off, does different firmware versions have any difference?
cheapskate.brok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 09:50 PM   #1631
Tech Addict
 
jake95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 669
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

does any one have a setup for speed passion 4.5 motor and the hobbywing 120amp esc
__________________
XRAY✯NOSRAM✯SANWA
jake95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 04:35 AM   #1632
Tech Regular
 
Holmenkollen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jake95 View Post
does any one have a setup for speed passion 4.5 motor and the hobbywing 120amp esc
Just use 518 mod software. I run indoor on carpet so I disabled the turbo seetings, no need for it. If you run on a very big track it can be useful.
__________________
Serpent - Hobbywing - Graupner
Holmenkollen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 07:28 AM   #1633
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 740
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holmenkollen View Post
Just use 518 mod software. I run indoor on carpet so I disabled the turbo seetings, no need for it. If you run on a very big track it can be useful.
There is no 518 mod software.There is 528 mod and 518 stock.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 12:09 PM   #1634
Tech Addict
 
jake95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 669
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

what fdr are you running
__________________
XRAY✯NOSRAM✯SANWA
jake95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 05:21 PM   #1635
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,270
Default

After months of excellent negotiations we are proud to announce that our exclusive distributor in the USA for all hobbywing's line of products is

HORIZON HOBBY USA .

thanks to all for your patients .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:04 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net