R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-04-2010, 06:56 AM   #1591
Tech Master
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,011
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benzaah View Post
http://www.rctech.net/forum/7457041-post372.html

For those too lazy to look. This is good advice.
Thanks, that explanation of the settings is really helpful.
__________________
At The Gate Bizzos
Chaz955i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:47 AM   #1592
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 397
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benzaah View Post
SO by your wealth of knowledge FDR is not an important factor?? And the punch setting has no effect on anything?? really your better off not giving any advice if you are going to give bad advice.

If your new to this speedy then search this thread for early posts by Razzor. he explains this speedy very well. Saying Mikky32 and the tekin thread is a good place to start when he has been banned for just dribbling soooo much shit is wrong. Are you the new handle for Mikky? can we geta mod to do a isp check

When i started with this speedy i had the following settings suggested.
Think you`re last line says it all, think Mikky32 was one off the pioneers of this speedo type, at least in my country.
In my opinion it is useless to give numbers if you never saw the track where somebody is driving. It`s better to let somebody understand the basics...

Last edited by rbakker; 11-04-2010 at 08:04 AM.
rbakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 09:32 AM   #1593
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaz955i View Post
Much appreciated
Don't forget that it's quiet an agressive setting....
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 09:33 AM   #1594
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 740
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post

As for the esc going to sensoreless mode and that causing it to slow down doesnt seem right as there is no such thing i have heard it many times from people on this site but believe doesnt make sence .
Angelo are you trying to say that when the esc goes to sensorless doesn't seems right to slow down or that the esc doesn't turn to sensorless?
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 05:46 PM   #1595
Tech Rookie
 
"MrQuiick"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Default

I have read some of the threads and have not found anything on the top of my question, but forgive me if I missed it. My question is are there any proformance gains in the Xerun 60A and the 120A while running the ESC(s) in a 1/10 sadan with a 2s lipo with 45c? would I be increasing proformance by upgrading to the 120A?
__________________
Dan "MrQuiick" Dix
Xray T3-17.5 Boosted (Mazda 6), Xray T2 009-21.5 super GT (2008 MB AMG DTM C-Class)
"MrQuiick" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 05:49 PM   #1596
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,502
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by "MrQuiick" View Post
I have read some of the threads and have not found anything on the top of my question, but forgive me if I missed it. My question is are there any proformance gains in the Xerun 60A and the 120A while running the ESC(s) in a 1/10 sadan with a 2s lipo with 45c? would I be increasing proformance by upgrading to the 120A?
not necessary really
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:26 PM   #1597
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

The speed control can go in to sensorless mode if settings are too aggressive. This will cause the car to run much slower, as the timing functions will not be working (in sensorless mode)

For example, a 17.5 with timing might be geared around 5.5 - 6.0. A non timed 17.5 would be geared under 4.0... so in sensorless mode, without timing, it will obviously be very slow.

I have had this happen with a 10.5 (duo 2) once or twice... too much motor timing and speedo timing. I lowered the motor timing (2-3 geaduations from the zero mark, was previously at around 5) and lowered the gear ratio (7.5 to 7.0). This solved the problem. I let the motor do more work instead of the timing...


Also, there is no advantage in using the 120a in stock racing over the 60a, otherwise there would be no Xtreme stock esc....
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:30 PM   #1598
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 397
Default

--
rbakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 10:09 PM   #1599
Tech Addict
 
desert truck 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Down at the track mate
Posts: 681
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default BOOST OFF FOR SANCTIONED EVENTS

Quote:
Originally Posted by AGNO View Post
Yes! Is the 508 NO TIMING.
But does that give a flashing light or what indication that the boost mode ahs been dissabled????
__________________
MINDS ARE LIKE PARACHUTES... THEY WORK BEST WHEN OPEN
http://www.chargersrc.com/
Losi XXXT-CR, Losi XXX-CR, LOSIXXX4G+,Losi Desert Truck,Tamiya F103, VENOMGPV-1 1/8 bike. Spektrum DX3R/DX6, Planes out the wazzoo, Big Choppers, FPV Quads, lots of guns & not enough weekends!!
desert truck 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 02:27 AM   #1600
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desert truck 1 View Post
But does that give a flashing light or what indication that the boost mode ahs been dissabled????
Yes, with 508NO TIMING the red light flashing in the neutral.
The 508 NO TIMING is already approved ROAR because used in Speedpassion ESC, I hope that soon also approve the Hobbywing ESC.
__________________
Team GMV / RC electric AS Laurenziana
Hot Bodies TCXX - HW Xerun - IP - Spec-R
AGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 02:31 AM   #1601
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,005
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamWTF View Post

Also, there is no advantage in using the 120a in stock racing over the 60a, otherwise there would be no Xtreme stock esc....
what about a lower internal resistance (120A's 0.003ohm vs. 60A"s 0.006ohm)?
cheapskate.brok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 06:02 AM   #1602
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaz955i View Post
Much appreciated
Checked once more, Setting 12 is not 9 but 8.... (not a huge difference)
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 06:42 AM   #1603
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wrexham, North Wales
Posts: 37
Default

Anyone advise me on how to set up the xtreme stock ?

I'm going to do it tonight, i have also bought the pro programme box.

I'm running 10.5 stock do i need to download software from somewhere ?

could someone give me a brief guide on what i need to do etc ?

thanks
finch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 07:06 AM   #1604
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

In the manual for the Xerun 120a 1s, on page 2, the settings table.

http://www.hobbywing.com/upload/manual/HW-09-1s.pdf

Can anyone tell me if the values mentioned there are based on the 528MOD or 518STOCK software?
If they are based on the MOD software, what are the values for the STOCK software then?
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 01:34 PM   #1605
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheapskate.brok View Post
what about a lower internal resistance (120A's 0.003ohm vs. 60A"s 0.006ohm)?
Its 0.0006 - The same as the Xtreme stock - and again if it was an issue there would be no xtreme stock speed control. I ran my 120a and Xtreme stock back to back and the only thing i noticed was the 120a seemed to have a little less brake.

If the 60a is all you can budget for then get it. It is a great speed control. Obviously if you can afford it go the 120a for no reason other then lower turn limit....

Either way you will be competitive
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:04 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0