R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-05-2010, 08:11 AM   #136
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Posts: 45
Send a message via MSN to hobbywing Send a message via Skype™ to hobbywing
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel Lagace View Post
...

HOBBYWING: one thing that needs correction is the PDF file. The terminology used does not match the last 5 settings on the ESC LCD read out... You have to remember what setting your own because the names of the settings are not identical on the PDF as they are on the software and LCD
Thanks very much, Joel

The information will be sent to R&D department and our engineers will check this.
hobbywing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 08:18 AM   #137
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel Lagace View Post
IF while your ESC is connected to the PC you label 1,2,3 to what ever name you want and then load to ESC... Anytime after that that you connect your LCD to just the ESC you will see those 3 custom names you chose.

for instance my:
Buggy ESC has 1-Buggy 2-Buggy slick track 3 F'ing crazy
SC10 ESC has 1-SC10 2-SC10 slick track 3-F'ing crazy
Understood. Thanks.

Just use the LCD card to change the setting as per profile 1/2/3, But the firmware in ESC is still not changed at V1.6 beta.
e.g. the ESC firmware is mod (without supercharged), all your setting in profile1/2/3 are corresponded to this firmware (no turbo setting).

What i need is to change the firmware too, via LCD card only condition.
IE: profile 1 - with turbo firmware & turbo setting for stock race (13.5T)
profile 2 - mod firmware (no turbo) & setting for modify race (4.5T...)
mos-leung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 08:37 AM   #138
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

ya you can only run one firmware at at time. maybe in the future they can have a firmware where you can shut off the un needed supercharged turbo functions for modified motor use. like the last 5 settings should be able to choose N/A to turn them off...
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 09:06 AM   #139
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mos-leung View Post
Understood. Thanks.

Just use the LCD card to change the setting as per profile 1/2/3, But the firmware in ESC is still not changed at V1.6 beta.
e.g. the ESC firmware is mod (without supercharged), all your setting in profile1/2/3 are corresponded to this firmware (no turbo setting).

What i need is to change the firmware too, via LCD card only condition.
IE: profile 1 - with turbo firmware & turbo setting for stock race (13.5T)
profile 2 - mod firmware (no turbo) & setting for modify race (4.5T...)
Dont think the program card has the capability and storage for keeping and installing different firmwares.
Best is to change to firmware 205 for mod or the alternative 323.
323 does work fairly well on smaller tracks with stock motors.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 11:34 AM   #140
Tech Adept
 
steliosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Penteli, Athens, Greece
Posts: 161
Default

Last time I reported I had some problems with my 3-minute runs which turned to sensorless...

OK, as many suggested, it was the sensor cable's fault, somehow. I installed a new one and the bike rocks again (and rolls, as well, but we will come to that in a minute!).

So, I started once again with the suggested settings of HW for the 13.5T motor, from their PDF:
9=8
12=7
13=3
14=5
15=2

I didn't even have a thermal issue, even though I ran the bike at 16.00 in the afternoon with ambient temp of 28*C. However, the top speed was not there, or it would appear at the very end of the longest straight... and the acceleration out of slower corners was quite mild, not that this is a bad thing on a leaned over motorcycle!

So, I went to Cobraracing's settings:
9=8
12=8
13=4
14=5
15=4

Almost the same things, and the motor is still very hot but not thermalling after 7 minutes continuous running, a bit better acceleration out of slower corners. All observations by eye, really, since I do not have lap counting systems, or radar gun to check speeds... It's how the bike feels...

So, I took HW's advice and went for settings to cool down the motor a bit. Incidentally I happened on a good setting:

9=5
12=8
13=7
14=5
15=6

Now, I have wheelies on demand, which spectacular may be, but they hurt lap times (!!), decent top speed attained at around the 2/3's of the main straight and very good acceleration out of corners, without unwanted wheelies or bad headshakes or running sideways, all of which usually end up in a tumble!!!!!! (the rolling I was talking about earlier!)

So far so good, then, and I will continue my testing in the next few days!

Remember, I'm talking about a 1/5 motorcycle, Xerun 60A (on 422 SW) and Nosram 13.5T.
My gearing for the moment is longish at 56/22 spur pinion and 30/11 chain sprockets, which nets an overall 6.94 FDR. I will have to consult the British guys who are a lot more experienced on gearing for the bikes, even though I feel that a bit of shortening the FDR would do me good!!!

Can someone produce a new setup sheet for the new settings and as someone else suggested earlier, it'd be very helpful to re-organize the words in the pdf and LCD to be the same, so they are not confusing...
__________________
www.steliosh.net/rcmoto/
www.steliosh.net/rc/

KP-Designs KP10e 1/5 rc bike, Kyosho Lazer ZX-5, HPI Baja SS, Xray T1 FK05, Venom GPV1 1/8 rc bike, Anderson M5 Cross 1/5 rc bike, TT SB-5 1/5 rc bike
steliosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 01:13 PM   #141
Tech Adept
 
gixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 194
Default

Stelios where do you practice mate?

You attending the Yokomo drift championship on Sunday at Aspropyrgos?





Cheers
Mark
__________________
HB Cyclone (WCE Exotek) x 2, Pro3 (Penguin chassis), Pro4, M-04M (Eunos Roadster)
Losi MRC, Axial XR-10
ERevo Erbe, HPI Firestorm (Nitro), Blitz,
gixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 03:14 PM   #142
Tech Master
 
megasaxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lake City, PA
Posts: 1,686
Trader Rating: 24 (88%+)
Send a message via AIM to megasaxon Send a message via Yahoo to megasaxon
Default

so this new software will work with all of these speed controls?

http://cgi.ebay.com/XERUN-60A-SD-V2-...item58877691ad

http://cgi.ebay.com/Hobbywing-XERUN-...item1e5bbe0334

http://cgi.ebay.com/XERUN-120A-SD-V2...item5887247fbc

and

http://cgi.ebay.com/Hobbywing-XERUN-...item4a9fb4efa7

is that correct?
__________________
Team Associated RC8.2e - Savox Servos - SMC Batteries - Jconcepts Tires
megasaxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 04:49 PM   #143
Tech Adept
 
steliosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Penteli, Athens, Greece
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gixer View Post
Stelios where do you practice mate?

You attending the Yokomo drift championship on Sunday at Aspropyrgos?





Cheers
Mark
I'm at the north, so I usually go to a huge parking lot near Makro, at Anthoussa... And whenever I can, to FRT track. I don't race Yokomo Drift, though... Say hello to Renos, then!
(from Frenos! he will understand!)
I race RCGT, MMC and ELME, electric touring and buggy.
Preparing for the rc bike world champs, with the bike too!!!
Call me nuts, I AM!
__________________
www.steliosh.net/rcmoto/
www.steliosh.net/rc/

KP-Designs KP10e 1/5 rc bike, Kyosho Lazer ZX-5, HPI Baja SS, Xray T1 FK05, Venom GPV1 1/8 rc bike, Anderson M5 Cross 1/5 rc bike, TT SB-5 1/5 rc bike
steliosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 04:55 PM   #144
Tech Initiate
 
hectickurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lewes UK
Posts: 30
Default

Has anyone run this software in a Wgt car 1s lipo 10.5 brushless? If so how did you find it. Im looking for a new speedo for my WGT and this sounds promising
__________________
non illegitimatis carborundum!

Xray T3R, Hobbywing electronics. Yeah baby!

Rob(not Lee) Streeter
hectickurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 05:30 PM   #145
Tech Adept
 
gixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steliosh View Post
I'm at the north, so I usually go to a huge parking lot near Makro, at Anthoussa... And whenever I can, to FRT track. I don't race Yokomo Drift, though... Say hello to Renos, then!
(from Frenos! he will understand!)
I race RCGT, MMC and ELME, electric touring and buggy.
Preparing for the rc bike world champs, with the bike too!!!
Call me nuts, I AM!
Nice one.

We'll have to meet up for a drifting session one time, wouldn't mind a good look at KP bike.
__________________
HB Cyclone (WCE Exotek) x 2, Pro3 (Penguin chassis), Pro4, M-04M (Eunos Roadster)
Losi MRC, Axial XR-10
ERevo Erbe, HPI Firestorm (Nitro), Blitz,
gixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 11:59 PM   #146
Tech Fanatic
 
snowman_evil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Gold Coast, Queenland
Posts: 919
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to snowman_evil
Default

Hey guys is SC RPM the same as start or end RPM??? For SC RPM Delay, SC Full throttle delay etc...

Thanks
__________________
DEX410V3 - Tekin - Spektrum - Panther
GCRC Raceway - "Lightning"
snowman_evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 12:05 AM   #147
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowman_evil View Post
Hey guys is SC RPM the same as start or end RPM??? For SC RPM Delay, SC Full throttle delay etc...

Thanks
Read through this document to understand how the Supercharge works.
http://www.hobbywing.com/upload/manu...-Hobbywing.pdf
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 12:06 AM   #148
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel Lagace View Post
ya you can only run one firmware at at time. maybe in the future they can have a firmware where you can shut off the un needed supercharged turbo functions for modified motor use. like the last 5 settings should be able to choose N/A to turn them off...
actually you can turn off the super charge, and run like stock software
and also like a software Mod,
basically Super charge Software is the base of all previous software firmware,
that is now served freely to configure. Because as previous improvement was
designed per step :
1. Mod Firmware - Safeties
2. Stock Firmware - Tricky
3. Supercharge Stock Firmware - Highly dangerous.

as Supercharge firmware was the last Improvement you will see it can be turned off :

select :
Item 12 - Value 1 - to turned off
Item 13 - Value 9
Item 14 - Value 9
Item 15 - Value 9

with above settings it will act as Stock Firmware or Mod Firmware.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 12:15 AM   #149
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

What software is on this speedo when bought new?
__________________
Houston,Texas
Serpent 733 EVO
Mikes Hobby shop-Porter Texas/ Gulf coast Raceway"Electric Is For Hairdryers"..Eric Koger
Chris Totcky@facebook.com
Tha Skinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 01:14 AM   #150
Tech Fanatic
 
snowman_evil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Gold Coast, Queenland
Posts: 919
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to snowman_evil
Default

Are the software feature meant to be on the Advanced menu of the ESC settings on a PC? On the 1.61 PC software I hook up the ESC and go into advanced settings and it only has Initial Brake force, Neutral Range, Boost timing, Over heat protection, Turbo Level, Boost Start RPM, Turbo Open Delay and timing Punch. How do I get the Supercharged Features???

Is the supercharged software even good? From what Ive heard its very risky with motor temps etc....
__________________
DEX410V3 - Tekin - Spektrum - Panther
GCRC Raceway - "Lightning"
snowman_evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:16 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0