Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Just went LiPo.. now im shitting myself! >

Just went LiPo.. now im shitting myself!

Just went LiPo.. now im shitting myself!

Old 08-25-2008, 08:19 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Just went LiPo.. now im shitting myself!

I just bought a LiPo pack for my Futaba 3PM and have been doing some reading on LiPo's exploding etc. Its got me a little bit worried as im new to LiPo's. The battery i purchased is a 11.1 V 2200mAh 3Cells Li-Po Battery and have the following charger

Swallow 2 AC/DC

Input Voltage 11-15V DC or 100-240VAC
Battery Type NiMH / NiCad / SLA / Li-Ion
Charge Mode NiMH/NiCad Charge/Discharge/Cycle
Charge Mode SLA/Li-Ion Charge/Discharge
Battery Cells NiMH/NiCad 1-14 Cells
Battery Cells Li-Ion 1-5 Cells
SLA 2/4/6/8/10/12 V Packs
Charge Current (ALL) 0.1-5.0A (100mA Steps)
Discharge Current (ALL) 10-1.0mA (10mA Steps)
Trickle Charge (ALL) 0-200mA

Is this an ok charger. it doesnt have a balancer and was wondering how far i can discharge and charge the LiPo safely and what i need to watch out for.

Thanks in advance
Matt
Old 08-25-2008, 08:40 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 3 (80%+)

Their is alot of info on the web. Try max amps for starters, but I think you not able to go bellow 3v. Anything after that I think the cells go bad.
Old 08-25-2008, 08:50 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

does it even do lipo?? what is sla?? as long as u dont let it go below 3v per cell ur good since its 3 cell i would say not below 9v but with my 2 cell i dont let it go below 6.2v or 6.3 just to be safe. as far as exploding just dont overcharge it and make sure u dont charge it more then 1c.
Old 08-25-2008, 09:35 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

SLA = Sealed Lead Acid ??