R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-18-2007, 02:00 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
MadRacer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,813
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default Spektrum DX3R Discussion Thread

Has anyone got one and is it good???
Is it better than the DX2 or 3????
MadRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 10:33 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 179
Default

Are you talking about the DX3R? if so, there is thread further down where it was discussed.

By the way it is not available until Jan 15
cota348 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 01:25 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Lars Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 486
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Lars Johnson
Default

Very light (runs on 4-AA's), and the combination scroll/push button make it extremely easy to use. 30 model memory, and it does everything that the Helios/Z-1/M11 will do, and weighs about 1/44th the weight of a stock M11 w/AA's. yes, that is an exaggeration, but this thing is crazy light. Switching from left to right handed is super easy as well.
__________________
Team Associated / Reedy / AKA / Futaba / OS Engines / Byrons Fuel / www.steelescycle.com
Lars Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 01:32 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
tcian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Strongsville,OH
Posts: 451
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tcian
Default

i saw elis last weekend its super light but he went back to his z1 about half way through the weekend i dont know why but its a cool radio
tcian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 07:11 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

More DX3R info for you:

Video interview from iHobby 2007:
http://www.horizonhobby.com/Articles...ID=1729&Page=3

More info
http://www.horizonhobby.com/Articles...ArticleID=1712

And the final piece:
http://www.horizonhobby.com/Articles...ArticleID=1673

There will also be a video review coming in the near future (Just after the 1st of the year or so), so be sure to keep an eye out. I've been using one since about June and really like it. When I went from the original series modules to the Pro Series I thought I could feel a difference most of the time... With the DX3R I know I feel a difference. It's super light like Lars said (Lars, yer the man lol ), it's really efficient, the roller dial makes programming a snap...just all in all a good radio. And not saying that the DX2 or DX3 are bad radios, but the DX3R is a better radio... because its designed to be. The DX2 and DX3 are both geared towards a sport-level driver, where the DX3R is designed for more advanced drivers. If you're looking for something to bash with, the DX2.0 and DX3.0 may actually be a better value for you. But if you're considering a Pro-Level radio then the DX3R should be on the top of your list.
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 08:52 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

RCGaryK This runs 4 AA right? Figures I just switched 3 DX3s and an M8 w/Spektrum to lipo and I'm loving my life now. Any ideas on how to get this converted to lipo at that voltage? I run the M8 now cuz I'm a circus freak lefty and I'd rather try this.
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 09:58 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,146
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuzo View Post
RCGaryK This runs 4 AA right? Figures I just switched 3 DX3s and an M8 w/Spektrum to lipo and I'm loving my life now. Any ideas on how to get this converted to lipo at that voltage? I run the M8 now cuz I'm a circus freak lefty and I'd rather try this.
Find a lipo gas receiver pack that fits into the radio if possible, then use a voltage regulator like you would on a receiver pack. Space is going to be the problem to overcome.
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 12:13 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
MadRacer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,813
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

So what is the the estimated price for new DX3 radio??
Sound like it would be a nice radio with high end features...
MadRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 07:48 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Fisher View Post
Find a lipo gas receiver pack that fits into the radio if possible, then use a voltage regulator like you would on a receiver pack. Space is going to be the problem to overcome.
No can do. The DX3R only accepts AA's and there's nothing to plug an external pack into in the battery compartment.
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 07:53 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
UK.hardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgium.
Posts: 2,135
Default

so it's battery compartment is like a Mini-Z chassis?

With those springs and lips that connect to the cells?

are digital servo's required to operate?
__________________
A racecar is only as good as the mechanic who build it.
UK.hardcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 08:08 AM   #11
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK.hardcore View Post
so it's battery compartment is like a Mini-Z chassis?

With those springs and lips that connect to the cells?

are digital servo's required to operate?
I think the battery tray is hard-wired into the board. I haven't looked inside the case in a few months so I don't recall.

You can use any servo with the DX3R. The only difference is the usable frame-rates. Analog servos cannot use the 5.5ms setting, that is for digitals only.
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 09:12 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
MadRacer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,813
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

It looks like the radio of choice when it gets into production....
MadRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 06:31 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
mac853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dirty place
Posts: 1,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadRacer View Post
It looks like the radio of choice when it gets into production....
Right, but as everyone want to know how about the production line, or else it will delay little further again. In the case will be almost a year from announce day, then i have preorder it long time ago.
Could anyone from Horizon/Spektrum tell us what are really happening?
mac853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 07:46 AM   #14
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mac853 View Post
Right, but as everyone want to know how about the production line, or else it will delay little further again. In the case will be almost a year from announce day, then i have preorder it long time ago.
Could anyone from Horizon/Spektrum tell us what are really happening?
The DX3R is/was a big undertaking and it's crucial to get it right before shipping. To the best of my knowledge everything is on track.
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 11:15 AM   #15
Tech Master
 
mac853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dirty place
Posts: 1,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCGaryK View Post
The DX3R is/was a big undertaking and it's crucial to get it right before shipping. To the best of my knowledge everything is on track.
I hope there's more developed information in further moments, thanks.
mac853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EAMotorsports discussion thread BigDogRacing Team and Company Discussions 7672 10-11-2017 11:51 PM
2005 RCX Discussion Thread wizard9x Electric On-Road 2 11-11-2009 06:49 AM
GSRacing discussion thread Panic Singapore R/C Racers 118 12-31-2007 10:34 AM
RRR Discussion Thread tornado Malaysian R/C Racers 84 09-06-2005 08:05 AM
Come Join the IRT + Discussion Thread Cmotif International Racing Team 20 05-01-2004 11:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:40 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net