R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > R/C Tech Site Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-16-2014, 07:13 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
erchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default IOS and being sent to App Store

I'm sure this has been posted but I might have missed it. Every couple days when viewing a post I get a redirect to the apple App Store. Usually some sort of game app. The latest was "Cookie Jam SGN>". I believe this happens due to an external ad, but it's ultimately really annoying.

I'm definitely willing to pay a fee to use the site ad free, if possible. Please help.

Thanks, Ethan
erchn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:33 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 111 (100%+)
Default

I get that quite a bit also. It is annoying but I just deal with it
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 10:19 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
erchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

The problem is the ad network being used on rctech, one of their customers is putting up shady auto-redirecting links.

I'd prefer rctech to send a message by moving to a new ad network. But, like I said, if elite membership included a no ads feature, I'd buy.
__________________
Serpent ; Desoto Racing ; Team Powers USA ; Reflex Racing ; Bezerk RC
erchn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 02:51 PM   #4
Administrator
 
IBobi's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 692
Default

It's an iOS issue, not an RCT issue unfortunately. No way around it. It will happen sometimes, even to me.
IBobi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 02:53 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
erchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I don't believe that's true. The new safari in iOS 8 actually lists a feature of blocking sites (ads) from doing that.
__________________
Serpent ; Desoto Racing ; Team Powers USA ; Reflex Racing ; Bezerk RC
erchn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 02:10 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IBobi View Post
It's an iOS issue, not an RCT issue unfortunately. No way around it. It will happen sometimes, even to me.
That's a load. I get it on my pc. Redirects to Adobe and other sites as well. And that ONLY happens on RCtech.
__________________
Xray - ORCA - Avid RC - MaxFX Paint
TriCitiesRC.com
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 10:01 AM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 9
Default

Is anyone here using ********* programs? Im not sure what IOS entails but on both of my PC's I use an alternate browser (usually Firefox or Chrome) and install their respective Ad block. No problems here.
OverclockedLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 10:09 AM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
erchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverclockedLST View Post
Is anyone here using ********* programs? Im not sure what IOS entails but on both of my PC's I use an alternate browser (usually Firefox or Chrome) and install their respective Ad block. No problems here.
There is no ******* on an unhacked iOS device.
__________________
Serpent ; Desoto Racing ; Team Powers USA ; Reflex Racing ; Bezerk RC
erchn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 10:30 AM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 9
Default

Yeah I didn't figure as much. :/ I'm surprised that's not more of a standard thing by now
OverclockedLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 10:43 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
erchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverclockedLST View Post
Yeah I didn't figure as much. :/ I'm surprised that's not more of a standard thing by now
Well when the makers of the OS, websites and the browsers depend on ads for revenue it's not real surprising. ;-)
__________________
Serpent ; Desoto Racing ; Team Powers USA ; Reflex Racing ; Bezerk RC
erchn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 11:54 AM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 9
Default

Meh... Apple has enough money. I figured they could at least give their loyal customers a decent user experience for the price premiums.
OverclockedLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 12:09 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
erchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Well, we are off topic at this point. The reality is RC tech needs to change to a different ad provider or we will continue to be plagued with these pop-ups to the app store and such. Either that, or at least talk to their current ad provider to find the offending ad or customer of the provider causing these issues.
__________________
Serpent ; Desoto Racing ; Team Powers USA ; Reflex Racing ; Bezerk RC
erchn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 07:10 PM   #13
Tech Initiate
 
Shadows_Cord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Forest Grove, OR
Posts: 43
Default

I can't even load the main page without getting redirected to download an app, Lyft, some game, and another app I don't want. I can't even PM a mod. Had to stop this page from loading just to type this out.
__________________
Hyper SSTe with some Mugen, Serpent, Arrma upgrades.
Family rigs: Rustler, BL Ruckus, Granite, Ultra LX2e
Shadows_Cord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 12:53 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
b20btec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 1,079
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

It's totally a pain to get on Rctech now, loads directly into the App Store. In order for it to stop on my iPhone i have to stop the page from loading immediately.
__________________
Soap



REFLEXRACING.NET * TEXASEOS.NET * YOKOMO
b20btec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 01:39 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
R1Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,184
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

This is happening to me on Android aswell.
R1Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:42 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net