Wiki Posts
Search

masking tape or liquid mask?

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2014, 08:24 PM
Tech Rookie

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default masking tape or liquid mask?

What tape would you guys use or liquid mask, Im not very good with my airbrush but im gonna go for it on this body
Old 04-25-2014, 03:49 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)

Originally Posted by subiesnacks
What tape would you guys use or liquid mask, Im not very good with my airbrush but im gonna go for it on this body
Just remember that we all started somewhere when we got the urge to paint up our first bodies. Whatever you do, try to enjoy the learning experience.

I use both the blue painter's tape found at home depot, and liquid mask if I'm doing more intricate work in hard to mask areas. Liquid mask gives cleaner lines, but I find the overall time investment cut in half if you use masking tape. Regardless of the method you choose, make sure that you have sharp x-acto or razor blades handy - you'll need them for cutting out your designs.
Old 04-27-2014, 04:19 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Liquid masking, no question.
Old 04-27-2014, 04:28 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)

Depends on how detailed you want your paint job. Tape is great to cover big areas quickly and way cheaper than mask but you can't cut in the same level of detail that you can with mask. Tape can easily yield clean crisp lines. This is actually a can paint job masked with 30 cents worth of tape rather than $5 worth of mask.
[IMG][/IMG]
Old 04-27-2014, 05:12 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)

Personal preference imo. I don't care for liquid mask. But I don't do crazy custom stuff like some people. But I can get nice clean lines from masking tape. And I find it easier to use.
Old 06-29-2014, 03:51 AM
Tech Rookie

Guys

Watched a lot of videos about applying liquid mask. However, they never say what pressure to apply to the hobby knife to make a suitable cut. What's the suggestion.