Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Stencils, Effects, Trade Secrets

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2011, 03:17 PM
Tech Apprentice

Default Stencils, Effects, Trade Secrets

Hi Everyone. I am fairly new to this painting thing!
I have done a few projects, and starting to master some of the fundamentals.

I am curious to know some of your trade secrets.

ie: How to do a repetitive design?

Making your design even on both sides?

What do you use for effects? ie: Lights, Grills, Lines etc.
Personally I have been using the standard drawer liner, Drywall Tape, Plastic squares from needle point.

I figured if everyone could post a tip, it would be helpful for everyone.

I am learning you can't be good overnight, but it takes time........

Thanks in advance
Grant
Old 01-27-2011, 05:26 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)

I put one up:

Making the design the same on both sides.

I use clear transfer tape on the outside to trace side#1 and then use it on the inside of side #2 to trace the design.
Old 01-27-2011, 05:54 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Colors_By_Dave
I put one up:

Making the design the same on both sides.

I use clear transfer tape on the outside to trace side#1 and then use it on the inside of side #2 to trace the design.
I usually draw better on paper than on a body...So I Draw it, scan it, and print the drawing once regular and the other flipped horizontal. From there I draw it on the body with the paper underneath the shell.

Tip: When using mirror chrome like Spaz Stix or AlcladII...Use thin layers of paint from there on out for the rest of the colors. That stuff LOVES to chip and peel when you pull masking off. In other words: Don't let the layers of paint after painting chrome build up higher than the actual masking for the chrome.
Old 01-28-2011, 01:56 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)

go to www.cfxpaintworks.com Everything you ever want to know about painting. If you don't like to read... youtube