Wiki Posts
Search

For Those with Websites

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2010, 07:31 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default For Those with Websites

Who do you use and how do you like the? I am in the market to set up an actual website. Not a free one, the real deal. I am new to this and am looking for your opinions on how you like the host you use. Any tips or pointer would be appreciated. One thing I would like to have if possible is in the gallery. I would like to have a photo of something, and when you click into it, it opens up a folder of more photos of that item.

Thanks for any info provided.
Old 08-11-2010, 08:42 AM
Tech Elite

I'm a big fan of Hostmonster.com They have a really nice cpanel that is pretty easy to learn. There is also a feature called "simple scripts" that allows you to install add ons like Wordpress, OSCommerce, Coppermine Gallery, Joomla, etc... Granted, most hosts these days will have similar functions, but I have only seen a few that worked as well as hostmonster. Also, in two years of hosting, we have only had down time once and that was due to a power outage in the city where the servers are stored.
Old 08-13-2010, 10:36 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)

Originally Posted by K_Spec_RC
I'm a big fan of Hostmonster.com They have a really nice cpanel that is pretty easy to learn. There is also a feature called "simple scripts" that allows you to install add ons like Wordpress, OSCommerce, Coppermine Gallery, Joomla, etc... Granted, most hosts these days will have similar functions, but I have only seen a few that worked as well as hostmonster. Also, in two years of hosting, we have only had down time once and that was due to a power outage in the city where the servers are stored.
cpanel is commonly used with linux based hosting to provide easy installation of different apps. hostmonster is good. godaddy has a cpanel-esque feature that lets u install LAMP applications with very minimal back end coding.